We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ray's Retreat Country Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gaylord
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 26: English reviews
Start your review of Ray's Retreat Country Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Never staying again this was my second time staying at rays retreat first time was great owners and housekeeping was very nice and accommodating not so much the case this time apparently it has been taken over by new owners that acted as if they had no idea what they was doing at the time of my check in room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daytonatalker
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ray's is a simple affordable family gem. It is only a mile or so from Oswego Lake south of Gaylord, MI. There are great golf courses with plenty of activities for the kids. If you enjoy winter sports there are incredible trails for snowmobiling and cross country skiing. Incredible hunting and fishing as well. Gaylord is the ideal location to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed at Ray's Retreat for a snowmobiling trip. Pro's are the location, plenty of parking and price. Con's include: The facility is outdated. I stayed in a room on the second floor. My friend stayed in a room on the 1st floor. 1st floor room was dirty. 2nd floor room was decent, but still somewhat dirty. Beds were uncomfortable. Towels...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank plzmonte
Waterford, Michigan, United States
Reviewed 16 January 2017

My snowmobile friends and I stayed at Ray's Retreat this weekend and had a great time. The new owners took over just a week or so ago and did their very best to make our stay an enjoyable one and they succeeded. This is an older facility, in fact, I stayed here when the sign out front said "Northland Inn"...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chuck C
Grand Rapids
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

Ray's Retreat has plenty of room for your truck and trailer, and another area for parking your sleds. The trail is right across the street, with a gas station about one mile away. We had a nice stay, the owner let us use the breakfast area in the evening to play cards, which was very nice so our group could...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pmt1234
Flint, Michigan
Reviewed 2 August 2015

We had a great stay here at this hidden gem. Hot breakfast was excellent and it felt like family with everyone and owners socializing. Plus you'll enjoy the bonfire pit with patio. No other hotel has this.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shawnbutz1
South Lyon, Michigan, United States
Reviewed 16 July 2015

You get exactly what you pay for. Read all the reviews below, from 5 star to 1 star and they all have merit. We rented the "80's" decor, downstairs room. It wasn't 80's decor as expalined, it was carpet from the 80's that hadn't been vacumed in 8 weeks. But we had a good idea what we were getting into,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bob W
raysretreat10, Owner at Ray's Retreat Country Inn, responded to this review

We are very sorry your expectations were not met when you stayed two nights with us. We are always very careful to explain to new customers that the downstairs rooms are 'retro' ... the older rooms. I can guarantee the room had been swept and is swept between each stay. The carpet is in need of replacement. We hope to...

Davison, Michigan
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The hotel from the outside looks like a hotel to avoid but upon entering it has some surprises. First let me say this is a hotel that charges $50.00 for a room over the July 4th weekend. So if you are expecting immaculate then go somewhere else. In reality you actually get more then you pay for. I will start...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lar3313
Reviewed 6 July 2014

When I called we were told it was one of the old rooms. This we didn't mind, but told them that it had to be clean-was assured it was. When we arrived, we confirmed we were ok with old, but had to be clean and again was assured it was. The carpet was so dirty the entire room smelled, there...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank YellowTriker
raysretreat10, Owner at Ray's Retreat Country Inn, responded to this review

We were shocked with this review. We do not do our own housekeeping. If our guests do not let us know the condition of their room we are unable to make any changes. Although after this review we are making a point of checking the rooms after they have been cleaned. Anytime someone has a problem with cleanliness we want...

Mackinac Island, Michigan
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The room was old, but clean and the beds were comfortable. We really enjoyed the hot breakfast that comes with the price of the room. We stayed 2 nights in one of the upstairs rooms. Its not bad for the price and I am fairly picky.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mscherie1

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gaylord hotels
14.9 km away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#8 of 13 in Gaylord
238 reviews
14.6 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaylord
15.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 13 in Gaylord
164 reviews
14.8 km away
Hampton Inn Gaylord
Hampton Inn Gaylord
#1 of 13 in Gaylord
430 reviews
14.1 km away
Timberly Motel
Timberly Motel
#3 of 5 in Gaylord
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Ray's Retreat Country Inn

Address: 9311 Old 27 South, Gaylord, MI 49735
Region: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Country Inn Gaylord
Gaylord Country Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ray's Retreat Country Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid room on 1st floor.”
 of 5 bubbles plzmonte, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I didn't see the upper room but apparently they are in better shape as they were built in the 90's”
 of 5 bubbles lar3313, 6 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Inspect the room before final payment. Even of you have reserved it, if it isn't clean then dispute it with the credit card company.”
 of 5 bubbles YellowTriker, 6 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Stay on the back side (East)”
 of 5 bubbles GeorgeH351, 5 Aug 2012 | Read review
4 of 4