We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw
See the most recent reviews
Showing 174: English reviews
Lowell, Michigan
Reviewed 13 August 2015

Very nice, the staff was so helpful . We had a very clean room the staff was helpfull and friendly made our stay very nice we sWAM IN THE POOL WE USED THE CONFERENCE ROOM TO MEET FAMILY AND TO MAKE PREPARATIONS FOR MY SON'S WEDDING

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
Rachel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review

Hello Mary, Wow! It sounds like you had a blast here with us. Congratulations on your Son's recent marriage! Thank you for the fantastic review, we appreciate you! See you again soon! Warmest Regards,

Reviewed 12 August 2015

This was a nice Hotel and the staff were very friendly. It was outside the city but very easy to get into town. There were not any restaurants near the hotel you have to go into town for that and the town was pretty much closed by 6:00pm

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie H
Rachel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review

Hello Jeannie, Thank you for the fabulous review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay here with us. We hope to see you again very soon! Warmest Regards,

Fennville, Michigan
Reviewed 9 August 2015 via mobile

Things happen in life. Sometimes the best gauge of a hotel is how they respond when things don't go perfectly. During our two night stay, there was an issue with several of the rooms card keys. The front desk lady named Mimi handled things very promptly and efficiently, with a smile and professionalism. Later, at the very end of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TommyHug
Rachel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review

Hello TommyHug, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an amazing and personable review. It is reviews like this that make my job so much better! I will pass along your praises to the staff members you mentioned. We truly never know what will happen in life; but with a great team and fantastic guests like...

Clawson, Michigan
Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed this past week and found staff to be very helpful. Made no reservations and was able to book a room for the first night. I decided I would extend my stay there and the staff was able to move things around so that I could stay additional 2 nights in the same room. The area has a lot of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marian P
Rachel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review

Hi Marian P, Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. I am happy to hear your children were able to enjoy our pool area! Thank you for informing me of the issue you had in our hallway with the construction workers, I will make note of that for the future. I hope you choose to come back and...

Lansing, Michigan
Reviewed 27 July 2015

Day 1 Upon checking in late Sunday evening after an eight hour drive I immediately unpacked, set up my electronics, and then went for a shower. As I looked up from spreading out the bath mat I was greeted with several long strands of dark hair, think shoulder length on an adult, both on the wall of the shower and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Devin B
Rachel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review

Hello Devin, I am so disappointed to hear that your stay was not 100% satisfactory. I am very sorry for the housekeeping discrepancies and the way it may have inconvenienced you during your stay. I will be taking immediate action! I guarantee this will never be an issue at our property ever again. I wholeheartedly appreciate your feedback, if you...

Michigan
Reviewed 23 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed here two nights on vacation. It was a stopping point for our visit to Houghton and Copper Harbor. Conveniently located near businesses and the Hwy, but far enough away to avoid road noise or distractions. We found the hotel to be new, clean, and comfortable. The staff was friendly and breakfast well stocked. I would certainly stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CasualTraveling
Rachel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review

Hello, What a great review, thank you for taking the time to share. It sounds like you had a fabulous time here on the Keweenaw Peninsula. We cannot wait for your next adventure, hope to see you soon! Warmest Regards,

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 20 July 2015

$120 a night for a Holiday Inn Express is a bit much given the rural location. Room was clean but had a slight dingy odor. Receptionist was very friendly and the lobby looked clean and new. I would stay again, but $120 is the upper limit I'd pay for this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick9063
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review

Dear Patrick9063, I appreciate you taking the time to comment about your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased to read that you have regarded our rooms and lobby to be clean and new and our reception staff to be friendly. On the other hand, I am disappointed to read that issues regarding the smell in your room and...

Reviewed 14 July 2015

Were there just one night looking at the University for our son. We arrived late and the hotel desk was friendly and very helpful. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub which were both outstanding, clean and well kept. Our room was great, clean and modern. The included breakfast buffet in the morning was great and had choices for everyone....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
Rachel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review

Hello Bob B, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of our many amenities, fantastic! I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your time here with us in Houghton. Please, come back and see us again soon. Warmest Regards,

michigan
Reviewed 9 July 2015

This hotel was remodeled recently and is very comfortable and updated. The receptionist gave us recommendations of where to eat and was very pleasant. I would most definitely stay here again when in the area. (There is a Culver's just across the parking lot, too.)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rockinrobbins
Rachel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review

Hello rockinrobbins, Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to review our hotel. We absolutely adore having you here with us! We hope to see you very soon. Have a fantastic rest of your week, talk to you soon! Warmest Regards,

Reviewed 2 July 2015 via mobile

Everything and more! Beds are so comfortable, rooms are very clean, staff is fantastic, pool area is clean and also very nice. Will definitely stay at this HIE again! We added a night with no problems because we weren't done exploring and sight seeing the Keweenaw!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenna L
Rachel S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw, responded to this review

Hello Jenna L, Thank you for the amazing review. Upper Michigan is beautiful isn't it? The Keweenaw area is our favorite. We are so happy you enjoyed yourself in Houghton and at our hotel. We are always open so if you ever decide to continue your Houghton adventures, we will be waiting for you! We cannot wait to see you...

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton
0.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton
1.8 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
442 reviews
1.8 km away
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
17.7 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
38.9 km away
Baraga Lakeside Inn
Baraga Lakeside Inn
#1 of 4 in Baraga
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Houghton-Keweenaw, offering the finest accommodations to business travelers, vacationers, snowmobilers, skiers, and teams. Only 8 miles from the Houghton County Airport (CMX), we are conveniently located on the corner of Sharon Ave. and M-26, minutes away from MTU and Finlandia University. Corporate travelers catch up with work with free wireless Internet and the use of our business center. After business, exercise in our fitness center and relax in our indoor pool, sauna, and whirlpool. Leisure travelers enjoy our spacious two-room suites and bring the family pet. Start your day, with our complimentary hot item breakfast bar. Snowmobilers: our large parking lot accommodates sleds with trailers, with easy access to the snowmobile trails. Downhill skiing or snowboarding is always fun with night skiing and a snowboard park at Mount Ripley. Mount Bohemia, offers glade skiing with the largest vertical drop in the Midwest, overlooking beautiful Lake Superior. Cross-Country trails include the Maasto Hiihto and MTU trails.The Holiday Inn Express Houghton-Keweenaw invites visiting athletic teams.Businesses near hotel: MTU, Finlandia University, Somero Enterprises, Portage Point, Dan s Polaris. Attractions near hotel: snowmobiling, downhill, skiing, Historical Downtown Houghton. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw

Address: 1110 Century Way, M-26 & Sharon Avenue, Houghton, MI 49931-2712
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Houghton
Price Range: ₹ 8,246 - ₹ 13,416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw Hotel Houghton
Holiday Inn Houghton
Houghton Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Houghton - Keweenaw staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“During our stay it was quieter to be away from elevator area.”
 of 5 bubbles Tripmandu, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“See if they have a room with a view of Houghton.”
 of 5 bubbles PaulL388, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try the back side of hotel, it may be a bit quieter”
 of 5 bubbles cookie41, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed on the second floor in a large room with two queen beds. It was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles happi1944, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The back side faces a rock wall- no sun, good for quiet. The front side faces morning sun.”
 of 5 bubbles SandyBE8074KA, 23 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5