We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
11730 S Lacore Rd, Empire, MI 49630-9403
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Travelocity$162
Booking.com$163
Hotels.com$162
Priceline$163
FindHotel$162
Agoda.com$163
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (58)
Room & Suite (26)
Pool & Beach (5)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#2 of 3 hotels in Empire
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Stay in our brand new 20 guest room hotel! Located only 200 ft from The Sleeping Bear Dunes Headquarters. Our Deluxe King and 2 Queen Beds will provide you with all the comfort you need after a long day of playing in the great out doors. You'll love our premium beds, spacious rooms and friendly staff. This is the finest place to stay on the Leelanau Peninsula! Don't forget our annex located across the street! Our original Lakeshore Inn with 12 quaint one of a kind guest rooms. Staying here you'll feel laid back like a local with an easy walk to all the local shops, restaurants and beach.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Vending machine
Boating
Canoeing
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Hiking
Skiing
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Patio
Tennis court offsite
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
24-hour check-in
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
707Reviews7Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 360
  • 212
  • 82
  • 29
  • 24
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Robert G L wrote a review Sep 2022
6 contributions1 helpful vote
New motel. Attractive, clean rooms, plenty of space. Good fridge and microwave. Keurig coffee maker worked one morning but not the next. No breakfast in Empire so bring your own. The nearby Empire Bluffs trail is beautiful and not too long. In the evening, visit the village beach to watch the sunset.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Mick K wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
We stayed here in September for a long weekend away and enjoyed the cleanliness and proximity to Sleeping Bear Dunes. Within minutes we were travelling on the scenic drive to see sunset over Lake Michigan. Room was very clean and we did not feel cramped in as the room had plenty of space to spread out in
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
NJ2012travel wrote a review Sep 2022
Boulder9 contributions11 helpful votes
Staying at this motel was the worst experience my husband and I ever had traveling. We arrived at the motel in the evening after check in hours and had a key waiting for us. Shortly after getting all of our stuff into the room we realized that there was a pair of grey, dirty mens underwear balled up on top of a shelf in the bathroom (and the underwear were sitting on top of a pillow that was on the shelf). I called the office number right away and left a message saying that there’s a pair of dirty underwear in the room and that leads me to have a lack of confidence that the room is clean. I noted that we were going to sleep and would discuss this in the morning. As we were getting into bed, someone started banging on the door. We opened the door and a woman was there - she never gave us her name - she came into the room screaming that she was the manager who had personally cleaned the room for 2 and a half hours and there’s no way there’s dirty underwear in the room. I said that’s a tough situation because there in fact is dirty underwear in the room. She asked us to show her it and we did and she said ok, she’s human and maybe she made a mistake. But she was still screaming at us and being hostile and saying you don’t know what summer I’ve had here and what kind of messes people leave me to clean up! She asked us what we “wanted” because of the underwear in the room and I said - nothing just for you to go, but the real problem here isn’t just the underwear, but how you’re handling this coming in here and screaming at us like you did. I said that wasn’t ok and that it was really stressful and upsetting. She yelled some more and on her way to storm out of the room she said that she thought that it was us who left the dirty underwear. Then she slammed the door. We were in shock and really uncomfortable now staying there because we felt this was a very unreasonable reaction and she had a key to our room (and no way for us to lock it from the inside). There was a note in the room that the staff can enter your room at any time - even if you have your do not disturb sign on - so given how insane this response/reaction was from management about a reasonable complaint of dirty underwear in the room and a request to discuss it in the am, we were concerned about staying there and about leaving our belongings there. And although she said she had cleaned the room for 2.5 hours prior to our arrival, not only did she miss the dirty underwear, but the floors were very dirty - when you walked on them your socks were black and when we used a bath towel to shuffle around the bathroom to keep our feet clean, the towels were black with dirt. There are other reviews for this motel about the management being hostile or unreasonable. I think that every hotel/motel has some bad reviews, but when the reviews are about how people are being treated by the management, then that’s a reason for people not to stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Linda Turner, General Manager at Empire Lakeshore Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
This review is ridiculous. Are you sure you don’t have your hotels mixed up from your trip? As you can see from our other reviews, our rooms are “super clean”. We don’t leave dirty anything behind, including dirty floors or dirty towels. We also do not yell at our guests. Management checks ALL rooms prior to check-in to be sure rooms are clean & spotless upon guest arrival.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sue wrote a review Sep 2022
Byron Center, Michigan2 contributions
First time staying here over Labor Day weekend. Our room was very clean - that's a priority of mine. Very simple and basic accommodations but very comfortable space in our 2-queen bed room. Great location for beach sunsets and Sleeping Bear Dunes. Nothing fancy here and no breakfast but we enjoyed going into Glen Arbor for coffee @Rinco and bagels @L'Chayim Deli! Would consider staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: There isn't much choice since it's a rather small inn. No elevator so if steps are a...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Linda Turner, General Manager at Empire Lakeshore Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to let travelers know our rooms are super clean! We appreciate it very much and hope you come back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael H Troy, MI wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions
I traveled to the area primarily to hike and see the stars. This is a perfect location for both. It is also close to several other quaint towns worth exploring. The hotel is small which adds to its charm. The rooms are clean, quiet, comfortable and come with microwaves and mini- refrigerators, both of which came in handy. The staff is friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make sure my trip was comfortable and enjoyable. I have nothing but good things to say about my experience. In fact, I am making plans to go back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Linda Turner, General Manager at Empire Lakeshore Inn
Responded 21 Aug 2022
What a great review! Thank you for being so kind. 🙂 Looks like you got some great pictures on your adventures! Empire is an amazing place to stargaze! Come back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DeeDee S wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
The good, this is a very nice looking inn. Outside is very charming looking and clean. Close distance to Sleeping Bear dunes and beach. The outside patio with coffee table and chairs was very nice to sit, after a long day of sightseeing. The bad, is the guy who works or owns it, is extremely rude. We needed help with a situation and he acted like we bothered him and walked away saying “that’ll cost you”. Outdoor ice machine was broken the whole week we stayed there and we weren’t offered anything for the inconvenience. I’m pretty sure he wasn’t in a hurry to get it fixed for his guests. The cleaning ladies were very nice. However they only replenish the coffee , towels and take out trash, they don’t offer clean sheets, vacuuming or sweeping out the sand in the bathroom.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Linda Turner, General Manager at Empire Lakeshore Inn
Responded 16 Aug 2022
Hello! You forgot the part about how you broke in the window because you lost your key. The manager that came up to help you get in your room had a key … but you had already pulled the screen out and climbed in the window. As for the ice machine… it broke and we had to order a part… the part came in and we fixed it asap. 😀👍🏻 We LOVE our guests to have ice during their stay. Glad you found our housekeeping staff nice and helpful… we ALL work very hard around here to make our guests as comfortable as possible while staying at the Lakeshore Inn! 😊
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chanin G wrote a review Jul 2022
Richmond, Virginia, USA205 contributions96 helpful votes
The Empire Lakeshore Inn was a great place to stay for our visit to Sleeping Bear Dunes NP. The new building location has been very nicely appointed. The rooms are bright and cheery and clean. The decor is classic and comfortable. There is no breakfast, but tea and coffee are provided in the room with a microwave, fridge and coffee maker. There is no water view, but there is only a short drive over to a lakeshore park where you can enjoy Lake Michigan. Sleeping Bear Dunes is only about a 15 min drive from the hotel. You can walk to the NP Visitor Center, a couple of restaurants and a couple of small shops.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Linda Turner, General Manager at Empire Lakeshore Inn
Responded 16 Aug 2022
Thank you for your lovely review! We appreciate your business! ❤️
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tracey M wrote a review Jul 2022
Bluemont, Virginia478 contributions154 helpful votes
We loved this quaint hotel. The room was adorable and clean. The location was a block from the Sleeping Bear Information Center and a few blocks from Lake Michigan. We easily walked to both locations. Check-in was easy even though we arrived after hours. The hotel was quiet and as an added bonus there were several stores and restaurants within walking distance. We would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Linda Turner, General Manager at Empire Lakeshore Inn
Responded 16 Aug 2022
Thanks for your awesome review! We love that you found your room clean and adorable! 🙂. So glad you found our late arrival check-in easy! We are happy you will come stay with us again! 😊
