We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

351 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U
See the most recent reviews
Showing 351: English reviews
Battle Creek, Michigan
Reviewed 17 November 2015 via mobile

I checked in to my room at approximately 8:30 am on Monday 11/16/2015. I was staying there on a business trip with my job. I had went to the gas station prior to my check in got $20 in gas and bought me a toothbrush comb pack which came up to $2.89 the cashier had gave me $77 back in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chontay H
AKuhens12, Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Dear Chontay H, I am so sorry to hear about the troubles you encountered during your stay here at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West. None of our guest should ever have to disrespected by an employee of the hotel. I am deeply sorry for the issues you had with this employee. We are taking the next steps to improve the...

Telluride, Colorado
Reviewed 17 November 2015

I came to visit family in Kalamazoo, i was going to stay with a family member and it fell through. i was unsure where to stay. A local told me to try out the red roof inn so i did. My stay was great. Housekeeping did an amazing job the room was clean they also kept up with my room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BRAD D
AKuhens12, Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Dear Brad D, Thank you for taking the time to wright us such a great review. I am so glad to hear that my staff and myself were able to please you, I will be sure to let my staff know how well you say they are doing. I am also glad to hear you call us your "go to...

Kalamazoo, Michigan
Reviewed 16 November 2015 via mobile

Thank you Miss Leah for your amazing customer service last night! I had booked through hotels.com and it turned into a nightmare. She contacted them remained professional and courteous, advocating for me and resolved the problem. You are appreciated!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tone32
AKuhens12, Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Dear Tone32, Thank you for taking the time to wright us such a great review. I am so happy to hear that Leah was able to make your stay more enjoyable. I will be sure to let her know how appreciative you are of her. Once again thank for taking the time to wright us a review. We will be...

Traverse City, Michigan
Reviewed 12 November 2015 via mobile

Stayed here overnight on a business trip. The first room they gave me smelled so bad, I had to switch rooms. It seems there was a dog show the week before an 'maybe my room had not aired out enough yet, despite being cleaned.' I was moved to a non-smelly room but the comforter was stained as was the side...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Timothy B
AKuhens12, Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Dear Timothy, I am sorry to hear that your stay with us did not go as well as you planned. We are very sorry about the smell in the room you were first assigned too, as we did have a dog show the week before but that is no excuse for our rooms smelling bad. It is our duty as...

Midland, Michigan, United States
Reviewed 2 November 2015

This was my "go-to" hotel when visiting my college student in Kalamazoo; not after this last visit! Ownership or management must have changed again? I checked in around 9pm and brought my things in from the car...........to a room that was only partially cleaned. So, I had to repack my car, return to the lobby and get a different room....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kay R
AKuhens12, Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Dear, Kay R, I would like to take the time to say thank you for the honest review on our hotel. I would also like to deeply apologize from both myself and my entire staff as we are a team. we regret that we presented our hotel to you in this way. I would also like to inform you that...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 27 October 2015

This is a newly renovated budget motel. Do not expect luxuries or a continental breakfast, but the room was very clean, the king bed was comfortable, the flat screen cable TV worked fine, and soap, shampoo, and fluffy towels were provided. Check-in and check-out were friendly and efficient. A great value at $53. If you are just staying a couple...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelin-Light-PA
Brennen C, Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Thank you for the awesome review Travelin-Light-PA. We have been working very diligently to go above and beyond our customers needs by providing a nice clean room and excellent customer service. We hope to see you at our location again in the future! Best regards, Brennen Clarke

Midland, Michigan
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Looking for the best price but want fresh and clean too? We found it here. Room size is adequate but they have carefully sifted out non essentials to keep the price down. Bath towels are the plushest you will find. Nice reading lamps too!1

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine W
Brennen C, Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Dear Elaine, Thank you for the terrific review! I am glad to hear that our effort to provide a quality, clean hotel room and a low price is exceeding customers expectations. I am also glad that you liked our new plush bath towels, as well as, our new reading lamps! I hope to see you again at our location in...

Flint, Michigan
Reviewed 17 October 2015

I've stayed here multiple times over the past year for my job and I have never seen such a quality looking room. Floors were spotless, bathroom was terrific and the room smelled great! Their new manager seems to be doing an excellent job at turning that hotel around. I will be staying at this location more often when traveling for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
AKuhens12, Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Dear Paul s, Thank you for taking your time to wright a review for our hotel, Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West. We love to hear a response from all of our guest, as it gives us the opportunity to improve. I am so glad to hear that we were able to accommodate your every need. We hope that if you...

Indiana
Reviewed 12 October 2015

Clean, well priced and nice location. Chose this based on trip adviser ratings on cheaper hotel/motels. No complaints for an inexpensive place to sleep. Comfortable bed, plenty of parking. Was only here for about 8 hours but happy

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BuenosNachos2
Brennen C, Owner at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review BuenosNachos2! I'm glad we were able to provide you with an inexpensive, quality place to sleep. We hope to see you again at our location in the future!

Mount Pleasant
Reviewed 16 September 2015

We were there 4 nights. The new manager Heather was really great and always trying to please everyone. Angelina was also great. Anything you needed she would get you. They were both always so upbeat. It was a pleasure to be around them

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David L
Heather B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for the great review. We look forward to see next time you are in Kalamazoo.

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
4.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
6.5 km away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
0.4 km away
Value Place Kalamazoo
Value Place Kalamazoo
#15 of 31 in Kalamazoo
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites
3.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
0.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U

Address: 5425 W Michigan Ave, Kalamazoo, MI 49009-1907
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Price Range: ₹ 3,498 - ₹ 6,737 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West Hotel Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Red Roof Inn
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kalamazoo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Jackson, Michigan
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you can afford an extra $50/night, stay at an alternative upscale hotel.”
davidaN9648BO, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There are rooms available with microwave for a slightly higher price.”
Datakat, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for amenities before booking.”
lorriewilken, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There are no smoke free rooms at this hotel. Guests and staff smoke in the doorways and leave butts on the ground.”
LauriHoward, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“back building facing side street”
teddygrit, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5