We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

506 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 486: English reviews
New York, NY
Reviewed 14 June 2014

From your first encounter with the surliest, most indifferent desk staff you've ever met, to the slamming doors, groaning service elevators that shake the walls of your room, to the 20 dollars/day enforced valet parking...this will definitely be one of the more unpleasant stays and worst nights of sleep you've had for a price bordering on extortion. Avoid.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank duggernaut
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this review

Duggernaut, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay. We truly value your input and very much rely on you to help us improve. We strive to exceed the expectations of every guest who stays with us, and regretfully in your case we failed to meet that criteria. Your willingness to...

Ankeny, Iowa
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Kind of sucks to pay $20/night for parking when your car isn't even kept on the property. Checked out the pool but it's kind of awkward; top floor, small, and there's no hot tub. Room was fairly clean though, and breakfast was ok, so overall stay was fine.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jbsmjs430
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this review

Jbsmjs430, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay. We truly value your input and very much rely on you to help us improve. Please know that our valet team works closely with local garages to provide secure parking to all of our guests, I hope that you found the retrieval...

Boyne City, Michigan
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were traveling with our 2 kids and two of their friends. We booked two rooms, a room with 2 double beds and a Suite with a "separate bedroom that has a door and be closed off from the sofa sleeper in the living room". However when we checked in, the suite we received was one large space without a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Snowwman
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this review

Snowwman, Thank you for choosing us as your hotel during your last visit. It was a pleasure to have you and your family at our hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies that the room you were provided did not meet the description that you had expected. I am disappointed that our team did not exhibit their usual high level of...

Big Sky, Montana
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I have always stayed at Greektown in downtown D, but after staying at this hotel I will never stay anywhere else in Detroit. Great price, great valet parking (Walter rocked!), and great staff. The front desk staff and breakfast attendants were amazing! Can not give this hotel enough credit! Thanks for a great stay!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank anna91182
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this review

Anna, Thank you for choosing us as your hotel during your last visit. We certainly do strive to provide all of our guests with the level of service that you described you received during your stay and I will certainly make sure I acknowledge the entire staff for their efforts. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon. Enjoy...

Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel for one night with a friend. We are from Canada and were in town for a concert and had never been to Detroit before. The hotel was clean and comfortable and in an amazing location. We were very close to everywhere we needed to be downtown. All of the staff that we dealt with at...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank BaileyPeart
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this review

Bailey, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us. I am so pleased that you found the location to be perfect for your visit. We were truly humbled by your gracious comments regarding our hotel service team. All of the staff takes great pride in knowing that their hard work and dedication...

Georgia
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed there for a weekend for a wedding. The staff was friendly as well as the valet. They were helpful on information about where to go as well as nice overall. Now, I did deal with one person that was a bit rude or gave the impression that we were not worth his time, but the rest of staff...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank blsoler
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this review

Blsoler, Thank you for choosing us as your hotel during your last visit. We try to make everyone’s visit memorable by providing the best comfort, the friendliest service, and the best of amenities; and it’s always great to hear from our guests on how we’re doing. Thank you for your feedback about breakfast, we will look into the quality and...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alain S
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this review

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed here for one night last week. Every employee was friendly, helpful and professional. The lobby is a bit small, but nicely maintained. My room was on the 6th floor and was very quiet. It was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was a bit sparse and there was not coffee in the lobby 24 hrs as advertised,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 88Jacqui888
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this review

Jacqui, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We strive to provide the best possible service and guest experiences every day, and it’s always great to hear from our guests on how we’re doing. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Enjoy today! Emily P Dailey Portfolio Reputation Manager - Holiday Inn Express Detroit edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com

Harrisville, Michigan
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is the worst Holiday Inn I've ever stayed in. Rude front desk staff. Dirty room. Very noisy shower ... rattling pipes and almost no hot water. Rude valet staff. No coffee in lobby, coffee in all other Holiday Inns are available 24hrs a day ... not here, not even asking for some at the front desk. Stay at the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Razinski
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this review

Razinski, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay. We truly value your input and very much rely on you to help us improve. We strive to exceed the expectations of every guest who stays with us, and regretfully in your case we failed to meet that criteria. Please accept my...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I stayed for the weekend a couple of weeks ago while visiting the city. I was initially a bit unsure about the location since it was my first time in Detroit, and, frankly, I knew very little about the area as a whole. The hotel is located downtown, and sure there are a fair number of closed businesses/empty buildings in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FB2000
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this review

FB 2000, Your fellow travelers find guest reviews very helpful, so thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We pride ourselves on impeccable service, and your feedback is an invaluable tool for us to continue improving. Please know that we will use your comments about the room furniture, bathtub, and breakfast to continue improving. We thank you...

180 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (113)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.1 km away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
0.9 km away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
0.8 km away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Downtown Detroit is a first class hotel that is ideal for travelers who are visiting for either business or leisure purposes. In addition to our finely appointed guest rooms, we offer fully equipped suites with full kitchens for extended stays. Some of our outstanding amenities include a state-of-the-art fitness center, indoor heated pool, 24-hour business center, and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Don't forget to join us for breakfast at our newly updated Express Start Breakfast Bar. We now offer a selection of hot entrees! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Downtown Detroit also offers valet parking for your convenience at fee of $27.00 per car per night, the lowest priced hotel parking in the downtown area. Located in the heart of downtown Detroit, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is within walking distance of Cobo Convention Center, Joe Louis Arena (Detroit Red Wings) and the new MGM Grand Casino. The hotel is also positioned perfectly near the People Mover, Greektown Casino, Motor City Casino, Detroit Opera House, Fox Theatre, Hard Rock Cafe, Comerica Park (Detroit Tigers), and Ford Field (Detroit Lions). For the busy executive, the hotel is located only 1-2 blocks from Compuware World Headquarters, DTE Energy, and AT&T, just to name a few. The General Motors World Headquarters, famously known as the Renaissance Center, is located less than one mile from the hotel and is open to the public during weekdays for tours and shopping. Visitors can even venture off across the border into Canada by crossing the Ambassador Bridge or the tunnel into Windsor, Canada. For your next visit to Detroit, Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites of Downtown Detroit! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown

Address: 1020 Washington Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226-2613
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Price Range: ₹ 10,082 - ₹ 17,939 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown Hotel Detroit
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan, United States
over a year ago
Ottawa
2 months ago
Ottawa

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“stay at another hotel - best advice”
 of 5 bubbles 983stevey, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Continental breakfast served daily”
 of 5 bubbles patriciawD568MR, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We have stayed in a couple different rooms and they were all great.”
 of 5 bubbles travmia, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“High Floors are nice!”
 of 5 bubbles 665terrib, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Pool is on the top floor - perfectly good pool; I just advise against getting a room up on the same floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 220parisl, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5