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dreamspeaker wrote a review Jul 2022
Middleton, Wisconsin455 contributions264 helpful votes
The day we were to arrive, I got an email at noon that simply said "This is to confirm your reservation is canceled". I called immediately and the person who answered told me my card was declined and they'd been trying to call me since 8 AM. Now, this might have all been a misunderstanding, but there were a few things in this interaction that struck me the wrong way: 1) The person I spoke to was frankly rude. I felt as though I was being lectured, they were too busy to talk to me, and they did not care what my experience as a potential customer was. Having your hotel cancel on you hours before you are meant to arrive when you booked it months ahead is obviously stressful. A little kindness of tone and respect goes a long way, even if they can't fix the situation I was in. 2) My card had been working at shops and restaurants that very morning. It also worked later that same day when I paid for a new hotel room at a new place that was comparable in price. 3) The number they had been trying to call was my home number, which I obviously didn't have on vacation. I get it - this was the primary phone number I provided and it IS my primary phone number. But if I had been expecting they might try to reach me the morning of my reservation while on the road, I would have liked the online reservation form to ask for a cell phone number as well. As it was, my first indication that there was a problem was the email that arrived with no explanation. 4) Apparently they were trying to take the full payment for the room before we even arrived, IF they were attempting to take payment at all. There was nothing in their terms and conditions that indicated they do this and no other hotel I stayed at that entire week did a similar thing. 5) At the time I called, it was about 3-5 minutes after they canceled my reservation. I asked if I could provide another card to re-book the room and was told "There is nothing we can do. We're all booked up." How likely is it that someone reserved a room for that very night in the span of 3-5 minutes around noon? It just all felt very fishy to me, as if they were overbooked, or someone was desperate and offered a better rate than what I had booked ahead. Even if it wasn't fishy and was an honest miscommunication, there was no excuse for the person's tone on the phone. I would not try to stay here again. Between that conversation and the comments I see in response to bad reviews here, this is not staff I want to work with. Be aware that if you do decide to book it, they are going to charge your card before you arrive, the morning of, and then call a few times before canceling at noon if they can't reach you.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Linda Turner, General Manager at Empire Lakeshore Inn
Responded 16 Aug 2022
Yikes! I understand you are upset that your room was cancelled… but please understand, front desk personnel does not make the decision to cancel your room! We only take the brunt of it and very often are verbally abused for a guest cancellation. As you stated we tried to get a hold of you since 8 am the day of your stay. We do everything possible to get a hold of our guests if we have a declined card. Please understand, we absolutely can not hold a room after 3 PM, in the middle of the busy season without a working credit card. No hotel in this area will do that….It Is the guest’s responsibility to ALWAYS make sure the hotel you book with has a working credit card on file, or unfortunately, you will run into this problem again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David M wrote a review Jul 2022
Grand Rapids, Michigan286 contributions106 helpful votes
Final night on the road, stayed at the Empire Lakeshore Inn. We were in the newer area - very well set up. Spacious, clean, and large. Wish the WiFi had been secured - found many weren't for some reason - but used our hot spot to solve that issue. Had a great nights sleep - quiet and comfortable. Highly recommend if in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Stay in newer section
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Linda Turner, General Manager at Empire Lakeshore Inn
Responded 16 Aug 2022
We are so pleased you found your room clean and spacious and that you had a comfortable stay with us! Thank you for your 5 star review! 😊👍🏻
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$93 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Lakeshore Inn Motel
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganLeelanau CountyEmpire
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Empire Lakeshore Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Empire Lakeshore Inn?
Nearby attractions include Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore (0.1 km), Empire Bluff Trail (1.5 km), and Sleeping Bear Dunes (7.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Empire Lakeshore Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and reduced mobility rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Empire Lakeshore Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Empire Lakeshore Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Empire Lakeshore Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Shipwreck Cafe, Joe's Friendly Tavern, and Grocer's Daughter Chocolate.
Is Empire Lakeshore Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Empire.
Is Empire Lakeshore Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.