We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Publick House Historic Inn

Visit hotel website
Traveller (109)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (5)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Restaurant
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Conference Facilities
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Charming
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
517Reviews
123Photos
2Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 205
  • 122
  • 98
  • 51
  • 41
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Hi. If you are in the area this is a must stop. They keep it very authentic and all tthe food choices are great.. the restaurant serves breakfast lunch and dinnerr. The ppace must be 200 years old with floors that creek when walking
Read more
We stayed in the Chamberlain House, the room/suite was very nice, and clean. It was disappointing that we were given a second floor room, when we asked for a first floor room. To be fair, the reservation was made through Expedia, and the rep said they called the hotel desk to
Read more
Response from GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Publick House Historic Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Melanie, All guest feedback is appreciated as we use it to continually improve. Thank you for providing such a detailed account of your stay. While we're delighted that our cozy rooms and tasty coffee were highlights of your time with us, we apologize for the miscommunication with your reservation. As you mentioned, sometimes third party sites to do not communicate the requests of the traveler, but we do our best to accommodate our guests when we can. It sounds like during your stay we weren't able to move your room and we hope that you and your traveling companion were still able to get the most of your time here. We appreciate your constructive comments regarding breakfast and will share them with our team. We would be grateful for the chance to provide you with an even better stay next time you are in town
Read more
It was a totally delightful Inn centrally locacated in town The Inn has renovated & added some. Exra building the area is magnificent grounds are kept beautifully family friendly / great rooms Great staff Total hospitality The only negative Is they are known for the
Read more
Response from GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Publick House Historic Inn
Responded 7 Jan 2019
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. We're thrilled you felt welcome throughout your stay in our beautifully renovated rooms. However, we apologize for any disappointment with the dining experience, and we'll pass your comments along to our staff. If you're in the area again, please come back to see us.
Read more
My husband and I celebrated New Year's Eve at the Publick House in Sturbridge. The food and service were excellent. They were able to easily accommodate my gluten allergy (don't just look at the GF menu--talk with the waiters. They can do almost any meal GF). With two
Read more
Response from GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Publick House Historic Inn
Responded 7 Jan 2019
Thank you for making Publick House Historic Inn Hotel a part of your New Year's Eve plans. We're delighted our extensive gluten-free menu options helped make your visit memorable and that you found your dining experience enjoyable. It's unfortunate you experienced some noise disruption, but we're glad this was only a minor issue. If you're in the area again, we'd be happy to have you come back to stay with us.
Read more
Disorganized and the wedding meal was served an hour late. Roast beef was ridiculously tough and fatty. Wait in line for ten minutes to get a drink at the understaffed bar. Premium rooms were well appointed but the dormitory was an awful choice.
Read more
Response from FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Publick House Historic Inn
Responded 30 Dec 2018
Dear Jonathan, Thank you for taking the time to share your constructive feedback with us. We appreciate the opportunity to continually improve our services for future guests. It saddens us to hear that while you enjoyed the premium rooms, the rest of your experience did not meet your expectations or our standards. We apologize for the issues encountered with the meal and drinks, and we will use your comments to ensure this does not happen again in the future. Please consider returning so we can provide you with the excellent experience you deserve.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachFamily and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
bedroom
The quaint room atmosphere
PreviousNext
12345
Sorry, not a pet owner. You should call the hotel or visit their webpage.
0 votes
Show all answers
There is an outdoor pool that is probably open during daylight hours until it gets too cold to use. Call the front desk about refrigerators, new renovations probably brought new amenities. There is a YMCA in nearby Southbridge that would probably allow guest privileges at pool from 6AM-9PM
0 votes
Show all answers
"Choose a room in the historic inn and away from Main Street."
"New building"
"If you want to be at the dinning area without walking outside stay at the Inn. If you want quiet, stay in the Motor Lodge."
"You can choose new or old, as you like"
"18th century ambiance - stay at the inn."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$ 75 - US$ 161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
publick house historic hotel sturbridge
LOCATION
United StatesMassachusettsSturbridge
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing