We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

872 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 859: English reviews
Bowling Green, Ohio
Reviewed 17 April 2016

We'e stayed several times to see shows in Detroit, since most of the theaters are walking distance. It is a great location, the rooms are nice, and the staff is always friendly. The bar could stay open later, but we've enjoyed post-show drinks there several times (and often, cast members show up as well!).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank triciagreg
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and choosing to stay at our location for shows! We're thrilled that our location, accommodations and staff made it so enjoyable. We will definitely take your comment about the bar hours under advisement. We hope to be at your service again for the next show you attend.

Tecumseh
Reviewed 16 April 2016

Best place to stay for Opening Day in Detroit! Walking distance to park, Ford Field, Greektown, and the Casino. Courteous staff and very clean rooms. Have stayed numerous times and will continue to do so.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robyn E
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you Robyn for taking the time to write a review and choosing to stay with us again! We're glad that our location, accommodations and staff keep you coming back to our location. We love forward to being at your service again soon!

Memphis, Michigan, United States
Reviewed 14 April 2016

On April 1, 2016, we went downtown and stayed at The Hilton Garden Inn. We had an issue in the past with one of our rooms not being as clean as we would have expected, after a tripadvisor review... and a response from management, it looks like they have remedied the problem. We decided to give it another try and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BeaEllen W
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write another review and choosing to staying with us again. We're so thrilled we were able to resolve the issue and make your stay for a birthday Red Wings game so enjoyable. We can't wait to be at your service again!

Saginaw, United States
Reviewed 13 April 2016

The staff in this hotel have what's called integrity: They offer the same positive, high-quality customer service day in and day out. It's a great place to stay. We enjoyed our stay at the Hilton Garden Inn in Downtown Detroit. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, comfortable, and well maintained. Parking was no higher than at...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne W
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you Adrienne for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review. We're thrilled that our location, accommodations and staff made your stay excellent. We strive to provide the best service to our guests and are so happy our customer service stood out for you. We can't wait to be at your service again in...

Detroit area
Reviewed 13 April 2016

We love to use this hotel when we stay downtown Detroit. Perfect location! An easy walk to all venues. Clean and welcoming. Great staff! Rooms are spacious and ooooh, the Comfy beds! Nice bar- inside and out.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tammitupper
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review. We're glad our location, accommodations and staff made your stay great. We hope to be at your service again in the future.

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 13 April 2016 via mobile

Well, you can't go wrong with Hilton, but this hotel is a bit old and when I was checking in at the front desk I met some strange people that were in the lobby. other than that I got a very big room and a nice bath and I'm satisfied. Oh and the location is great too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Assiazar
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and choosing to stay with us. We're glad that the accommodations made your stay great. We hope that you'll stay with us again in the future.

Holly, Michigan
Reviewed 12 April 2016

Have stayed here every year for Opening Day and have received wonderful service. Last year the bar was not open the night before OD but this year it was. had a great time there talking to all the other guests. Perfect location for anytime you needed to run back to the room and located near all the good places to...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl Anne s
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you Cheryl for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review. We're glad that you stayed with us again for opening day and the restaurant being open helped your stay be great! We hope to see you again for another tigers game.

New Baltimore
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

Hotel is located in a great spot downtown. Unfortunately our room was looking a bit old with paint peeling on the bathroom ceiling. Also had hair on the bathroom floor when we checked in and the tub did not drain well when we used the shower. Asked a housekeeper to have someone look at it when we left for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason T
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you Jason for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review. We're glad that you enjoyed our location. We do apologize for the condition of the room and the issues that occurred. We will be sharing this with our staff so we can better serve our guests and make their stays more enjoyable. We...

Springfield, Ill, United States
Reviewed 10 April 2016

Went to a Red Wings game for a father/son weekend. Didn't spend much time at the Hotel but the staff was great and had lot's of energy, made us feel right at home and fun. Without that I wouldn't have done this survey! Hats off to the front desk staff, they represented the brand well.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
 Report
Helpful?
Thank T M
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review. We're thrilled that our staff made your father son weekend so great! We will definitely share this with the front desk! We hope you'll stay with us again in the future!

Lynwood, Illinois
Reviewed 6 April 2016

Our stay was great! Breakfast was good but too pricey. However, I did not find out that there is only parking option. Valet parking was $22 per day, that surprised me. Otherwise, everything was great!

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tajuana R
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you Tajuana for taking the time to write a review and choosing to stay with us. We're glad that you overall stay was so great! Since our hotel is located in downtown, parking is limited and does come at a price. We do not own the lot and do purchase the parking spaces for our guests. We are the...

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.5 km away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.4 km away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
1.3 km away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
1,047 reviews
1.0 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown hotel is located in downtown Detroit. Set in the heart of Harmonie Park, the hotel is surrounded by shops, restaurants and entertainment venues such as Ford Field and Comerica Park. Local businesses and corporate offices within walking distance to our hotel in Detroit, Michigan include Quicken Loans, Ernst and Young, PricewaterhouseCoopers and Compuware. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown

Address: 351 Gratiot Ave, Detroit, MI 48226-2206
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Price Range: ₹ 11,594 - ₹ 22,206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown Hotel Detroit
Detroit Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Detroit
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Detroit
#7 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#7 Business Hotel in Detroit
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors (Hilton Honors) are better but you must remind staff if you are HH person”
 of 5 bubbles GordonChicago, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Recommend you request a room off the 2 main streets in front of the hotel for a more quiet experience.”
 of 5 bubbles deborahsG967FY, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“high floor”
 of 5 bubbles jackiesamy, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“an interior room away from Gratiot is best”
 of 5 bubbles I6043PJwilliams, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not on the street side. Soooooo noisy”
 of 5 bubbles Debeatle, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5