We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lakeside Motel & Cottages

Official SiteUS$ 70*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 54: English reviews
Start your review of Lakeside Motel & Cottages
 Click to rate
Saginaw, Michigan
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Bait & switch...no view of the lake...but if u like looking at the side of a motel then.... came here for a "lake view" Called to get the matter resolved just to be told it wasn't their fault and they were going to charge full price whether we stayed or not. Truck got all scratched up getting thru the one...

Thank mick8212017
Reviewed 11 January 2017

The owner (im guessing) was rude right from check in. Going over rules several times as though we were children. The room smelled like musty mildew when we arrived. Left the door open to try to clear out smell even though it was freezing temps. The bed was very uncomfortable. Bathroom and shower very small. Way overpriced for a place...

Thank Nancy M
LadyMichigander, Manager at Lakeside Motel & Cottages, responded to this review

We are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced. We did have alternate rooms without wool carpet available the evening you stayed and we would have been happy to switch you. Sadly, in our rural area, we still have people that will smoke in the rooms unless we make sure they understand that we are very strict with our no smoking...

Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

If I could give this motel negative stars I would. The rooms were dirty and the shower was EXTREMELY tiny. Yes the motel allows pets but is far from friendly. The beach is not nice and the website says you can rent boats, that is false you can rent canoes. Blane is super rude and extremely unfriendly. If you are...

Thank Sherry S
LadyMichigander, General Manager at Lakeside Motel & Cottages, responded to this review

Blane replies: TripAdvisor reviews should be helpful for both the business and future customers. This reviewer came to our business angry and prepared to be disappointed, perhaps because we had to contact her regarding the invalid credit card she used to make her Labor Day reservation. When they got here Sherry snapped multiple times at my wife and me during...

Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

My family stays at the Lakeside when we come to Harrison to visit family. With this being said, we are repeat customers and choose to stay here at least once a year for several consecutive nights. The cottages have enough space for a small family to have needs met (think suite square footage) and there is a small kitchenette, minus...

Thank Logan C
LadyMichigander, Manager at Lakeside Motel & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We will be taking your comments to heart when we decide on new flooring for the cottages!

Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

The "beach" access is not swim quality water. Weeds everywhere. Spiders in cottage and webs. Boat for rental in need of seat repair,missing screws. No stove available. Had to waste a bunch of food we brought. Had to take kids to state beach to swim which cost more money. Asked for late check out (one hour later) and was told...

1Thank trisha g
LadyMichigander, Manager at Lakeside Motel & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our cozy cottage. We apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay. In response to specific concerns: Our peat-bottom lake (the same lake as at the state park) is clean and healthy with fish and weed cover, although the weeds do tend to let loose and wash ashore in August. We...

Akron, Ohio
Reviewed 31 July 2016

My husband and I just wanted a nice relaxing no rush no hurry vacation on a lake with fishing and nice lake views. Lakeside did not disappoint. The cabin was cozy with plenty of room and amenities. Will recommend to family and friends. The owners are friendly and very accommodating. Loved sitting on the swing watching the boaters and Loons...

Thank bhartney
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

I always stay at Lakeside when I come home to visit. The rooms are always clean and relatively comfortable. It's close to town and sits right on Bud Lake. The view is amazing and sitting by the lake in the morning is so peaceful. All rooms are non-smoking, have a coffee maker and mini fridge. I will always come back.

Thank Janeen R
Troy, Michigan
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Booked the Elk Grove cottage for a 3 night stay the weekend after the 4th of July. It is hard to find a cottage for a short stay that time of year, so I was glad to find a 2 bedroom available on the water at such a reasonable price. Overall I would recommend the resort, the view is amazing...

Thank alicia c
LadyMichigander, Manager at Lakeside Motel & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of our Elk Grove cottage. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall and we apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced. We have updated the cottage refrigerator description on the website, oiled the A/C fan motor and purchased a new toaster. Thank you for bringing these items to our attention. We hope...

Reviewed 19 June 2016

We stayed one night at Lakeside Motel and Cottages. The only room available when I called to reserve was a Queen Restricted Mobility Whirlpool Room #102. It faces the street, but we were not disturbed by traffic during the night. The check in process was quick and efficient, the room was very clean and comfortable. The bed was comfortable and...

1Thank MaryKayOwosso
Reviewed 1 February 2016

My husband and I needed one night in Harrison and I found lakeside motel online. We had a lake view queen room. They had the heat on for us when we got there. The man at the desk was very pleasant. The room was very clean and neat. I have read that the showers are tiny and it definitely was...

Thank anna k

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (14)
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Room/Suite (1)
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Other (4)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrison
32.2 km away
American Oak Resort
American Oak Resort
#8 of 15 in Houghton Lake
74 reviews
19.3 km away
Days Inn of Clare
Days Inn of Clare
#2 of 4 in Clare
457 reviews
36.0 km away
Super 8 Houghton Lake
Super 8 Houghton Lake
#1 of 15 in Houghton Lake
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located directly on Budd Lake in Harrison, MI, we offer five peaceful, shady acres for our guests to enjoy. 12 motel units and 3 cottages: A/C, quiet gas heat, free high speed WiFi, over 300' of beachfront. Boat & canoe rentals. Fishing on site; near great golf, casino, ORV trails and hunting. AAA Diamond Rated. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lakeside Motel & Cottages

Address: 515 Park St, Bus US 127, M-61, Harrison, MI 48625-9222
Region: United States > Michigan > Clare County > Harrison
Price Range: ₹ 3,036 - ₹ 6,394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Harrison
Lakeside Motel Harrison
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lakeside Motel & Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go elsewhere and save your money”
mick8212017, 26 May 2017 | Read review
“we stayed in cabin#2 had a nice lake view. Most of the rooms at the motel are lake view”
bhartney, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Not sure about the motel, stayed in the cottage”
964aliciac, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The cottages have a fire pit, bbq, and place for your vehicle. I didn't see inside the rooms so I can't say anything either way about them.”
  • Our patio at the cottage
  • Budd Lake
  • View from patio
TStenhouse1, 1 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Check with them if you need accomodations.”
hoper268, 28 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Official Site
US$ 70* /night
View Deal
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates