We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 87: English reviews
Noblesville, Indiana
Level Contributor
78 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Overall the rooms are okay. They are clean, but the decor is quite dated. No refrigerator so that was disappointing. The staff was friendly and helpful in answering our questions. They offer limited covered parking, a pool, and are within walking distance of downtown Hancock. Their location is great (always has been) and this could be a great hotel again... More 

Helpful?
Thank 482TeresaR_
Jennifer A, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are currently in the process of doing upgrades to the property. We will soon have fridges in all of the rooms and we have other projects planned such as replacing the carpeting in the next few months. Hopefully the next time you stay you can see our changes! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Room was fine, no refrigerator which was disappointing. Trip advisor says I must have a minimum of 200 Characters to write a review. This is why this is the last review that I plan to write for them!!

Helpful?
Thank William G
Jennifer A, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I hope you enjoyed your stay. I am pleased to tell you that we are in the process of getting fridges for all the rooms as well as replacing some carpeting and some other projects! More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We were staying at the Comfort Inn and Suites like we had for the past 8 years, but after seeing all their changes, the price increases, and the rude employees, we decided to give this place our business.....and for 1/2 the price of the Comfort Inn. Rooms were old but clean. Staff was very friendly. We were very happy we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Denni B
Portage, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

$185/3 days. Positives: Covered parking, pool, Jacuzzi (chlorine overload though), sauna, free coffee all the time, large rooms, Wi-Fi connection great, friendly staff, ice machine right by room, best price in area for hotel. Negatives: Carpet throughout hotel very musty & needs replacing badly, Windows in room didn't open, a/c extremely dusty & needs cleaning, no fridge or microwave in... More 

Helpful?
Thank wisconsingirl97
L'Anse, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Not bad overall. Broken jacuzzi and sauna. Rooms are decent. Slept 4 no problem but beds are hard. Decent complimentary breakfast. Good value. NO elevators and no luggage carts made packing and unpacking rough.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Adam C
Toledo
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2016

We loved this hotel! The staff was super-friendly and helpful. Our kids loved the pool, and the continental breakfast had a nice selection. Yes, the decor was a little dated, but the hotel was CLEAN, and the beds were comfortable. We came to see the gorgeous scenery, not sit in the room all day, so the decor was no issue... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nocles
Dubuque, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Very accommodating for a pending trip to Isle Royale for a backpacking trip and was close to the seaplane base where we had to leave from. Planning to check-back in when we arrive back in Houghton after the trip - looking forward to a hot shower and the pool!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank William S
Jennifer A, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your response, we look forward to having you back! More 

Commerce Twp
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2016

Could not ask for a better 3 night stay...the counter person handled all our concerns...the room cleaner took care of all our needs for the room...towels,coffee,etc...would recommend a stay here...no matter the time of year

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sam2000plus
Jennifer A, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your time in completing this response. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will see you again on your next trip to the Upper Peninsula. More 

Clarkston
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2016

I requested a first floor room due to a handicap and trouble with stairs. Confirmed reservations! When I arrived at 5:00 p.m. I was then advised that no first floor rooms we available. The girl behind the counter said that the 2nd floor room that she could give me was only a few steps away. OK, fill out the info... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rebrisson
Jennifer A, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown, responded to this review

I apologize that you were unhappy with your stay. I am sorry that we were not able to accommodate your request for a first floor room. I am looking into why this happened and am looking for ways to prevent something like this from happening again. Thank you for your response. More 

Gladwin, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2016

The toilet was loose and the tub drain was slow. My husbands swim trunks are now light dull blue instead of a bright blue because the chemicals in the pool were overdone. Our visitors did complain that their eyes were burning in the pool room. Otherwise the room was nice and big and it was clean. The service was very... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kimmour
Jennifer A, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. I apologize about your experience with the pool and it is being looked into. Thank you for staying with us. More 

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hancock
0.5 km away
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
2.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton
1.5 km away
Magnuson Hotel Franklin Square Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
1.0 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
439 reviews
1.9 km away
Super 8 Houghton
Super 8 Houghton
#2 of 7 in Houghton
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This Magnuson Hotels branded affiliate is located near Mt. Ripley Ski Area, Michigan Technological University, Portage Lake, Finlandia University, Coppertown USA, Houghton County Fairgrounds, Peninsula Copper Industries and Ojibwa Casino. The Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown offers guests an indoor pool, hot tub, free Continental breakfast served from 5:30 am to 10 am, free high-speed wireless Internet access, fax/copy service, wake-up service, free parking with room for large vehicles,snowmobile parking garage, and meeting facilities. Small pets are accepted with additional charges. Guest rooms offer cable TV with extra stations, free high speed wireless internet access, coffee maker, hair dryer, free local calls, air conditioning, alarm clock/radio, iron/board and electronic door locks. Requests are not guaranteed, and will be granted based on availability at check-in. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown

Address: 235 Hancock St, P.O. Box 217, Hancock, MI 49930-2003
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Hancock
Price Range: ₹ 5,864 - ₹ 6,682 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hancock
Hancock Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Chetek, Wisconsin
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't open your bathroom door all the way after taking a shower unless you are wanting to test out how loud the smoke detectors are. The steam from the bathroom set ours off”
 of 5 bubbles 991krissya, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room was great with both an interior and exterior entrance.”
 of 5 bubbles JeffersJet68, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I had to request a ground floor room, so my mother wouldn't have to climb the stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles nicolegD7804PH, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Our room had 2 queens. We have 2 teenagers, yet we all fit just fine because the room was larger than those at other hoteks.”
 of 5 bubbles Nocles, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room was nice and clean, view out the window was of a brick wall and trash bin. Had only one chair for two people so one person had to sit on the bed. Toilet bolts were loose at the floor so you rocked and tilted every time you moved. AGAIN NOT FOR OLDER PEOPLE!”
 of 5 bubbles rebrisson, 24 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay