We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Murray Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Murray Hotel
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

233 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Murray Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 233: English reviews
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewed 29 August 2016

This is a nice hotel. Great location. Right in the center of everything. Their fudge is delicious. Staff if friendly. Breakfast is okay. Not too many options, but you can have as much as you need. Has a tub in the middle, which I thought it was pretty cool.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KeniaT
MurrayHotelMI, Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings, Thank you so much for mentioning our great location and friendly staff! We are glad you enjoyed our fudge and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you're on the Island. Thanks!

HUDSONVILLE
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Our go to hotel on Mackinac Island, conveniently located opposite the Arnold Line dock. Historic hotel, so don't expect spacious or luxurious, but it is clean, quiet and comfortable. The completely private pool spa in the center is a wonderful place to kick back and relax. Best fudge on the island in the lobby, and reasonably priced breakfast and pizza...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deborah C
MurrayHotelMI, Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings, Thank you so much for mentioning our great location and friendly staff! We appreciate your feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back! Thanks!

Wichita, Kansas
Reviewed 21 August 2016

We recently stayed at The Murray. It is not our first choice for lodging on Mackinac Island. The staff has done a great job with regards to maintaining an older hotel, cleanliness and attention to customer service. The rooms are very small. The location is right across from the docks and next to a couple of bars. It was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janalynn0408
MurrayHotelMI, Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings, Thank you so much for choosing the Murray Hotel for your travels to the area and taking the time to share your feedback! We appreciate the kind words about our staff and we hope to have the opportunity​ to welcome you back! Thanks!

Kenmore, Washington
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at the Murray in mid-August and had an ok stay overall. We got off to kind of a rough start on our stay, the 2 men manning the front desk were both pretty indifferent in terms of customer service. We checked in around 2:15pm with one guy whose service was pretty lackluster and were told our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole W
MurrayHotelMI, Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings, Thank you for choosing the Murray Hotel for your travels to the Island and taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, but disappointed to learn that your check-in experience was not what you expected and deserved. We will share your comments with our front desk staff so we can address these...

Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

Was in Mackinac Island for 4 days and stayed at the Murray Hotel. Staff was excellent and room clean but TINY. Still it was the only room I could find on Main st. for under $200 a night at peak season, so the value is definitely there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pamelamk1979
MurrayHotelMI, Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings, We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while on Mackinac Island. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to the Island. Thanks!

Peoria, Illinois
Reviewed 17 August 2016

We booked a room for 3 nights at the Murray Hotel with two queen sized beds. This hotel is conveniently located in downtown Mackinac Island, close to Arnold's dock and many nice restaurants and shops. The room was pretty crowded, but clean and quiet. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom area was quite spacious. We had a lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pollyanna123
MurrayHotelMI, Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for mentioning our great location and friendly staff! We appreciate your feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next trip to the Island! Thanks!

Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

I hadn't ever liked at the Murray before - not sure why - but we stayed 3 nights with our kids age 3 and 6. We thought it was quaint and overall very new. Friendly and helpful staff for luggage and front desk services. Fudge shop right in the lobby. Cookies at turn down. Room was very spacious, nicely decorated,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GoGreenGoWhite1
MurrayHotelMI, Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings, Thank you for choosing the Murray Hotel for your travels to Mackinac Island and taking the time to provide your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the kind words about our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the Island. Thanks!

Detroit
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Currently staying at the Murray. Very disappointing stay began with luggage porter forgetting our room number delaying delivery of our belongings. Variety of food at breakfast buffet was plentiful, however hot items were cold. Upon returning from sightseeing after 6 hours the room was not made-up for the day. This was after 3:00 PM. When we maid service did arrive,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank curtismk
MurrayHotelMI, Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings, We couldn't be more disappointed to learn that your stay with us was not as you had anticipated. We will certainly look into the areas that you mentioned and share all of your feedback with our staff. We offer our apologies for any inconvenience these issues created. Thank you for letting us know about your experience and we would...

Wake Forest, North Carolina
Reviewed 8 August 2016

We spent one night here. They have a very good Pizza Buffet/Salad Bar at lunch and dinner, and an excellent breakfast buffet reasonably priced. Rooms are very small like those you see in many European hotels. No tub, but a nice updated shower. Hallways are narrow...older property. Wi if was free, but very slow and sporadic.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
MurrayHotelMI, Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and also the Pizza Buffet and 35 item salad bar. We thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back! Thanks!

Fort Wayne
Reviewed 5 August 2016

We stayed 3 nights in one of the small rooms. Room was clean. Bathroom was updated and clean. Shower was small and sink was in the main room but that was fine. Did I mention the room was small? No deception, Hotel website explains what you will get and they were spot on. One chair, bed, nightstand, luggage rack and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sbushzone
MurrayHotelMI, Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings, We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff and mentioning our great location. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet. Thank you for letting us know about your experience with staying with us we hope to have have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next trip...

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinac Island
0.3 km away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
817 reviews
0.3 km away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
679 reviews
8.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
666 reviews
0.1 km away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
907 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Murray Hotel

Address: 7260 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Price Range: ₹ 11,054 - ₹ 20,103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Murray Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Murray Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murray Hotel Mackinac Island
Murray Mackinac Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Murray Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Purcellville, Virginia
Wixom, Michigan
8 months ago
over a year ago
marion, iowa

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Murray Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you like having open windows, 2nd level inside room bit noisy as it stays open until 11pm.”
  • A view of the long hall lobby, beautifully appointed with old world charm.
  • Another view of the lobby and side-line cafe pub.
Bette-WI, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Want quiet, stay off street. Clip clop of horses, they wash down the streets early morn. at closing time out of the Pink Pony Tavern.”
K7631QOgarym, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose a suite if you can. We had a whirlpool tub!”
susieN7518FA, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Wonderful in every way”
101rachelk, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Book early for more room choices.”
sbushzone, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5