We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
3277 Miller Road/I-75, Flint, MI 48507
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#17 of 19 hotels in Flint
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Finding an ideal budget friendly motel in Flint does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Hometown Inn (Flint), a nice option for travellers like you.

You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer air conditioning and a kitchenette, and you can stay connected during your stay as Hometown Inn (Flint) offers guests free wifi.

The motel features 24 hour front desk, a picnic area, and express check-in and check-out. Plus, Hometown Inn (Flint) offers a pool and free breakfast, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

Nearby landmarks such as Glenwood Cemetery (1.8 mi) and Kettering University (2.3 mi) make Hometown Inn (Flint) a great place to stay when visiting Flint.

While you’re here, be sure to check out some of the Mediterranean restaurants, including Badawest, Kabob, and Taboon At The Valley, all of which are a short distance from Hometown Inn (Flint).

If you’re looking for something to do, Rosa Parks Statue, UAW Sitdown Strikers' Memorial, and Genesee County War Memorial are a nice way to spend some time.

Hometown Inn (Flint) puts the best of Flint at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Tennis court
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Picnic area
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Arabic
31Reviews0Q+A9Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 5
  • 4
  • 1
  • 6
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jenni W wrote a review Nov 2019
Flint, Michigan, United States2 contributions4 helpful votes
Flint local here. This place looks decent from the outside and the staff are always nice, but it is a hotbed for crime. The police visit frequently for violent crimes, drug complaints, prostitution, and theft. CPS is a frequent flier there too because of the families that live there. This isn’t your “traditional” hotel in any of these respects. Don’t take my word for it, Google this place before booking, unless all of these things sound great to you. The county prosecutor is trying to shut it down.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Cathi_10 wrote a review Nov 2017
London, Canada15 contributions5 helpful votes
After meeting the unfriendly host at the front desk we drove over to our room. After having some trouble getting in we entered a cold room that smelled like stale cigarette smoke. We immediately turned the heat on, which took about an hour to warm the room to a comfortable temperature, and was noisy. Then we took a look around. The bathroom was dirt. The cover had been broken off the fan, and the interior was disgusting - dark cobwebs. The toilet was angled awkwardly towards the wall, and the bathroom taps had the hot and cold backwards. TV was old, which was OK - it worked, but there were no batteries in the remote control. This motel allows dogs and the room next door had two or three loud ones. Wallpaper ripped or with holes all over the place. The light fixtures had quite a bit of dark dust on them - evidence that it had been quite some time since they were properly cleaned. WiFi didn't work very well.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Make sure you look at the room before you commit yourself! You might change your mind and stay...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Kim B wrote a review Aug 2017
Rose City, Michigan1 contribution1 helpful vote
Sadly I had to stay there for a month because my power got shut off. Room 410 is absolutely disgusting the only reason why they will not kick them out is because the father works there. There is a 15-year-old daughter there that does nasty things and makes people do disgusting things and I know you can't make someone do something but she but when your life is threaten then you kind of don't have a say so. I would not stay there if I would known all this. I hope all of you see this and I hope all of you just go to the red roof Inn or a different place. They are rude there the staff, the management, the room service and how they say you have free breakfast in the morning yeah OK.... best you get is a donut or cold cereal or a bagel but you only get to pick one so like I said your best, bet is to spend a little more and go somewhere else. There was a guy I talk to when I was there he checked himself inn and he checked right out because it was so nasty if you ask for a non-smoking room they don't do it people smoke in their rooms and it smells like their chainsmokers so I advise you and for your children sake to go to a different place oh and also there was a woman there prostituting. That's the kind of stuff they allowed there. They don't care what it is as long as money is involved, and to top it all off you don't get your money back, so no refunds especially with debit card. I'm sorry to be honest but this is the truth and I had to stay there for a month sadly
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from AndyHometown, Manager at Hometown Inn (Flint)
Responded 20 Sep 2017
hello kim, we are sorry you had problems during your stay with us, i assure you that any room staying here must follow the rules of the hotel or they will be asked to leave regardless of who they are, if my staff was rude i also apologize for this, i will speak with them and make them aware of this review in order to correct it, we mention on the reg card you sign at check in and on the board on the lobby wall that we off free donuts and coffee, we do not say free breakfast with that said we do have 3 different types of donuts to choose from, as for the guest you say checked in and out because the hotel is nasty, i will have to look into that as i do not recall that, if you would like you can contact me at the hotel to go over your stay in more detail and i will see what i can do to help you out, it is michigan law for guests not to smoke in the rooms, some guests break the rules and do it anyways and if caught they are asked to leave, we do have a special very expensive odor eliminator to take care of rooms that have been smoked in however which destroys any odors, we do offer a refund as stated in the registration card you read and sign, we have a 15 minute no refund policy so you have a chance to check your room and make sure it is to your liking, most hotels in the area have a strict no refund period policy but we are one of the few around this area to offer a 15 minute no refund policy as we are confident you will like your room and if you happen to run into any maintence issues anytime during your stay we have on call 24 hour maintenance men to help fix any issues, if you would like to email me and speak to me directly on here please go ahead so we can get these issues resolved for you, have a great day!
Read more
MGoBlue64 wrote a review Jul 2017
Elloree, South Carolina1 contribution3 helpful votes
I stayed at Hometown Inn on Miller Road in Flint, MI for four nights while I was in town for my uncle’s funeral. I checked in without any issues, but when I opened the room to my door, I quickly realized why they only charged me $45 per night, including all taxes. I was told it was an old Howard Johnson’s Motor Lodge, but old doesn’t describe it. All of the furniture looked as if it was from the 1970s and the smell of smoke was horrible. Odd thing though, there wasn’t an ash tray anywhere in the room. I never checked to see what the smoking policy was, but I’d say at best, it’s a “smokem if you gottem” rule. The TV was an old tube type, and it seemed to lack a lot of the channels it should be showing. There was an HBO guide on my bedside table, but I don’t believe HBO was available. The room did not have any kind of closet or anything to hang my clothes from, so I had to resort to hanging everything from the towel hook behind the bathroom door. One of the dresser drawers was missing, but I guess in a way that made it easier to get stuff out of the drawer below when I needed it. I never realized how bad all of my clothing smelled until after I had checked out and on the ride back home to Florida right after the funeral I stopped at a store to change clothes into something more comfortable. I went to put a t-shirt on and the smell of smoke was horrible. What was even worse was the fact that this shirt was hanging in the middle of all of the rest of the clothing I had to hang in the bathroom. When I finally returned home the next day, I checked all of my unused clothes and realized everything smelled of smoke. I had to was it all. I can only imagine what my family thought when they were hugging me all week at the funeral home. I did, on several occasions, notice the unmistakable smell of pot when I passed people on my way to and from the front office to partake in the morning free breakfast that consisted of commercially produced donuts and instant coffee. There were always a few people smoking it on my other trips up front. When I checked in, the clerk didn’t inform me of any of the site’s policies. On my first morning, I stopped up front and requested that they only change my towels as making the bed would be a waste of time. The clerk wrote it down on a note and told me she’d let housekeeping know. When I returned around lunchtime, I saw several housekeepers in my building (it’s an old motor lodge, so there are several buildings). They hadn’t made it to my room yet, I thought, so I left again and returned around dinnertime. When I walked in my room, the same pile of towels I left on the floor were still there. I went to the desk and told the clerk, a different one, and she said she could give me a couple pool towels. The next day, I decided to not say anything and just let the housekeepers do their thing. When I returned late in the afternoon, I again found my pile of towels in the same place I left them. Again, I went to the front office and I was told they should have done full service that day. I questioned what she meant, and she handed me a form letter explaining their policy. It seems they only do each room Mondays and Thursdays. I was never told that when I checked in, and this letter is not posted anywhere in the office. This time the maintenance man got me a full set of towels for the day. He told me to leave all the used ones outside the door the next morning and the housekeepers would get the hint. They did, and late in the afternoon one of them did stop by and give me another full set of towels. Not once in my stay was my trash picked up, room cleaned, bed made, or anything else you’d expect from even the cheapest motel. Also, when I told my relatives where I was staying, they were horrified and told me to move to somewhere safer. I was born and raised in Flint and this location used to be safe, so I stayed there. The place did have WiFi, if you don't mind it starting and stopping all of the time and giving you low signal strength while you're using it. I can only hope that it was truly secure. The room was quiet though, so I’ll give them that. It was set off the road enough that you didn’t notice traffic. That is the only good thing I can say about this place. I cannot stress enough how much I Do Not recommend this place. Stay away, spend the extra few dollars and stay somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else if you can. There isn't a "good" room as far as I'm...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Rashard B wrote a review Apr 2017
1 contribution1 helpful vote
My wife and i checked in on thursday i came way from Atlanta got here bout 1030pm i immediately checked the room and discovered wall paper tearing unsafe floors very atrocious smell. The bathroom was not a pretty site my bed spreads were bloody and stained. I presumed to lysol the room til in the morning. When i woke up i heard some type of noise in the bathroom area. Seem like an animal under the sink area so i went directly to front desk. I asked to be removed by the manager Andy he told maintenance to check it out. As the maintenance man assumed to check he went to basement as i waited for 10mins. Andy told me it was a cat they always get in the rooms!!!! I wanted to be removed since Thursday and been in the same room and its been nearly a week. The animal is still in the room which i complained regularly since my stay. This is the most ghetto unprofessional establishment ive ever been to. The room reminded me of jail i honestly wouldve rather went to jail. Ill never ever come here again!!! Bad business and terrible management!!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Sheryl M wrote a review Feb 2017
47 contributions5 helpful votes
My husband and i went for a concert at Machine Shop and stayed here. The hot tub looked like it would fall threw the floor. The shower in the bathroom did not work so i had to wash my hair in the tub.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
lbrien45 wrote a review Dec 2016
Flint, Michigan1 contribution2 helpful votes
the tubs have to be plugged with a wash rag,the wall paper peeling and paint peeling you wont get the towels you need,coat rack crooked,so dissatisfied with this room and unsafe the had a bust across from my room i paid a month now i regret it wont reconmend it to anyone
