We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Stanley House Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

631 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Stanley House Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 630: English reviews
Sydney
Reviewed 2 May 2016

If you are in this area, this is THE place to stay, beautiful Rooms and Suites with fabulous views, excellent Restaurant and Bar and very good Staff that are there to help.magic views. Everything works the way it should.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Geoff48
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very kind words. It is so lovely to hear that you enjoyed your Stanley House experience and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Rothesay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 April 2016

Have stayed here many times in the past. We were in the Manor House as before and loved it. However, this visit no robes and slippers which lesser priced hotels provide as standard. Also lovely big room but only 1 dressing table chair, difficult to watch TV on a high hard chair have to say. Sadly the breakfast was a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gary H
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you felt disappointed on this occasion and that you are not looking to return. This would be such a shame as you have enjoyed past experiences with us, we hope that this unfortunate occasion will not prevent you from staying...

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Have stayed here with my partner twice now, once for a single night, and once for a longer stay of three nights. The rooms are finished to an extremely high standard, lovely big well lit bathrooms with baths and walk in showers - though I've only stayed in the new style "woodlands" rooms on both occasions. Grounds are also lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank awforsyth
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind words, it is so lovely to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay at Stanley House, topped off by our fantastic spa. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 April 2016

We had a fantastic midweek break at Stanley House Hotel and Spa. On arrival we sat in the sun on the terrace with a G& T chosen from the vast selection. We were given a lovely room in the Woodlands building overlooking the Ribble Valley. On our first evening we booked into Mr Fred's which was very relaxed, with friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Marjie H
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are so pleased that you chose to stay at Stanley House and had such a relaxing experience especially your visit to our fabulous spa for the ultimate indulgence. We look forward to welcoming you back 'up the hill' in the near future.

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2016

The service was very good, very pleasant and attentive staff. Great venue nicely decorated and lovely views into the courtyard garden. We were probably a picky audience a lady who teaches catering, a non professional but excellent cook and myself an ex professional caterer. The first courses quiche was good, but sausage rolls nothing special. Our scones were a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rushcroft_13
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest feedback, this is much appreciated and we shall of course take your comments on board to improve our offering. We are delighted that you chose to dine at Stanley House and hope that we can welcome you back again in the future for another catch-up with friends.

Reviewed 21 April 2016

I was here recently for a wedding and booked in for two nights. On the first evening we went to the bar for food and a drink. The service was dreadful, far too slow. It was not at all busy. The waitress who cleared our table took one plate at a time so made four trips in all. We ordered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Twinkx
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank your for your honest feedback. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us and apologise for this. Your comments are important to us so that we can continue to improve our service and we do hope that you may return in the not too distant future and hope that we can turn...

Mawdesley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

From start to finish we were made to feel welcome. Lovely friendly staff. Fabulous accomodation, great food & a lovely selection of G&Ts. Luxury spa run very professionally with experienced staff. Try Joanne for a back & shoulder massage !!! Would reccommend any of the Spa packages and offers from the hotel, Secret Escapes & Thegoodspa guide. Lunch delicious.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsDalesDiary
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful time at Stanley House and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2016

I have been to the hotel so many times previously, we have stayed, eaten in both Grill on the Hill and Mr Fred's, we have been day and night, for afternoon tea and stayed over so we could have a drink and to get away from work. Whilst in the past it has always been great the last few times...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DTay47
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visits to Stanley House. We are very sorry that you have experienced this poor level of service from our team and would like to assure you that we take your feedback very seriously and will act upon the issues that you have encountered with our staff. We do hope...

Manchester
Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

This place is the most special, wonderful place on earth! Nothing compares to this hotel! We had our wedding here in November 2015, and our guests are still talking about the wonderful venue, food, and staff. We couldn't fault anything, the staff are exceptional, we became so fond of the lovely gentleman that looked after us in the restaurant I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jojojvs
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind comments. We were honoured to have the opportunity to host your wedding here at Stanley House and it is so pleasing to hear that you had such a special day that you are already looking forward to returning to us for your 1st Anniversary. We certainly look forward to seeing you again.

Tenby, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

The food here is really tasty and very reasonable price. It feels like luxury from the minute you enter,and all the staff are terrific nothing is too much trouble for them.I will definitely be a returning customer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
DutyManager01, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent dining experience. Your kind comments are most welcome and we hope to see you again very soon.

295 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (265)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (99)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellor
7.7 km away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
973 reviews
9.5 km away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
0.9 km away
Millstone at Mellor
Millstone at Mellor
#2 of 4 in Blackburn
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 km away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
904 reviews
24.4 km away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
740 reviews
4.1 km away
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Samlesbury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stanley House Hotel & Spa is set in 54 acres of Ribble Valley countryside in Mellor, Lancashire, Stanley House Hotel is a stunning, award-winning hotel. With 30 first-class bedrooms, unrivalled wedding and conference facilities, the stylish Grill on the Hill restaurant, the hugely popular Mr Fred's bar and lounge and a world-class spa, Stanley House is truly a hotel like no other. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stanley House Hotel & Spa

Address: Further Lane, Mellor BB2 7NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Mellor
Price Range: ₹ 9,901 - ₹ 17,674 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Stanley House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Hotel Mellor
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stanley House Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Windsor, California, United States
Liverpool, United Kingdom
5 months ago
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Stanley House Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 23 in the Woodland Suite was fabulous.”
  • View from room 23
  • Woodland Suite on right
  • Room 23
 of 5 bubbles RADCTurton, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The new wing is wonderful”
 of 5 bubbles frankfurness, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Beautiful country hotel. Transport is essential. Our room in the absence was quiet and had lovely views. Large room.”
 of 5 bubbles margaretwS3233VT, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Woodlands modern and easy to access rooms”
 of 5 bubbles brianmI990JG, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Woodland suite no 27 -we think is better although very different from the farm house oldie worldly style -you won't be disappointed any way”
 of 5 bubbles AJC389, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5