We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Gatehouse Suites East Lansing

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Gatehouse Suites East Lansing
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Gatehouse Suites East Lansing
See the most recent reviews
Showing 125: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2014

We came up from my brothers wedding and stayed in a suite. We flew in from Texas so it was nice to spread everything out in the room. We paid about $80 a night and were told at check in that you needed to request housekeeping on the weekends for a tidy. When we travel we hardly ever need it,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
Kevin S, General Manager at Gatehouse Suites East Lansing, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your time here at the Gatehouse Suites East Lansing. We try our absolute best to accommodate every one of guest to the best of our ability. Congratulations to the bride and groom! We look forward to having you with us again in the future. More 

Gladstone, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2014

We have stayed here a few times and have always had great service and accomidations. We will definately be booking a room in the future. we love the fact that the hotel is walking distance to the campus.

Helpful?
Thank Jim S
Kevin S, General Manager at Gatehouse Suites East Lansing, responded to this review

We thank you for your continued patronage to the Gatehouse Suites East Lansing. I am glad that the service you received was great. Our location is a big plus, everything you need is just a short walk away! As always, we look forward to seeing you soon. Thank you for taking the time out to review our property. More 

1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2014

Room was very large with a full sized fridge, dishwasher, microwave and electric stove. Shower was nice but toilet didn't flush well. Took 3 flushes. Fireplace was useless. Told on check-in that there wasn't any wood. Fireplace allowed huge cold air drafts which caused heat to run constantly. Lots of space, dishes, wine glasses, coffee maker. That was nice.

Helpful?
Thank Bubster12
Kevin S, General Manager at Gatehouse Suites East Lansing, responded to this review

We thank you for your continued patronage to the Gatehouse Suites East Lansing. I am glad that the service you received was great. Our location is a big plus, everything you need is just a short walk away! As always, we look forward to seeing you soon. Thank you for taking the time out to review our property. More 

Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2014

This place was a great location to be able to walk to the Michigan State campus however I would rate it as just average. We paid about $200 a night and no housekeeping was done. I guess I usually just expect that especially when paying that amount.

Helpful?
Thank 902lmm
Kevin S, General Manager at Gatehouse Suites East Lansing, responded to this review

Our hotel is in a great location, very close to MSU and many of its attractions. We have been working very hard to turn average into awesome. We'd love to have you back to experiences the changes we have made since your last stay. Thank you for your feedback as it helps us improve moving forward. It really means a... More 

Chatham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2014

My wife and I needed to be in East Lansing in early October for a last minute family matter and unfortunately it coincided with a MSU home football game. All our usual hotels were booked (at the more reliable brand hotels) and we were left with having to book a "penthouse suite" for $360 per night on the weekend. Let... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chathamjack
Kevin S, General Manager at Gatehouse Suites East Lansing, responded to this review

I am really sorry for your most recent experience here with us. It is unacceptable to drop the ball the way we did. It is never our goal to have a guest leave our property feeling taken advantage of and for that I apologize. We are working hard to ensure no other guest has to experience the same during their... More 

Travellers are raving about these East Lansing hotels

Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2014

Booked three rooms for football weekend. Our tv didn't work, WIFI didn't work, no housekeeping on weekends. Had coffee one morning but since no one comes to clean, had to go to office for coffee. Tracked in leaves from trees all around, so rooms all had leaves all over the floors and not even a broom to sweep them up.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fay G
Kevin S, General Manager at Gatehouse Suites East Lansing, responded to this review

It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay with us. With your feedback along with others we as a staff and management team are working hard to make each and every guest pleased with every stay. I am sorry you did not have a good experience. If by chance you are ever in the East Lansing area again... More 

1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2014

I stayed in what looked to be a great room. Come to find out the box spring was broken and the staff new about it. They told us they would replace it in the morning and took us until we went and complained again to receive it. When they came to fix it we realized the mattress was completely soiled... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lshourd
Kevin S, General Manager at Gatehouse Suites East Lansing, responded to this review

I am really sorry for the events that took during your most recent stay here with us. We strive to provide a comfortable, pleasant place to stay each and every time and this time we failed. We have worked long and hard to make sure maintenance and our front desk staff handles these issues in a timely manner. Again, I... More 

Algonac, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2014

We stayed in the Penthouse 2, I was amazed by how much room there was. We really appreciated that the kids had their own bedroom, and bathroom on an entirely different floor. Staff was very friendly and helpful, room was clean, pretty landscaping and view of the river. Great location, 1/2 mile from the East dorms at Michigan State. Some... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer G
Kevin S, General Manager at Gatehouse Suites East Lansing, responded to this review

I am pleased that you were satisfied during your time here with us. We appreciate the recommendation and look forward to you staying with us again in the future. Thank you for the kind words. More 

Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

My partner and I stayed here as we were moving him into East Lansing for a new job. It was a great place to land -- not fancy, and could use a little buffing (and the landscaping could use some attention, but the staff was very helpful. Walking distance from a number of restaurants and pubs, and very convenient to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KirstenNC
Kevin S, General Manager at Gatehouse Suites East Lansing, responded to this review

Welcome to East Lansing! I am happy we were able to provide you guys with a comfortable place while you made your transition to Lansing. Thank you for taking the time out to share your thoughts on our property. More 

Duncanville, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

The suite was awesome - everything we needed and having the extra room to move around in was great. Bed was good - on the firm side for sure. Room smelled good, was clean and updated. We were there the Thurs/Fri nights leading up to MSU fall move in. The hotel was quiet and the staff was very nice. House... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Laura V
Kevin S, General Manager at Gatehouse Suites East Lansing, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed the room. We have made it a point to make sure that our ground are well kept. It pleases me to know that overall you were pleased with you stay. We will be thrilled to have you here with us again. Thank you for your review. More 

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Lansing
1.8 km away
East Lansing Marriott at University Place
1.2 km away
TownePlace Suites East Lansing
TownePlace Suites East Lansing
#6 of 10 in East Lansing
95 reviews
5.1 km away
Hampton Inn East Lansing
Hampton Inn East Lansing
#1 of 10 in East Lansing
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Residence Inn East Lansing
Residence Inn East Lansing
#4 of 10 in East Lansing
30 reviews
4.2 km away
Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U
4.1 km away
University Quality Inn
University Quality Inn
#16 of 26 in Lansing
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Gatehouse Suites East Lansing

Address: 1600 E Grand River Ave, East Lansing, MI 48823-4905
Region: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > East Lansing
Price Range: ₹ 6,087 - ₹ 9,507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gatehouse Suites East Lansing 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Gatehouse Suites East Lansing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatehouse Suites East Lansing Hotel East Lansing
Residence Inn East Lansing
East Lansing Residence Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gatehouse Suites East Lansing staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask to see your room before you check in. Make sure everything is in working order before you unpack.”
  • Broken door frame
  • Broken door frame to bedroom
  • more broken door frames
  • When they tried to fix the door frame
  • Bugs and yuck behind the blinds
  • Loft bathroom
  • bathroom tiles
  • Loft bath - lots of storage
 of 5 bubbles N5109Q, 18 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Stay away from Studio, be prepared to go out for breakfast.”
 of 5 bubbles OnTheRoad706, 10 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Ground floor is the best, in my opinion.”
 of 5 bubbles ForTheStory, 25 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Second floor suites may be a problem in the winter if there is a lot of ice and snow.”
 of 5 bubbles arbie88, 8 Feb 2015 | Read review
“go somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles tamara101972, 21 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay