We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Thornewood Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Thornewood Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 127: English reviews
Start your review of Thornewood Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

We are just home after having a lovely stay at the Thornewood Inn in Great Barrington, MA. Terry, the owner, greated us at the door Friday night upon our arrive and we were whisked into the dining room had delicious homemade meals, of whole trout and chicken in an amazing beurre bland sauce. The homemade hot brownie sundae with fresh...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda M
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I booked a two night stay with Thornewood Inn with the Ski & Stay deal linked with Ski Butternut. We could have not asked for a better experience. We arrived a little late but David and Terry were very understanding and welcoming. After settling in we went down to the bar and enjoyed some great wine and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Audrey K
Thornewood, Owner at Thornewood Inn, responded to this review

We were so impressed with the thoughtfulness of the two of you. It encourages us to keep our hopes high in the future generation to make this world a better place of communication and caring. The conversation was enlightening and interesting! We look forward to your next visit, and meeting your parents! We hope you have recovered from the days...

Springfield, Missouri
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Went with another couple who we share an anniversary with. Loved everthing about the Thornewood . Ate in the resurant the first night every thing was great from the food and wine and music . The breakfast was very good and each day was diffrent which you do not often get at an inn or b&b. Terry and Dave our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bahern596
Thornewood, Owner at Thornewood Inn, responded to this review

It was great to see that you were enjoying the Berkshires and our inn, while relishing the time you all had to spend together. We enjoyed your company, and hope you will come visit again, soon! Best, Terry & David

Bristol, Rhode Island
Reviewed 16 September 2016

We recently enjoyed our night at the Thornwood. The innkeeping couple does it all- books you a room, mixes your drinks, serves you dinner, and even cleans up! We were comfortable enough to invite family to meet us for a tasty dinner at their restaurant. That was a highlight of our trip! It seems like they could use a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shama60
Princeton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 22 August 2016

I was here for only one night recently, but wish I had booked at least two. The inn is such a pleasant place. The innkeepers/owners welcomed me warmly and exude a down-to-earth ness and genuine interest that is so refreshing given the plethora of classy inns and standard cordiality found elsewhere. The common rooms are filled with character and memorabilia,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank discerningdiner33
Thornewood, Owner at Thornewood Inn, responded to this review

We are so glad you had a wonderful time! We aim to give our guests and authentic experience and a home away from home. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you again and also for leaving us a review!

Brookline, Massachusetts
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Stayed here for two nights in the height of Berkshire tourist season. Location great, and we were looking forward to enjoying a brief stay in a grand mansion-which is how it's always looked from the road. Inside it felt tired and fussy, and I just never felt comfortable or relaxed. The pool was full of leaves, and someone had left...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
Rhode Island
Reviewed 1 August 2016

This inn has been around for a long time and is in a great location for visiting the Berkshires. The property is located directly on Rte. 7. The inn is well kept and has plenty of space to relax, read, etc. It is not, however, in a secluded spot, if that is what you would expect from a country inn....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rsri
Thornewood, Manager at Thornewood Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you had a less than exceptional breakfast experience. We are in fact looking into re-designing that area and will take all of your comments into consideration. All of our guests are welcome to sit in the dinner dining area and take their breakfast there or most anywhere as they please. We have the breakfast...

Boyds, Maryland
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We spent one night and met some very friendly and interesting travelers who also stayed at the Thornewood Inn. One of them helped us to get a restaurant reservation in Saratoga on the 23rd because she knew the owner. It was our 50th anniversary, everything was booked up, and she did it because she is thoughtful and nice! We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vwc20841
North Haven, Connecticut
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

Beautiful inn, gracious hosts, central to lots of Berkshires attractions. We biked the Ashiwillticook trail in Lanesboro, had ice cream -coconut lemongrass and lots of other unique flavors-at SoCo in downtown GB, came back to the inn and relaxed in the lovely pool and garden area. Great dinner at Bizen, slept in the comfy 4 poster bed(AC was appreciated ),...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SIsterMarcia
New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Disappointed in this inn for various reasons. (1) Inn is located right off a busy road and the noise of the cars are constant, no matter how far back your room is (2) Hotel is dated and as such looks dirty. No matter how much they clean, old grout looks like the corners of the bathroom haven't been cleaned in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 689Robin689
Thornewood, Owner at Thornewood Inn, responded to this review

The roads are very busy at the time Tanglewood ends its concert, but quiet down considerably during the night. The floor in this room is the original "chicken wire tile" and we believe adds to the charm of the room. We were doing a llttle painting in one of the main rooms, and although we did not smell it, perhaps...

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
7.0 km away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
960 reviews
1.8 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 9 in Great Barrington
255 reviews
12.9 km away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
The Barrington
The Barrington
#4 of 12 in Great Barrington
34 reviews
2.0 km away
Briarcliff Motel
Briarcliff Motel
#1 of 9 in Great Barrington
426 reviews
16.7 km away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#1 of 20 in Lenox
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Thornewood Inn

Address: 453 Stockbridge Road, Great Barrington, MA 01230
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Price Range: ₹ 11,865 - ₹ 19,306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thornewood Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Thornewood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornewood Hotel Great Barrington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thornewood Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Thornewood Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Basement "garden" rooms are spacious but the temp is controlled elsewhere. AC off in late evening and it got hot by early AM.”
 of 5 bubbles F1587DNjulied, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The building is placed between two roads that come to a "Y" just beyond it but we weren't affected by any car noise.”
 of 5 bubbles vwc20841, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are beautiful.”
 of 5 bubbles shel29Brooklyn, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Stayed in the main house on the second floor overlooking the pool . The room was fine.”
 of 5 bubbles mikea514, 3 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Call for reservations”
 of 5 bubbles Lazier, 3 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5