We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Penrod's Au Sable River Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grayling
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Penrod\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

15 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 15: English reviews
Fort Gratiot, Michigan
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights in cabin on the Ausable River with my 2 sisters. This was our 4th year, and another year of fun and relaxation. Jim the owner is very accommodating. Cabin is very nice and has everything needed to grill out and enjoy the peace and quiet of the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cmpappy
Jim H, Owner at Penrod's Au Sable River Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate your comments and look forward to your next visit.

Roanoke, Indiana
Reviewed 27 August 2016

We have been returning to Penrods twice a summer for probably ten or twelve years now after deciding to "give it a try" and have never been disappointed. It's exceptionally clean, very quiet and family friendly. The longtime owner and his staff always go the extra mile to be sure your visit doesn't disappoint. They are helpful, knowledgeable about the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl T
Jim H, Owner at Penrod's Au Sable River Resort, responded to this review

We are glad you had a good time. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the comments and will share them with the staff.

Newark, Ohio
Reviewed 16 August 2016

We were first time visitors to the area and we couldn't be more happy with our experience that began at Penrods. My wife and I were looking for a simple getaway for an extended weekend and stumbled upon Penrod's. Everyone on the campground was especially kind and helpful. The owner was very nice and gave us plenty of ideas for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank astearman
Jim H, Owner at Penrod's Au Sable River Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your comments and are glad you had the chance to experience the Grayling area.

Carlsbad, California
Reviewed 14 September 2015

This place is amazing, quiet, quaint, CLEAN, Manager that cares about your stay and your time in this awesome little town, he went out of his way to find me a Yoga studio and Paddle board rental. I was always greeted with a smile and a super positive vibe. I stayed in the one room cabin with a bathroom that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chad P
Jim H, Owner at Penrod's Au Sable River Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are glad you had a good stay.

Grand Blanc, Michigan
Reviewed 23 May 2015 via mobile

The cabin was very clean and cozy. The grounds, well maintained with lovely seating areas next to the river. I brought my own kayak up and they spotted my car at my desired pull-out point. I like that, since I can take all the time I want to enjoy the journey down river. I will definitely be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisarver
Jim H, Owner at Penrod's Au Sable River Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We appreciate your business and are glad you had a good time. Hopefully we will see you again. Jim

Mary Esther, Florida
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We are yearly visitors to the quaint cabins! We love the river, the lovely cabin, the location, and Jim and his great staff. Each year we relax and enjoy the quiet! If you like the rustic outdoors with some creature comforts, you will be pleased!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MathTeacher2013
Jim H, Owner at Penrod's Au Sable River Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate your comments and look forward to your next visit.

Michigan
Reviewed 7 December 2013

These are log cabins. Do not expect a Hilton experience. Some windows lack curtains. Good value. Great in town, on the river location. You will feel like you stepped back in time. Friendly owner. Grayling has limited dining options, BTW.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brooktroutchaser
Jim H, Owner at Penrod's Au Sable River Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review, thank you for the feedback.

East Lansing, Michigan
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Those little log cabins right beside the Au Sable River - convenient, romantic, practical, cozy, and BEAUTIFUL area. We could walk or ride bikes to town for meals, shopping, browsing, etc. Canoeing on the Au Sable is being on the Gem Of The North. Best river in the state - bar none! Penrod's rents bikes, canoes, and kayaks. Couldn't be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Realkayakjack
Jim H, Owner at Penrod's Au Sable River Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate your comments.

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed two nights in cabin #9. Cabin was very well maintained, bathroom had recently been remodeled. We are normally Holiday Inn Express kind of people, but were very happy that we decided to give Penrods a chance. Great water pressure in the shower, must be on city water as there was no well water smell or taste to the water....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank t i
Jim H, Owner at Penrod's Au Sable River Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review, thank you for the comments.

Mi
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

My family of four (teens age 14 & 16) stayed at Penrods this summer for two nights. This trip makes it #5 for me and my husband. We enjoyed their two person cabins early on and have visited twice with the kids staying in the family cabins. Over the span of 20 years, we have enjoyed all of our visits...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swtsunshine
Jim H, Owner at Penrod's Au Sable River Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate your comments.

9 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grayling
1.6 km away
Ramada Grayling Hotel and Conference Center
6.8 km away
Super 8 Grayling
Super 8 Grayling
#2 of 10 in Grayling
295 reviews
40.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaylord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Days Inn Grayling
Days Inn Grayling
#1 of 10 in Grayling
416 reviews
0.1 km away
Borchers Au Sable Bed and Breakfast
3.0 km away
Motel 72
Motel 72
#6 of 10 in Grayling
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Room types
  • Kitchenette

Additional Information about Penrod's Au Sable River Resort

Address: 100 Maple St, Grayling, MI
Region: United States > Michigan > Crawford County > Grayling
Number of rooms: 14
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Penrod's Au Sable River Resort staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Penrod's Au Sable River Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All face the river. 1-2 people in small; larger ones have closed in porches hold 3 or 4. Those w/o kitchen microwave and coffee pot.”
 of 5 bubbles CherylT728, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't be afraid of the one room cabin, its perfect for 1 or 2 people, great food in town.”
 of 5 bubbles chadp690, 14 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Select by size for your needs and wants. Get a kitchenette if you want to prepare meals.”
 of 5 bubbles Realkayakjack, 1 Oct 2013 | Read review
“The times Penrod's give to the takeout locations are right on for a leisurely ride. Add more time to pick-up only if you plan to stop for a long lunch or break.”
 of 5 bubbles chief4j1, 30 Jul 2013 | Read review
4 of 4