We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Homestead

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glen Arbor
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Homestead
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

509 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Homestead
See the most recent reviews
Showing 508: English reviews
Petoskey, Michigan
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I almost gave the Homestead a "Poor" rating, but upgraded them to "Average" due to the manager making some concessions on a disappointing stay. We just wanted a mini-get away with our dog for two nights and the Homestead is one of several Northern Michigan resorts that offer "pet friendly" accommodations. We were offered a ground floor room with two...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dre51
TheHomesteadMI, Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

Dear dre51, Thank you for sharing your recent experience. We apologize that the room had some maintenance issues and did not meet your expectations. We've have addressed the items that were missing or not properly functioning and are in the process of updating the bedding for the hotels. We're pleased that we were able to provide a small concession for...

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The homestead is simply living off a great location. The resort is badly in need of an update. Also, the customer service is way off and quite frankly this seems to be due to young staff. This could be an amazing resort if updates were made. They are kind of the only gig in town so I suspect they will...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ColumbusCohn
TheHomesteadMI, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this review

Dear Columbus Cohn, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your visit to The Homestead. We are in the process of upgrading some of our hotel accommodations and would be interested in hearing more specifics about where you stayed and when. Our management team is committed to recruiting, hiring and training the best possible candidates so...

Saint Louis
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I stayed at the Homestead on a cold snowy night. Parking was at least 50 yards away from my hotel room at the Inn. On a nice day, this would be fine. That night, it was very cold and the walk was very uncomfortable. The room was old but very clean. The TV was also old--not a flat screen. For...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Russ H
TheHomesteadMI, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this review

Dear Russ H, Thank you for your recent visit and review from a business traveler perspective. We hope you enjoyed a productive environment. You will be pleased to know that we will be making some updates to The Inn within the next few months. The updates will provide the luxury of a modern hotel with the charm of an historic...

Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

While I love The Homestead this is my second trip this year with the same kind of experience so I felt the need to review it after last weekends visit. I will say that I was checked in both visits by the same sweet and helpful girl(I wish I could remember her name), the ski lift guys were all very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lindsay N
TheHomesteadMI, General Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. We are very sorry that you have not received a quality guest experience in a couple of our points of sale. We continue to work very hard to train our associates to provide the level of service our guests desire and deserve. It is a great disappointment to us all when we...

Michigan
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed at 5D Tall Timbers for a weekend ski trip. The resort is next to Lake Michigan and the skiing, while not for the professional skier looking for a black diamond experience, is beautiful and family friendly. The location of the resort is ideal. The condo has a gorgeous view of Lake Michigan with just the river and small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank avery131
TheHomesteadMI, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this review

Dear avery131, Thank you for sharing your recent experience. The Homestead does not rent the unit you are referring to. Perhaps it was rented through a private owner or an independent rental agency? All of the condominiums and homes are privately owned. Not all of the owners participate in our rental program. Those that do are held to a high...

Brookfield, Illinois
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Love,love,love this resort! Came here for a quiet weekend and some skiing. Skiing is kicky with some nice rolls to the terrain. Ate dinner at Nonna's which was superb. Breakfast, which was included with the package had awesome food. The staff here are wonderfully friendly and helpful. An all round fabulous time!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laurie M
TheHomesteadMI, General Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

Laurie, Thank you for providing the recent review. We're thrilled that you've enjoyed the resort many times and look forward to your return. Sincerely,

Traverse City, Michigan
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Homestead for two nights over New Year's Eve. We stayed in Little Belle which is located in the heart of it all and at the bottom of the downhill ski slope. We purchased tickets to the Gala on New Year's Eve that was held at the Mountain Flowers Lodge. Tickets were a little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Molly G
TheHomesteadMI, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this review

Molly G, Thank you for choosing The Homestead to "Ring in the New Year!" The New Year's Gala was a new event for us and we appreciate your feedback. Your comments will help us as we plan similar events for the future. We're pleased that you enjoyed the facilities and the season. We do hope to see you again in...

Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The Homestead is a large, beautiful, hilly property right on Lake Michigan. There are a number of different housing options. We have stayed in the Stoney Brook Lodge, high up on a hill, a few times. The units are like apartments with a living/dining/kitchen area (with cast iron stove), bedroom, bath, and porch overlooking Lake Michigan. Good choice for families....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gr0sseP0inter
TheHomesteadMI, General Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

Dear Gr0sseP0inter, We are so pleased that you have enjoyed The Homestead several times in the past and most recently this December. You may be interested to know that we are in the process of upgrading Stony Brook Lodge. It will continue to have all of the conveniences you've enjoyed with a stunning, upgraded decor. Renovations should be completed by...

Lansing, MI
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is a lovely resort. We came to ski Christmas week. We like everything about the resort except that they don't take care of their roads. It is a hilly property and I often saw cars trying to get up, or down, the hills. It snows a lot there due to being by Lake Michigan and you need to weigh...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marillynlansing_mi
TheHomesteadMI, Manager at The Homestead, responded to this review

Dear Marillynlansing_mi, Thank you for your recent stay and comments. The snowfall this year was unusually high, even for our region. In fact, we may have caught the record by now which was set in 1995! That said, the safety of our guests as they move about the property (whether driving or walking) is of the utmost importance to us....

Sterling Heights, Michigan
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We just came back from a two day stay at The Inn. We have stayed on the property before and found little has changed. The staff can be hit or miss. The maids are always friendly and outgoing. The restaurant people can be rude. CQ's example - at 7:59 in the morning someone opens the door and says "can you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BobbyV52

246 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (239)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (29)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Arbor
39.0 km away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
2,890 reviews
32.5 km away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
20.5 km away
The Leland Lodge
The Leland Lodge
#1 of 1 in Leland
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
34.2 km away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
13.6 km away
Empire Lakeshore Inn
Empire Lakeshore Inn
#1 of 3 in Empire
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service

Additional Information about The Homestead

Address: 1 Wood Ridge Road, Glen Arbor, MI 49636
Region: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Glen Arbor
Price Range: ₹ 6,029 - ₹ 60,093 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Homestead 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Glen Arbor
Homestead Glen Arbor
Homestead Hotel Glen Arbor
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Homestead staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from The Homestead staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bottom floor rooms were nice but you could hear neighbors going up and down the steps.”
clark7895, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try to come during the off season”
P8191BPdavidw, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Decide what's most important - views, access to the beach, quiet pool, when picking an area”
Julianne_S_B, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The location of each hotel, lodge, condo or house offers different benefits depending on your interests.”
H3316HGjenniferp, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Corner Suites 10 and 17 are fabulous, with breathtaking views.”
964ethanb, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5