We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Townsend Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Townsend Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

687 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 683: English reviews
Start your review of The Townsend Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

At 4:00 pm my room had not been "made up" I went to the service desk and told them, they assured me the room would be attended to very quickly, I went out for a meeting and got back at 5:00pm, The room was still not attended to. I went out for Dinner at 6:00 and again told the Front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tom3928
far away
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Modest exterior with an elegant faux-"London club" interior. Cheerful, helpful, thoughtful service (learn your name and use it) service. Roomy, well appointed modern rooms, large marble bathrooms. Good location, walk to shops and restaurants . Would be my first call if ever in town again. Good restaurant, will review separately.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shutterlab
Steven K, Managing Director at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this review

Dear shutterlab, Thank you for choosing to stay with The Townsend Hotel in the Birmingham, Michigan/Metro Detroit area. We appreciate your kind words on our hotel's facilities and service and look forward to the opportunity of having you return in the near future. Sincerely, Steven Kalczynski Managing Director The Townsend Hotel

Palm Beach Gardens
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel for Easter weekend. Staff was very accommodating. We had a cake from their bakery for 85th birthday for mom. It was delicious. We were fit into Easter brunch as it was sold out. We had wonderful table in front of fireplace. Everyone loved it. We have numerous future visits planned for the holidays. We previously...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bella R
Steven K, Managing Director at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this review

Dear shutterlab, Thank you for choosing to stay with The Townsend Hotel in the Birmingham, Michigan/Metro Detroit area during the Easter period. We appreciate your kind words on our hotel's facilities, service and our Easter Brunch and look forward to the opportunity of having you return in the near future. Sincerely, Steven Kalczynski Managing Director The Townsend Hotel

Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great location, beautiful rooms and top notch service. A bit pricey but there are often specials. The rugby Grille has really good food and a cool old club vibe. Ron is the best server in the land. Reciprocity with some local gyms give you access to classes and pools as well.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank S6355ZGpeggyd
Steven K, Managing Director at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this review

Dear shutterlab, Thank you for choosing to stay with The Townsend Hotel in the Birmingham, Michigan/Metro Detroit area. We appreciate your kind words on our hotel's facilities, service (especially Ron!) and our Rugby Grille and look forward to the opportunity of having you return in the near future. Sincerely, Steven Kalczynski Managing Director The Townsend Hotel

Macatawa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a great hotel! Quietly making your stay comfortable. Beautiful, with very nice restaurant. Very friendly. Had a suite which was spacious and very nicely decorated. Bed was fantastic! Easy to spend a nice afternoon in downtown Birmingham. Would definitely recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank doug1l
Steven K, Managing Director at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Doug1!, Thank you for choosing to stay with The Townsend Hotel in the Birmingham, Michigan/Metro Detroit area. We appreciate your kind words on our hotel's facilities, service and our Rugby Grille and look forward to the opportunity of having you return in the near future. Sincerely, Steven Kalczynski Managing Director The Townsend Hotel

Roswell, Georgia
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this hotel at the recommendation of a colleague. It is centrally located and within walking distance of lots of shops and restaurants. The room was nicely decorated and very comfortable. The staff was also welcoming and helpful during my stay. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are travelling to Detroit.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank onih2017
Steven K, Managing Director at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this review

Dear onih2017, Thank you for choosing to stay with The Townsend Hotel on your recent visit to the Birmingham, Michigan/Detroit Metro area. We appreciate so much you sharing your positive experiences on our facilities and employees and look forward to the opportunity of having you return soon. Sincerely, Steven Kalczynski Managing Director The Townsend Hotel

West Bloomfield, Michigan
Reviewed 1 week ago

The wedding was amazing . The wait staff was very accommodating to our guest. The Clancy room was the perfect venue for our intimate wedding. All of our family and friends who attended just raved about the food and service.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank annmargaret2017
Steven K, Managing Director at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this review

Dear annmargaret2017, Thank you for your kind words regarding your wedding event at The Townsend Hotel. We appreciate so much you sharing your positive experiences and look forward to having you return on your anniversary! Sincerely, Steven Kalczynski Managing Director The Townsend Hotel

Rochester, Michigan
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent experience over all. It's in an excellent area and the hotel is extremely clean. Staff was super friendly during check in and knew exactly what they were doing. No complaints and I will be revisiting!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank vdanna
Steven K, Managing Director at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this review

Dear vdanna, Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at The Townsend Hotel in "walkable", Birmingham, Michigan/Detroit Metro area. We appreciate so much you sharing your positive experiences and look forward to having you return on your anniversary! Sincerely, Steven Kalczynski Managing Director The Townsend Hotel

Utica
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

very unhappy with tv and service, i was told i ordered adult movies when i didnt and i think i was charged for a few movies when we only ordered 1 movie, we had the tv swapped out bc it kept dimming................................

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ricardoh267
Steven K, Managing Director at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ricardoh267, Thank you for letting us know of your negative experience regarding your TV and service. This type of service is usually not indicative of the fine quality of service we are known for and try to maintain. We did have a few issues with Sonifi our third party movie company provider on that day in your room. As...

Mason
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were referred to the Townsend by friends who had enjoyed. Our stay was everything they had raved about. The detail in the service and the amazing decor and elegance was something we would definitely return to enjoy again. Highly recommend..

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
Steven K, Managing Director at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jane R, Thank you for staying at The Townsend Hotel in "walkable" Birmingham, Michigan on your recent visit to visit friends in the area. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for sharing your experiences with others. We do hope to have you return again in the near future. Sincerely, Steven Kalczynski Managing Director The Townsend...

118 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
26.8 km away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#3 of 33 in Detroit
1,055 reviews
4.7 km away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
16.8 km away
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rochester
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham
27.3 km away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
24.9 km away
The Henry, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Townsend Hotel is a gem of European modern luxury, tucked away amidst the pleasing parks, sophisticated designer shops and nationally acclaimed art galleries of Birmingham. Exquisitely appointed Guest Rooms & Suites welcome you with fine furnishings, luxurious Frette beds & linens, marble bathrooms, Bose radios & the calm & privacy of a quiet suburban location. Our staff delivers gracious, thoughtful and personalized service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Townsend Hotel

Address: 100 Townsend St, Birmingham, MI 48009-6068
Region: United States > Michigan > Birmingham
Price Range: ₹ 21,781 - ₹ 30,338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Townsend Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and getaroom.com so you can book your The Townsend Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townsend Hotel Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Townsend Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Phoenix, AZ
Macon, United States
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Townsend Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher rooms, far from elevator.”
Member54321, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Inner rooms will be more quiet.”
susuberk, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“interior rooms have no traffic noise, but only view is mechanical equipment”
SarahN48824, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The rooms have balconies. Try to get a room over looking the park. My room had a view of the winter market and Christmas lighting.”
MalibuJune59, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Pick a room on the third floor is you like to exercise - the gym is here”
jbarker72, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5