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
David U wrote a review Nov 2016
3 contributions3 helpful votes
I made the mistake of staying here after reading the misleading reviews and descriptions on the web. I checked in at 12:00 AM. There were prostitutes hanging around the parking lots and standing in the doorways to their rooms. Even more disturbing were the abundance of toddlers roaming around the parking lot at that hour. There were people hiding out in dark, remote areas of the parking lot that I can only guess were pimps or drug dealers. The first non-smoking room I was assigned to was absolutely disgusting. It smelled like a thousand wet ashtrays. The carpet had hundreds of cigarette burns. The bed was broken, the sheets were stained and old, and there were cockroaches. Yes, cockroaches. Paint was peeling, the walls were falling apart, the shower and bathroom floor had black mold. I can handle a cheap room, but this place was so far beyond the worst place I have ever seen. To make it worse, after I saw the condition of the room I went to the front desk to request another room. I was assigned a second room that was even worst than the first. The maintenance guy quickly went and sprayed the room with some horrible orange-smelling stuff to cover up the cigarette smell before I arrived which was even more nauseating. I requested yet another room, which ended up being the worst of all. After all this, I requested a cancellation, because honestly I would have rather slept in my car. The manager refused to give me a refund because "technically" I had been checked in for more than 15 minutes. Never mind that I had been carting my luggage to three different rooms for the last HOUR, at 1:00 in the morning, after being exhausted from driving all day, because their rooms were so gross. Buyer beware. If you're actually going to stay here, CHECK YOUR ROOM BEFORE YOU SIGN THE AGREEMENT, because they won't refund your money if you're there more than 15 minutes. Hmmmm. I wonder why. Maybe it has to do with the abundance of prostitutes. I snapped some pictures to show my wife. I deleted most of them (I wish I hadn't) but found the pictures below in the trash. The picture of the bathroom is how it was when I checked in - with someone else's urine in it. The picture of the stove shows the fire hazard condition it was it, with the burner broken and sitting next to electrical conduit. I wish I had taken other pictures. These don't do it justice. Honestly. This is not a safe place. It is unhealthy and unsanitary. Don't even think of staying here with kids.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Don't choose any rooms.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Davin R wrote a review Sep 2016
Florida, New York5 contributions5 helpful votes
The good news is the staff is very friendly. Also the water pressure was good. I have stayed in a lot of places both good and bad and this may have been the worst. I was booked for two nights. I stayed one. The next morning I left with all of my stuff and stayed at a friend's house. They told me they will be doing a major renovation in a few months. Let's hope they do. Even if they redid all of the rooms and remodeled everything they would still need to rethink the clientele. I came back from work at 12:30 AM to a guy sitting in his car blasting rap music filled with expletives while his two little children climbed all over him. There were other little kids running around in the parking lot at least until 1:30 AM. At some point you need to decide if you are motel or a half way house and embrace that decision.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from AndyHometown, General Manager at Hometown Inn (Flint)
Responded 23 Sep 2016
sorry for the troubles you had staying with us, we are consistently going through are rooms making fixes and upgrades to keep the hotel up to date, i am very sorry someone was blasting music, you can contact me any time and i will be sure to give you a discount, please know that if you ever have a problem with your room or with someone being noisy, all you have to do is dial 0 on the room phone and we will take care of it instantly, we also have a 3 strike policy where if you cause a disturbance after 2 warnings then the 3rd time you will be asked to leave, we never tell what room is reporting them also so you can feel safe knowing it is all private, the staff and i work really hard to keep this motel in good shape and keep all our guests happy, i hope you will reconsider your rating and give us another shot, have a blessed day!
Read more
Jess A wrote a review Mar 2016
Flint, Michigan1 contribution2 helpful votes
I stayed a month's. Very comfortable beds,Wi-Fi and the staff were all very friendly. My dogs all four were very happy here. The maintenance men were great (paul))as was the front desk an the housekeeping. The manager was awesome. Definitely staying again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If u have pets you want close to the pets walk.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from AndyHometown, Manager at Hometown Inn (Flint)
Responded 11 Sep 2016
Thank you for the kind review, we will be sure to keep up the good work!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$45 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hometown inn (flint) hotel flint
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganFlint
NUMBER OF ROOMS
135
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hometown Inn (Flint)
Which popular attractions are close to Hometown Inn (Flint)?
Nearby attractions include Red Apple Fireworks (0.6 km), AMF Town N Country Lanes (0.3 km), and Tom & Bea Nobles Performance Hall (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hometown Inn (Flint)?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Hometown Inn (Flint)?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Hometown Inn (Flint)?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hometown Inn (Flint)?
Conveniently located restaurants include Italia Gardens of Flint, Olive Garden Italian Restaurant, and Famous Dave's Bar-B-Que.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hometown Inn (Flint)?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Hometown Inn (Flint)?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hometown Inn (Flint)?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Arabic.
Are there any historical sites close to Hometown Inn (Flint)?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Applewood Estate (6.7 km) and Whaley House Museum (5.9 km).
Is Hometown Inn (Flint) accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.