We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Roof Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

156 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 153: English reviews
Mishawaka, Indiana
Reviewed 15 May 2016

Since my last visit, this place has gone downhill....Wifi is nearly nonexistent, the beds are hard as a rock, and the amount of construction around the property is very noisy and makes ingress and egress very frustrating. Not staying here again, I'm done.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thevinoman
redroof11, Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for taking the time to give us an updated review of our property. I am so sorry that your experience was not up to the expectations we've set in the past. I apologize for the inconvenience of the noisy construction. We do try to limit outside noise entering the room by utilizing cement reinforced walls, however in...

Port Washington, Wisconsin
Reviewed 29 April 2016

The price was outrageous for what we had, or did not have....No hair dryer in room, no coffee maker in room, no extra blanket in the room-I consider these standards. It was very substandard, smelled bad and the toilet ran. I still cannot believe we had to pay so much for such a yucky room. It was the worst hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank margiejankowskillc
redroof11, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Rapids Red Roof. I sincerely regret that your experience did not meet your expectations and are addressing the issues, in regards to room odor and plumbing, that occurred during your stay with our executive housekeeper and maintenance engineer. To explain the "lack" of...

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewed 26 March 2016

I would recommend this place for one's every need!!! Seriously, the ONLY thing that could improve this establishment is for them to start serving breakfast. Coffee was fantastic! They even have French Vanilla creamer!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tygart_scot
redroof11, Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We really appreciate the motivational feedback & 5 star rating! Don't forget to tell your family and friends about your stay! Can't wait to have you return the next time you're visiting Grand Rapids! Best Regards, Alexander Shotwell Assistant General Manager

Reviewed 22 March 2016 via mobile

The smell in here makes my eyes hurt. They tried switching me to a different room but the smell was not any better. Must be chemicals they clean with. The staff here is always friendly, I've stayed here a lot of time because my company only covers Red Roof Inns. But last night the room came with old box of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe K
redroof11, Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property and staff. I am shocked to hear the details about your stay. Please accept my most sincere apology. The cleaners we use to clean the room are quite strong. I'm sorry that the scent was unpleasant to you! We choose our cleaners based on their quality. I can...

Lansing, Michigan
Reviewed 21 March 2016

If I hadn't been exhausted, I would have changed rooms or hotels, but that wasn't an option. Bad weather made the satellite-based internet go awry, but the worst offense was the dirty room. Sheets had grease spots and a few other curious stains. Some bits of trash near the trash can, bathroom was a little gross (and I can overlook...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank V M
redroof11, Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review our property. I am so sorry you had a bad experience with us! It sounds like you may have been mistakenly checked into a dirty room! This is something we never want our guests to go through. I can not express enough how terribly apologetic I...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

I usually don't give to many bad reviews, but this place deserves one. The staff was very helpful, but that was the only good thing. The rooms smell like smoke, and you can her everything outside... It was just a bad location and experience. Pay the extra money and stay somewhere better.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ntjones21
redroof11, Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Rapids Red Roof. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. In order for us to improve your experience in the future, could you please provide more detail on the specific areas you found unsatisfactory? Thank you for sharing your...

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewed 6 March 2016

I have not had a night, everyone has been very friendly and over the top. The rooms very clean I would recommend red roof to any one and every one. I feel very safe and cleaning very good and helpful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gtdimambro
redroof11, Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks so much for taking the time to review our property!! Your kind words are appreciated and will be shared with our staff! We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you require lodging in our area. Best Regards, Alexander Shotwell Assistant General Manager

Illinois
Reviewed 6 March 2016

This property is in urgent need of an updating, but more urgently it needs to be cleaned. The room I was in smelled of stale cigarette smoke. The bathroom floor had dirt, hair and who knows what accumulated behind the door.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adhibit
redroof11, Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Without guest feedback like yours we wouldn't be nearly as aware of how we can improve. I'm so sorry your stay was not satisfactory. I'd like to get further details on the issues you encountered and how you feel we could improve your next stay. If you're open...

Wyoming, Michigan
Reviewed 5 March 2016

My overall stay was good. The staff was friendly and professional and very quick to respond in a timely with some issues that I experienced. I had some issues with some ants in the bathroom area and the sleeping area in the room. My shower head was broken and therefore as a result I was not able to use the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindseyfreda
redroof11, Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review our property! I am so sorry that you had a subpar experience. I have mentioned the issues you've mentioned here to our executive housekeeper and we are taking the proper measures to ensure that future guests do not encounter the issues you did during your stay....

Roseville, Michigan
Reviewed 4 March 2016 via mobile

I recently had the opportunity to spend the weekend at the Red Roof Inn in Grand Rapids Michigan. Upon check in, I was warmly greeted and also upgraded to a superior room from the standard which I had booked. Alex could not have done a better job. I was highly impressed. The room was clean and nicely decorated. All of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MissDena1
redroof11, Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks so much for reviewing our property!! Your kind words are very much appreciated and will be shared with our staff. I'm so pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you require lodging in our area. Best Regards, Alexander Shotwell Assistant General Manager

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
1.0 km away
Econo Lodge & Suites
Econo Lodge & Suites
#17 of 49 in Grand Rapids
160 reviews
10.4 km away
Travelodge Grand Rapids
Travelodge Grand Rapids
#32 of 49 in Grand Rapids
374 reviews
1.7 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#28 of 49 in Grand Rapids
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
0.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites
0.3 km away
Clarion Inn & Suites Airport
Clarion Inn & Suites Airport
#33 of 49 in Grand Rapids
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn

Address: 5131 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512-2050
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Price Range: ₹ 3,973 - ₹ 6,644 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Red Roof Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Red Roof Inn
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Grand Rapids
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Ann Arbor, Michigan

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All floors are outside entry. No elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles oldpuck, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Take advantage of the local IHOP for breakfast. It's one of the best run IHOPs I've ever enjoyed.”
 of 5 bubbles 617kenj, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“don't get a room by the McDonalds to many cars & trucks.”
 of 5 bubbles U3346GZmichaelf, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I don't think there is an elevator to the second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Tmclain5, 16 Sep 2015 | Read review
“ground floor was okay-- parked in front of door.”
 of 5 bubbles sarahsF838KK, 17 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5