We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hanover House

Hotwire.comUS$ 173*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 173*
US$ 173*
US$ 173*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hanover House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hanover House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 102: English reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2014

Came to Martha's Vineyard for first time to celebrate our anniversary. Room was very nice, spacious and quite. Bed was very comfy! We didn't bother with the free breakfast because there are so many great places in walking distances. Not a whole lot in Vineyard Haven but conveniently close to Oak Bluffs, Edgartown and only 25min to Menemsha and Gay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Berry8183
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Happy anniversary, Marcia! I sure wish you would've joined us for breakfast -- that porch is so beautiful in the morning, and I know you would've loved it. Despite the fact that we're not really fancy, we hope that you were able to experience the quaintness of Vineyard Haven at our place. We'd love to have you back if you're...

Reviewed 15 September 2014

Booked Room #3 for my parents and couldn't have been more pleased. Greeted warmly by innkeeper Steve, escorted to room and briefed on amenities upon check in. Room was absolutely adorable and clean, breakfast on porch was a nice perk. We enjoyed sitting outside on the deck. Will definitely plan a return visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SherryAM
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

It means so much to me that we were able to make you and your parents' trip so special, Sherry. That porch is gorgeous in the morning; I'm so glad you were able to take advantage of it. We really hope to see you back soon for more vacations in the future! It'd be our pleasure. Happy travels, Steve

Reviewed 6 September 2014 via mobile

For the first time in years we made a reservation without checking the trip advisor reviews first - big mistake. We received a phone call on Thursday (check in day) asking what time we would be arriving so they had the room ready for us, we thought this was a nice and considerate thing to do.... You would think however...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Amanda G
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Hey Amanda, It hurts me that you think of us as laughable and disgusting, for we never intend to come across that way. I'm very sorry you got that impression. In regards to the "gone to the beach" sign: I have an extremely hardworking staff that works multiple jobs, so I decided to start calling all our reservations to let...

Ipswich, Massachusetts
Reviewed 3 September 2014

I have been coming to Martha's Vineyard for 52 years. After camping for 33 years, renting a house for 17, we have spent the last three happily at the Hanover House. Steve, the owner, could not be more gracious. We are there the busiest week of the year now, Illumination Night and the Fire works, both n Oak Bluffs. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marty C
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Fifty-two years, Marty? That's spectacular. You must know this place like the back of your hand. I'm glad the last three years have been spent at our lovely establishment, and I sure do hope that we can make it four. Thanks for leaving this review -- and the tips for the other travelers. It's all very considerate, and we appreciate...

Reviewed 2 September 2014

My family and friends went to M.V for my daughters week end wedding we had rooms in both house i have never been to M.V And was trying to find a good B/B rooms for 30 people was not easy but once i started to talk with Steve it was .He was always there to answer any of my off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raffaella D
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Thanks, Rafaella. It's wonderful to hear you all had such a great time at the wedding. Congratulations to the newlyweds! We sure hope to see you back when you're in town. Best, Stephen - Owner

nj
Reviewed 31 August 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at Hanover House for about 4 days and I loved it! Very clean, beds very comfy, and I had the full breakfast which was so tasty. The owner also owns the Clark House next door which gives a free Continental Breakfast! The owner Steve and his fine staff were very helpful in all areas. Places...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank c21joanneb
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Wow! It really sounds like you made the most our of your four-day trip to the vineyard! You saw so much. I'm so glad we could serve as your peaceful home-base. Thanks for leaving us this thoughtful review, and we can't wait to have you back. Until next time, Stephen - Owner

Parker, Texas
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This was our first visit to Martha's Vineyard. Steve and his staff made for a warm and relaxing experience. Steve welcomed us as we entered the Inn and soon gave us a 101 lesson on the personalities of each city in Martha's Vineyard. He used the MV Visitors Guide as he toured us through each of the city's highlights with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Randy R
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Thanks, Randy! Always good to hear glowing feedback from a seasoned traveler. It was great talking to you and sharing all those little facts about the vineyards. I'm glad you loved the breakfast -- believe it or not, it never gets old for me. We hope to see you back when you visit again! Take care down there in Texas,...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 25 August 2014

First of all, we're summer islanders who needed a place to stay for a few days while work was being done on our house. We've driven by Hanover House often and always wondered what it was like inside. So that's where we stayed. What a treat. The Inn Is cozy, comfortable, and clean. We stayed in the Magnolia Room which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mafk10
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

I'm so happy to hear this glowing review! Thank you. I'm also thrilled you were able to stay in the Magnolia Room -- not to say the other rooms aren't fantastic, but the Magnolia is one of my favorites. If you guys are ever back in MA again, I'd love to give out more little facts about the vineyard and...

Troy, New York
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We recently stayed in this B&B. It was a horrible disappointment: the room was old and dark, the furniture cheap and filthy, and the so-called queen-sized bed felt really like a full-sized one. The toilet, sink, and shower were comparable to those in a poor country road-side cheap motel. If Martha's Vineyard is over-rated, over-priced, and over-crowded, then this B&B...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kent T
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

I assume you had high hopes for the area, as many people love Martha's Vineyard and are recurring guests. We're very sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us, Ken. We like to think our B&B is a great value and that it reflects the rustic, country style of the area! I want to assure you that we...

England
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Have been back from the states about a week now, we spent two days on the island and stayed here for our time, everything was great, Steve was extremely helpful, and breakfast was what us Brits call continental, it was not like the big american breakfast we had at the other hotels, this was good old food and we really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kenzo1
Stephen P, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

What a lovely review, Kenzo! I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. There's just nothing like a good breakfast to start your day, is there? Looking forward to seeing you the next time you're in Vineyard Haven! Cheers, Stephen - Owner

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vineyard Haven
0.4 km away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
779 reviews
3.9 km away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
84 reviews
10.5 km away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Clark House
The Clark House
#6 of 11 in Vineyard Haven
72 reviews
0.8 km away
The 1720 House
The 1720 House
#4 of 11 in Vineyard Haven
154 reviews
0.9 km away
Charles & Charles
Charles & Charles
#1 of 11 in Vineyard Haven
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hanover House, a recognized Martha's Vineyard Three Diamond AAA Inn, provides a great value for guests with the charm of a country home and the convenience of a village inn. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hanover House

Address: 28 Edgartown Rd, PO Box 2108, Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568-5607
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Vineyard Haven
Price Range: ₹ 11,082 - ₹ 23,394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanover House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hanover House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hanover House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hanover House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“our bed was very comfortable.”
harlemprincess01, 6 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Rooms at the rear of the house are very quiet. Preferred the upstairs.”
Mikeyluvs2travel, 21 Sep 2014 | Read review
“we were in front of house so in the morning you can hear the traffic pick up a bit but really there is so much to do in MV, who wants to sleep in?!”
Berry8183, 15 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Book early, like in January, his rooms go fast during the busiest times in August. This place is a small inn, not a big hotel and better that way. Remember when you go to the Vineyard, the pace is slow, stop or dilly dally!”
782martyc, 3 Sep 2014 | Read review
“not two rooms alike my son and his family had room 16 like a little house we also had 6&7 in the Clark house very nice i had room 12 with high celling all had nice clean bathrooms”
481raffaellad, 2 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
US$ 173* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$ 173
TripAdvisorUS$ 173
Hotels.comUS$ 173
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates