We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Andover North-Lawrence, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
224 Winthrop Avenue, Lawrence, MA 01843
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$148
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$148
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/12/22
Priceline
$145
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/22
Hotels.com$148
Travelocity$148
Algotels$177
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (10)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (9)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Modern Hotel in Andover Massachusetts The Holiday Inn Express Andover Lawrence hotel is conveniently located just 30 miles north of Boston with quick access to I-495, I-93 and Route 114. Guests will enjoy new guest rooms equipped with mini-refrigerators, Keurig coffee makers and comfortable bedding. Many room types offer sofa beds. During your Andover vacation, you can enjoy choice hotel amenities like free high-speed Wi-Fi, parking and our complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Enjoy 24-hour access to our fitness center, business center and market. For those bringing along your pets, you will enjoy our proximity to Harold Parker State Park. Our location also makes conducting business at companies like Raytheon, Amazon, FedEX,New Balance, very easy. Nearby local educational facilities include Merrimack College, UMass Lowell, Brooks School, and Phillips Academy.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
36Car recommended
Grade: 36 out of 100
13Restaurantswithin 1 km
0Attractionswithin 1 km
52Reviews1Q+A5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 20
  • 13
  • 4
  • 1
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
LetsDance5 wrote a review Nov 2022
Richmond
Don't recommend. Cash was taken from my purse that was left in my luggage. Despite repeated calls to the hotel and IHG, nothing was done. Also, the free breakfast was crowded with people who didn't look like hotel guests. And all elevators were not working for our entire stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Andover North-Lawrence, an IHG Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Hi LetsDance5, We appreciate you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Andover North-lawrence for your leisure stay. Providing an excellent level of hospitality and cleanliness is our topmost priority. I would like to offer our sincere apology for the issues you encountered during your time with us. Your honest review is very important, and I will share this with our appropriate hotel team to take necessary action to prevent any issues from reoccurring in the future. I have sent you a private message to discuss this further. I hope we'll remain to be your dependable choice, as we promise to make your stay more memorable and exciting. Yours in hospitality, Melissa P Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
shonshep wrote a review Sep 2022
Battle Ground, Washington7 contributions
Myself and my handicap husband arrived after booking our reservations 8 months in advance. We stayed 2 separate times first for just 1 night which was fine except we arrived at 6 and the awkward manager “had to check it out room was ready”. It’s 6pm it should be. It was so that was fine. Our next 2 nights a week later arrived 6pm to the same awkward manager who again had “to check if our room was ready”. This time we were not out in the room we booked ADA roll in shower room. We were out in a regular room. We noticed a sewer smell and asked them to come look/fix it. Maintenance was off duty so they sprayed some air freshener which seemed to work. We went to flush a tissue down the toilet. 3 tries and it finally went down. We also had them replace our comforter that had 2 large rips in it. The next morning I went to awkward front desk manager and told them toilet still not flushing and out room was not ada. He looked at me and asked if my husband still needed an Ada room as they had one on the top floor. The elevators were out and my husband can’t do 1 step let alone 4 flights. The maintenance guy came plunged toilet for 10 minutes came back with draino and flushed the toilet. He left and said have a nice day. I went in put one piece of toilet paper in and NO flush. I have called corporate twice with 2 different case numbers and no one has called me back. I book well in advance due to my husband’s disabilities and needing to have a roll in shower. It pisses me off that a large company like this takes ADA requirements as a choice. It is not his choice to be disabled but it is our choice to stay. Our choice is to no longer stay with this brand until they get their act together
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t stay
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Andover North-Lawrence, an IHG Hotel
Responded 10 Oct 2022
Hi shonshep, Thank you for leaving feedback about your stay at our Holiday Inn Express Andover North-Lawrence. We want to provide the best service and amenities for our guests. I'm sorry if it didn't happen. I have sent your feedback to our hotel management as a tool for service enhancement. I also sent you a private message to extend our help. We thank you again for doing business with us. I hope you can give us a chance to host your next stay. Dominador R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
1toppump wrote a review Sep 2022
San Diego, California52 contributions19 helpful votes
Proceed with caution. This place is very difficult to find since the signage to turn off the road is so small. More importantly none of the elevators worked so we had to haul our luggage up 4 flights of stairs. They do offer to help with that but we chose to do it ourselves. The 1st room they gave us was right next to the stair well and a noisy room on the other side. We asked for another room since we were worried about the stair well door slamming all night long because you can only take the stairs. They did move us but the only other room was on the opposite side of the hall next to another stairwell. We took that one and luckily it was not noisy. Our room was fine clean wise except the body wash dispenser in the shower was out. You also had to turn the Ac down really low (65) to get the room to cool off. Breakfast was ok. Pretty standard. We would not go back and they really need to fix their property up
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Andover North-Lawrence, an IHG Hotel
Responded 23 Oct 2022
Hello 1toppump, It's a delight for us to host your stay. We appreciate you for choosing the IHG® Hotels and Resorts properties for your lodging needs. Thank you for sharing your experience. I am sorry to learn what happened. I've shared your feedback with our management team as a reference for the necessary improvements needed. I hope to get another chance to host your next visit as we promise to make the value of your experience worth it for all the right reasons. Yours in hospitality, Jeraldine R. Case Manager IHG Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cgl853 wrote a review Sep 2022
Leesburg, Florida103 contributions36 helpful votes
PROS- Handicap room was clean and spacious. Close to I495. Breakfast was great….usual HIE omelets, cinnamon buns, pancakes, bacon and sausage. Supermarket nearby. CONS.- Entrance difficult to find…not well marked. Front desk staff looked glum. Elevators out of order. Luckily we were on the first floor, but the ice machine was on the second floor☹️
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
millostar wrote a review Aug 2022
Craftsbury Common, Vermont22 contributions10 helpful votes
This property is run by teenagers and very young “adults”. Service is not a word I would use to describe anything at this property. Bait and switch! Buyer beware! Check your room before you check in. Alex is dishonest and will lie to you and your booking agent while also lying to his boss
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Andover North-Lawrence, an IHG Hotel
Responded 7 Oct 2022
Hi millostar, Thank you for staying with us during your work travel and sharing your experience. We appreciate you choosing us and doing business with IHG. We are determined to provide our guests with a pleasant time, and I am sorry for what happened during your visit. I shared your feedback with the hotel management so that necessary actions are in place to improve guest satisfaction. I also sent a private message to obtain more details about this experience. Until your next stop in the area, we look forward to hosting you again to redeem your confidence in us. I look forward to your response. Always, Roshelle D. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ambough wrote a review Aug 2022
Norfolk, Virginia738 contributions117 helpful votes
Difficult to find with limited signage and location behind some other businesses. Not many dining choices nearby & the neighborhood seemed run down. Room was ok, hotel seemed old and not well kept. Best part was that it was dog friendly & good for a quick one night stay while driving through on the interstate. Looks better in the photos than in real life. Would probably choose another hotel next time.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Andover North-Lawrence, an IHG Hotel
Responded 28 Aug 2022
Hi ambough, Thank you for choosing us! We pride ourselves on delivering quality service for your business and leisure stays. I am sorry that we missed making your experience seamless this time. Feedback like yours will serve as a constant reminder to enhance our services. I shared your comments with our hotel management and trust that this will be discussed with the team to identify the areas that require improvement. Pleasure once again to host your visit and we look forward to having the opportunity to restore your confidence in our hotel. Best Regards, Alice P Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bruce H wrote a review Aug 2022
Orlando, Florida12 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
The hotel staff is very unfriendly and unwelcoming. The breakfast is substandard at best. The linens were dirty, Only one elevator working which was filthy, No microwave in the room which is a Holiday Inn express standard. They are the only game in town so they know they have a captive audience. In the future we will stay in Danvers or Chelmsford. Don't waste your money
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: This hotel is disgusting.Dirty, seedy neighborhood. A waste of money.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Andover North-Lawrence, an IHG Hotel
Responded 20 Aug 2022
