We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan
See the most recent reviews
Showing 153: English reviews
Dearborn
Reviewed 1 July 2015

The location is great ... everything faces right onto a private beach on Houghton Lake. The room was very good sized, the bed was comfortable. I took my wheel-chair bound father there for his 88th birthday. They have ADA compliant rooms and bathrooms, including some with roll-in showers. The staff was very, very friendly and very helpful. The continental breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David E
Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile

Reading past reviews on Trip Advisor led me to this location, so it only seemed fit that I continue with the others in saying, that this hotel is by-far the very best hotel in Houghton Lake, Michigan. After checking into the Beachfront Hotel on June 20th, my husband and I experienced the fastest, smoothest hotel registration ever! The checkin lady...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank roadwarriorlady
Reviewed 22 June 2015 via mobile

We needed a place to stay for one night, due to attending a family memorial service. What a great place to stay! We were greeted upon arrival by an extremely friendly and helpful front desk woman. We were early and needed to get in the room to freshen up before the service. She accomodated us by letting us have an...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank erinmike2
beachfronthoughton, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your opinion on our hotel. Customer Service is the most important responsibility in the hospitality industry and the staff at the Beachfront Hotel ensures that is provided to all our guests. Please come stay with us again when returning to Houghton Lake in the future, we'd love to have you back!

Midland, Michigan
Reviewed 3 June 2015

We chose this hotel because it was pet friendly :-) however, once we checked in then went down to the beach an employee came out and told us the owner was complaining about us having our dog on the beach :-( So yes, she got to go, but no, she didn't get to play in the water. Needless to say...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brenda S
beachfronthoughton, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Beachfront Hotel for your night away in Houghton Lake. While we are all pet owners/lovers at the Beachfront Hotel, we are required to make sure our pet policy is followed to ensure the safety of all our guests. We are not able to allow pets on the beach specifically because we want to ensure our...

Leelanau County, Michigan
Reviewed 28 May 2015

I stopped here during the week prior to Memorial Day weekend. My fear was that I would not find an available room. I was wrong. Several rooms were able. And what a gem of a hotel. It may not look like much from the street, but that is where the surprises begin. I got a room with a beautiful view...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank birchpointmich
beachfronthoughton, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. To read such a positive review sure gives us all a great feeling of accomplishment and I can't wait to share it with our staff. I also am glad to hear the hotel was far more than what you had anticipated it to be. We look forward to...

Fenton, Michigan
Reviewed 29 April 2015

We traveled from Fenton, Mi. ( Abt 2.5 hours from Silver Lake to Houghton Lake)..My wife and I were greeted by Samantha (my wife has a knack for remembering names)..As we arrived at the hotel on empty (our car and our energy level) we were greeted in the parking lot by an employee in uniform with a smile (we travel...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ryan H
beachfronthl, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review about your experience at our hotel. I am very pleased to know you were happy with your decision to stay with us, but even more excited to have you return during your next trip to see your family. Also thank you very much for the heartwarming personal mention, like your...

Rockford, Michigan, United States
Reviewed 18 February 2015

We arrived early and were instantly told our room was not ready, which was fine, just kinda rude of the person behind the counter. Room was great, 4th floor, facing parking lot with balcony. Hot tub was nice, plenty of hot water!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Joel N
beachfronthl, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing with us your experience at the Beachfront Hotel for your Valentine's Day getaway. While we strive to allow guests to check into their rooms early if they are available, there are some instances when this exception can not be offered prior to our guaranteed check in. We do greatly appreciate your patience and understanding of this...

Redford mi.
Reviewed 19 November 2014

Nice,clean, quite place to stay. Would like to return during boating season as hotel has own dock & there is a boat launch down the street. Worth dragging a boat up to on our next fall color/lighthouse cruise.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Greg Q
beachfronthl, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review about your stay with us. We are glad you were pleased with your visit and do hope that you decide to return with your boat. Our 14-section private dock provides plenty of space for boat parking and with our covered bbq area and beach bonfires, we are sure you will love your return this...

Reviewed 12 November 2014 via mobile

Stayed here while visiting friends, although off-season it was extremely quiet. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Views of Houghton Lake were very nice. Pool area was kept up well. Standard Continental breakfast. Will definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank AParrott88
beachfronthl, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words about your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay while visiting Houghton Lake, and hope to see you again in the future. Thanks for the new posted pics too!

Prudenville, Michigan
Reviewed 11 November 2014

We checked into a jacuzzi room. The jacuzzi tub is small and the toilet is right on top of it! There's NO privacy between them..We were not in the room but ten minutes. We asked to get our money back politely to a woman and said it wasn't going to work for us. She called Melissa over who checked us...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lori K
beachfronthl, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I do greatly apologize for your stay not being as great as you would have expected it to have been. While I do understand your disappointment in the decision my staff member was required to make, hotel policy was expected to be followed in this situation. Had your room preference...

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton Lake
6.5 km away
Lakeside Resort and Conference Center
0.8 km away
American Oak Resort
American Oak Resort
#8 of 15 in Houghton Lake
72 reviews
33.5 km away
Super 8 Grayling
Super 8 Grayling
#2 of 10 in Grayling
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.8 km away
Ramada Grayling Hotel and Conference Center
6.7 km away
Super 8 Houghton Lake
Super 8 Houghton Lake
#1 of 15 in Houghton Lake
304 reviews
6.5 km away
American Inn & Suites
American Inn & Suites
#6 of 15 in Houghton Lake
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free Breakfast
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautiful private sandy beach on Michigan's largest inland lake, Houghton Lake. The hotel features barbecue grills, picnic tables, fire pit, indoor pool and hot tub, free boat parking on our 14 section private dock, free wi-fi, pet friendly, continental breakfast, 48 rooms with private balconies, 12 jacuzzi rooms to enjoy for your special occasion, family friendly, great for weddings, family reunions, golf outings, birthday parties, graduations, wedding packages available, group discounts. Closest hotel to the heart of Bud Bash and Tip Up Town USA! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan

Address: 4990 W Houghton Lake Dr, Houghton Lake, MI 48629-9203
Region: United States > Michigan > Houghton Lake
Price Range: ₹ 5,753 - ₹ 7,377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Houghton Lake
Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake
Houghton Lake Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Defiance, Ohio
4 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Beachfront Hotel Houghton Lake Michigan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Beachfront rooms had a beautiful view!”
 of 5 bubbles N3128UMjessicap, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Lakeview room with a balcony is the best choice.”
 of 5 bubbles C0leenB, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“most beautiful view of the biggest inland lake of Michigan”
 of 5 bubbles chiquita48653, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room with a view and if in need of a lot of ice, request the first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Christie_Holzer, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Beach Walk Out.”
 of 5 bubbles Kellymichigan10, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay