We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Swansea

1400 G.A.R. Highway Route 6, Swansea, MA 02777-4231
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (57)
Room & Suite (35)
Dining (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Swansea
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Swansea! Experience Swansea and all its offerings while enjoying our great location, which is conveniently located within minutes to some of the largest attractions and businesses in Providence and Bristol, Rhode Island, and easily accessible to interstates 195 and 95. Whether your reason for travel is business or leisure, we have just the right mix to suit your needs. Located down the road is the Aviary Restaurant for an evening of great food and drinks. If you're feeling more adventurous and looking for an exciting experience, take a short ride to Battleship Cove, Herreshoff Marine Museum, and the Seekonk Speedway. We are also located right down the road from some of Bristol, Rhode Island's most beautiful wedding venues such as Mt. Hope Farm, Blithewold Mansion, and Bristol Harbor Inn.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
2.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
256Reviews2Q+A46Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 66
  • 80
  • 56
  • 31
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Andy wrote a review Sept 2023
Eastchester, New York1 contribution
A really nice hotel: clean, efficient, and a super nice helpful staff. The breakfast is very good, too! This is our go-to place when visiting family in Rhode Island (The prices in the Newport area are very high!) Easy off and on to the highways.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mobile52244643126 wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
The place was truly so-so. When I booked they said breakfast included: not so. Only a banana and an apple plus coffee. The gym was empty and very moldy/ unusable. The pool was so-so. The room was missing a towel rack and looked somewhat beaten up. However, the air conditioner worked thank god. I think there are other better rooms in the newer wing. It’s an embarrassment to advertise a gym and to claim breakfast. The cost was high: I booked 3 days before and paid $385 for two nights on an no holiday weekend. Not worth the lonely, if you ask me or my partner. Anna
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Pay less and expect little
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Swansea
Responded 16 Aug 2023
Hi Mobile52244643126, Thank you for writing our hotel about your experience and staying at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Swansea. Our hotels offer an efficient and frictionless experience for guests on the move. Your evaluation of our services was received in my office and after reading it was surprised. I am sorry that your stay was not satisfactory and understand your sentiments about these matters. We thank you for allowing us to look into these matters further. I forward your comment to our managers and we took the necessary step to rectify and prevent this from happening again. I also send you a private message so we can discuss your stay further. I invited you to visit us on your next trip so we can change your mind about us. With appreciation, Oscar C. Case Manager IHG Hotel & Resorts Services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jess wrote a review Jul 2023
Lost Nation, Iowa1 contribution
Arrived to a room that was booked for a family (6, 2 adult & 4 kids); room had no air conditioning on, despite it being 90+ outside, and the room was well into low 80s for inside temp. Room would not cool down despite running AC on high and at coolest setting. Only stocked with 2 towels and 1 wash cloth, despite booking suite for 6 guests. Room layout has so much wasted space - huge room, but would be nice to have more counter space for bags. Two TVs and not a single remote! Only highlight was that the water pressure was fairly decent compared to those in prior hotels during this two week trip. Thankful for only staying here one night. Very disappointing for IHG brand.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Check hotel room prior to moving all luggage to it. I would have asked for a change of location...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Swansea
Responded 19 Jul 2023
Hi lakeeriebuck07, We appreciate you choosing the Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport for your leisure stay. We strive to give an impressive hotel experience, and I apologize for what happened during your stay. We value every bit of our guest experience and will notify our upper hotel management team. I assure you that we will take necessary corrective measures to avoid any issues from occurring again. I have sent you a private message to discuss this further. I hope we'll remain your dependable choice, as we promise to make your stay more memorable and exciting. Yours in hospitality, Melissa P Case Manager IHG Hotels & Resorts Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
GregK1239 wrote a review Mar 2023
Contoocook, New Hampshire148 contributions85 helpful votes
We stayed here as part of a basketball tournament. For the price paid, I was satisfied with the rooms. We had two rooms, a double queen room and a single king room. Each room seemed clean and the beds were comfortable. The rooms only had two small bath towels, so we did have to go to the front desk to get extras, but it wasn't a problem. The staff were all very friendly, and I thought the breakfast in the morning was excellent. My only real complaint is that the hotel was very hot. I turned my heating unit to cool and opened the window (it only opened about 2 inches) and it was still stifling overnight. The location is very convenient. The pool is pretty small, which is probably okay normally, but when the hotel is full for a sports tournament, it's tight.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
awynus wrote a review Jan 2023
West Haven, Connecticut2 contributions3 helpful votes
Terrible experience. The staff was unfriendly. Went as a group for a soccer tournament. It was recommended as friendly for teams. Room was nice but first thing Saturday morning, the breakfast staff complained because they were not told a team was coming. They were very rude and made us feel bad we were there. There were a lot of kids yes, but we had all booked far ahead of time so the hotel knew who was coming. We had a pizza party in the meeting room, told we’re to loud well before quiet hours. I strive on making sure my children are polite and they do not run amok. Children had poster boards on doors for the team mates to sign. Yes we traveled the halls at 6 pm and wrote on each others signs. I was with my children at all times. Went to the pool with my children, there was vomit in the pool, not from my children. hotel manager was useless and rude. Tried to kick whole team out. I travel often for sports and have never encountered such a rude bunch of people. We usually leave hotels with staff wishing us luck and asking how we did. This place just looked with disgust. Horrible and would never recommend again and I do hope it is off the list of team friendly hotels. Often with my children
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Pool was small, rooms smelled, humidifiers in hall way, damp, management was rude and breakfast...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Swansea
Responded 31 Jan 2023
Hello awynus, Thank you for choosing IHG Hotels and Resorts as your travel partner! We appreciate you as one of our valued guests. We offer a simple and engaging place to rest. However, I am sorry for what happened during your stay. Your review was made known to the team, and I'm confident improvements will be made to deliver complete guest satisfaction. In line with this, do know that I sent a private message to further reach out to you. I hope you find your way back to us should your travels bring you again to the area for a chance to make your stay better than the last. Best, Ronald R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Larry V wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
Stayed for 7 days No hot water in bathroom sink Luke warm shower No lighting in the kitchenette area Overhead bathroom light not working Room smelled musty Poor lighting in the living room area Not a good value for the money
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Not up to Holiday Inn standards.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Swansea
Responded 20 Nov 2022
Hi larryv2254, I've read your review of your past stay. We value you as one of our valued guests. I'm happy that you've chosen Holiday Inn Express And Suites for your stay. We aim for our guests to have the best hospitality in the city. I’m sorry about what happened during your stay. I will be sharing this feedback with hotel management for immediate correction. We hope you can give us a chance to regain your trust and confidence in our service. Warm Regards Carl J. eMedia Coordinator IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mrs Smith wrote a review Sept 2022
Tempe, Arizona82 contributions10 helpful votes
When we first checked in we was told they would NOT honor our upgrade. We knew it was a lie because there wasn’t many cars in the parking lot and we checked in late. We booked a double king because they said that’s what was available. We were given double full size as a married couple. Next we go to our room. Part of the bathroom frame was pulled back at the bottom of the door and it had spiderwebs and dead bugs in it. Ugh. My husband called down to the front desk and the women moved us to the room across the hall. Once we started to unpack and we turned on the Television and it did not come on. My husband again called the front desk and she told him to come down to get new batteries. She end up giving him a different remote. The walls are paper thin. To say we got know sleep because next door the TV was blaring! My husband finally called down to the front desk to complain. I can only assume they called the room several times and got no answer because next we heard the man from the front desk banging on the door and calling his name. We then heard him enter the room and turn the Television off. Don’t know where the occupant was. Friday morning after breakfast I got dress and while my husband was in the shower the fire alarm went off. Luckily we were almost packed, my husband hurried and got out of the shower. Five minutes later the fire department was banging on the screaming everyone out there’s a chlorine leak! My husband yelled I just got out the shower. The fire person said you have a minute.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Swansea
Responded 22 Oct 2022
Hi Greggmickee1, We appreciate you for choosing to stay at our Holiday Inn Express Swansea for this trip, and for sharing your feedback. I am glad to have been a host to one of our valued guests. I trust that all is well. We take pride in offering our guests an engaging place to rest, and I'm sorry to learn about the issues encountered during your visit. I have shared your comments with our Hotel Management team. I am sure they will use this as a reference for improvement. I also have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your stay. I hope you give us the chance to turn things around the next time you stay with us. Kind regards, Glaiza G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
tennismaine wrote a review Jul 2022
Leominster, Massachusetts736 contributions114 helpful votes
I made a reservation for a room with 2 queen beds 6 months before our visit. I called to confirm this the night before our arrival and was told they had our reservation. When we arrived at the hotel we were given a room with one bed with no explanation other than saying we ran out of rooms with 2 beds. We had a terrible night's sleep sharing a bed, and the next day I asked for compensation (points) to make up for our inconvenience. I was told that because I paid with points, there was nothing they would do. They intimated that if we had paid with cash there might . have been a partial refund. So just a heads up,.... Buyer beware if you need a 2 bedded room. You might not get it. And if you pay with points, you will probably not get any consideration if something goes wrong with your reservation or stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Do not count on getting the number of beds you reserve
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Swansea
Responded 28 Jul 2022
Hello, tennismaine Thank you for leaving your opinion about our establishment. It's crucial for our improvement and allows us to make proper adjustments to offer you and all guests a better service in future stays. I want to apologize for the situation you have encountered. Don't worry. I have forwarded your review to the appropriate corporate teams for further attention. We truly enjoy delivering the most memorable experience for every guest. We're always thankful to see you have opted for us for your accommodation. I hope we get another chance to show you can do better. Our staff can't wait to serve you again soon. Alejandro G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Brett S wrote a review Jun 2022
Burlington, Vermont53 contributions34 helpful votes
This new feeling Holiday Inn was great. Easy check in, super clean lobby, hall and rooms, easy to use computers/printer in the lobby and really nice staff. Our suite room with 2 doubles and a pull out was great for our family of 5. The person who checked us in, Patrick, seemed happy to be working here and took steps to see we had a good stay. Totally refreshing. The breakfast was good - and well staffed with happy people. Our kids liked the small indoor pool too.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Erica A wrote a review Jan 2022
Lancaster, Pennsylvania1 contribution
I’ve never written a review for a hotel before. But felt like I needed too. This is the closest hotel to family we visit in the area a few times a year. We had an experience a few years ago where the fire alarm went off in the middle of the night and ourselves and all the guests waited downstairs for fire company to come. That time there was a strong smell of weed, so I’m assuming that’s what set off the fire alarm. We didn’t complain & I figured it was a fluke experience with a guest. However this time, the whole time we were there the smell of weed is everywhere in the entire hotel. Lobby, hallways, I could even smell it in our room with a towel under the doorway. Awful experience and I do not plan on staying ever again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Swansea
Responded 27 Jan 2022
We are so sorry you experienced issues with marijuana smell during your stay. We take your feedback very seriously and are working on better ways to address this issue. Please consider giving us another try soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Swansea area.
PRICE RANGE
₹9,525 - ₹12,701 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express hotel swansea, holiday inn express hotel and suites, holiday inn swansea
LOCATION
United StatesMassachusettsSwansea
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS & SUITES SWANSEA - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Swansea
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Swansea?
Nearby attractions include Battleship Cove (7.8 km), Simcock Farm (6.3 km), and Seekonk Speedway (6.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Swansea?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Swansea?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Swansea?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Swansea?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Swansea?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Revival Craft Kitchen and Bar, The Ice Cream Barn, and Somerset Creamery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Swansea?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Swansea?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Swansea?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn Express & Suites Swansea offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Swansea?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.