Hello Brucelabruce, Thanks for sharing feedback about your stay with us. We offer a simple and engaging place to rest. However, I am sorry that we fell short of your expectations. Your review was made known to the team, and I'm confident improvements will be made to deliver complete guest satisfaction. In line with this, do know that I sent a private message to further reach out to you. Despite the setbacks mentioned in your review, I hope you find your way back to us should your travels bring you again to the area for a chance to make your stay better than the last. Best, Ronald R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ilou wrote a review Jul 2022
Kansas City, Missouri14 contributions17 helpful votes
Where to begin… the floor in our room was covered in crumbs and sticky in places. It clearly had not been vacuumed in several stays. There was mold and stains in the shower, rusty plumbing fixtures. We had 3 tiny towels for 4 people to shower. They allow pets, and we got to listen to dogs barking all night. The curtains were falling off the rod and would not cover the window, making it hard to sleep past sunrise. There was a bucket catching dirty water dripping from the ceiling right in the middle of the lobby. To top it off, the turn-in from the road was hard to find. It was marked only with tiny, unlit signs, and required driving through a donut shop’s parking lot. Once we got into the parking lot, half of it was dark, shaded, and felt very insecure. We could not get out of here fast enough.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Andover North-Lawrence, an IHG Hotel
Responded 26 Jul 2022
Hello Tom G, Thanks for sharing feedback about your stay with us. We offer a simple and engaging place to rest. However, I am sorry for what happened during your stay. Your review was made known to the team, and I'm confident improvements will be made to deliver complete guest satisfaction. Despite the setbacks mentioned in your review, I hope you find your way back to us should your travels bring you again to the area for a chance to make your stay better than the last. Best, Ronald R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PFTX wrote a review Jun 2022
tx10 contributions10 helpful votes
Hotel was hard to get to - behind several businesses. Carpet seemed dirty, paint, calk, etc. was messy. Needs updating and deep cleaning. It had a funky smell that wasn't awful but didn't make us want to stay. We did stay since we were here for just one might on our way to the White Mountains, but wouldn't stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Andover North-Lawrence, an IHG Hotel
Responded 10 Jul 2022
Hello PFTX, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing your review! I am sorry to read about the issues encountered during your visit. Our goal is to deliver thoughtful amenities, and comfortable accommodations to all of our guests. We value all the feedback we receive as this is our best resource for improvement. To avoid the same situation from happening in the future, I went ahead and alerted hotel management of your concerns for immediate action. We value your business and we hope that you will consider staying with us again when you travel back to the area! Best regards, Jonathan A Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
james s wrote a review Oct 2021
Pueblo, Colorado323 contributions163 helpful votes
Difficult to find because it sits back from the road behind another business and their curb side street sign is very small and faded on one side. Check-in went smoothly and we found everything clean. Room was brightly lite and included a fridge, coffee maker but no microwave. Lots of outlets for charging devices. Linens were bright white and plenty of hot water on demand. Beds were very comfortable. One small bar of soap but dispensers in the tub/shower. No clothing bag. Breakfast was good.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$132 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express lawrence / andover hotel lawrence, holiday inn lawrence, lawrence holiday inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hampton Inn
LOCATION
United StatesMassachusettsLawrence
NUMBER OF ROOMS
123
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS ANDOVER NORTH-LAWRENCE, AN IHG HOTEL - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Andover North-Lawrence, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Andover North-Lawrence, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Den Rock Park (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Andover North-Lawrence, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness centre.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Andover North-Lawrence, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Andover North-Lawrence, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Andover North-Lawrence, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lee Chen Chinese Cuisine, Bollywood Grill, and Inaka Japanese Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express Andover North-Lawrence, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Express Andover North-Lawrence, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express Andover North-Lawrence, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Stevens-Coolidge Place (1.8 km) and Stevens Estate at Osgood Hill (3.2 km).
Is Holiday Inn Express Andover North-Lawrence, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.