We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

American Oak Resort

Save
Traveller (24)
Room & Suite (7)
Pool & Beach (5)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good15%
  • Average1%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible25%
Travellers talk about
“the owner”(22 reviews)
“girls weekend”(2 reviews)
“jo”(8 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Kitchenette
Pets Allowed
Business Centre
Breakfast included
Pool
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (78)
There are newer reviews for American Oak Resort
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
42
12
1
3
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
42
12
1
3
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownergirls weekendjorentalcabinpaperworkbashbudlakesledssandrulesmom
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

We're renting three chalets right now. All of our questions and concerns are being answered quickly and courteously. "Jo" works hard to keep all the guests having a good time. The beach is perfect for small children (Lots of shallow water). Free Wi-Fi is great!...More

Thank Corey B
Response from Jo F, Guest Relations Manager at American Oak ResortResponded 25 July 2016

Thanks so much for your lovely review, Corey. We love hosting large family groups such as yours and seeing everyone relax and enjoy themselves. Glad to hear the young ones enjoyed the beach so much!

Reviewed 8 July 2016

Let me get to the important thing first: they accused us of scratching one of the seats on the pontoon boat we rented, despite proof. When we refused to pay for something we did not do, they called the police on us. Even the police...More

9  Thank Amy K
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Booked a Pontoon boat to enjoy a Saturday on the lake for the 4th of July weekend. The misery began at 8:40 in the morning when we arrived at the American Oak Resort office. According to the website and the conversation earlier with the manager...More

3  Thank ginslinger21
Response from Jo F, Guest Relations Manager at American Oak ResortResponded 22 August 2016

This is related to the other review so again I wills state that the boat was flooded then run out of gas on one tank, not switched over as they were shown how to do and we responded as quickly as we could to get...More

Reviewed 4 July 2016

DO NOT BOOK WITH THESE PEOPLE. The boat broke down and we had to get towed in. Only got to ride on it for 30 minutes They wouldnt refund any of our money. They wasted all the gas trying to get the boat started then...More

3  Thank nnnnnn2015
Response from Jo F, Guest Relations Manager at American Oak ResortResponded 22 August 2016

The boat was flooded, run out of gas and not switched to it's secondary, full tank. We did do our best to get you back up and running as quickly as possible and offered you more time out on the lake. You chose to come...More

Reviewed 21 January 2016 via mobile

Wonderful cabin rental. Heater in cabin was good, hot water was perfect. Cabin was clean, staff very friendly and extremely accommodating. I felt like I was staying with family. It was my son's first time on a snowmobile, when he finished, he ran up and...More

Thank Maria B
Response from Jo F, Guest Relations Manager at American Oak ResortResponded 22 August 2016

We're so glad you had fun and especially that we helped introduce your son to the sport of snowmobiling. This makes what we do so very worth it!

View more reviews
Best Value Properties in Houghton Lake, MI
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Business Centre with Internet Access
Room amenities
Refrigerator in room
Details
Price range
US$ 50 - US$ 225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette
Details
Price range
US$ 50 - US$ 225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (24)
Room & Suite (7)
Pool & Beach (5)
Dining (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
DFlint11
10 July 2015|
Answer
Response from Jo F |
They are two bedroom cottages with a sleeper sofa in the well appointed livingroom as well as an eat in kitchen and four piece bath. We are a very short walk to all Tip Up Town activities.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"If traveling with young children, recommend booking a chalet closer to the lake for frequent potty trips."
Read review
"Ask "Jo", the manager. The cabins and chalets are all nice and fit different numbers and tastes"
Read review
"Ask the owner what would be best for your family."
Read review
"We were in a cabin without air conditioning. They have air in some cabins but during our stay it was..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing