We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sandaway Waterfront Lodging

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Sandaway Waterfront Lodging
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

336 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sandaway Waterfront Lodging
See the most recent reviews
Showing 334: English reviews
Charleston, sc
Reviewed 22 April 2015

We stayed the beginning of April, 2015. We were extremely pleased with the location and the facilities. We purchased a deal on Travel Zoo, not really knowing what to expect. Our expectations were exceeded. This hotel sits on a point into the Tred Avon river, in the wonderfully quaint town of Oxford, MD. We were greeted by the friendly innkeepers...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charleston_JDE
Sandaway, Owner at Sandaway Waterfront Lodging, responded to this review

Dear Charleston_JDE, How wonderful to see your 5 star review this morning! That is just a big affirmation for us to continue what we do here every day at Sandaway. Ben, our Innkeeper, puts great thought into what he includes in the breakfast basket so we are so pleased you enjoyed that so much. Exceeding your expectations is just icing...

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 22 April 2015

We happened upon the Sandaway when looking for a short getaway from DC, where we live. The Sandaway is a very charming and quite place, perfect for a relaxing and romantic getaway. Best of all, it is situated right on the water on a big, quite plot of land. Our room as large with a king-sized bed and sitting area....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
Sandaway, Owner at Sandaway Waterfront Lodging, responded to this review

Dear Amy D, We so enjoyed reading your review. You certainly covered all the amenities we provide our guests here. So glad you liked that breakfast basket in the morning and all the snacks and beverages we provide. We love taking care of this gorgeous property for guests just like yourselves to enjoy and appreciate. The property will look even...

Southern Shores, North Carolina
Reviewed 21 April 2015

After reading all the positive reviews, I think we must have stayed at the wrong place. We had purchased two nights on Travel Zoo for the price of one (I guess), and we got what we paid for. I would suggest that you do not book "Carriage 103," a separate building from the house you see in photographs. Yes, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maldree
Sandaway, Owner at Sandaway Waterfront Lodging, responded to this review

Dear Maldree, We want to thank you for visiting Sandaway. Of course we were disappointed that you did not enjoy your room. Actually all of our water view rooms and suites were a part of your deal. You choose the first option which did not include one of those rooms. A quick phone call to us would have had you...

Owings Mills, Maryland
Reviewed 13 April 2015

This was our 1st visit to Oxford and The Sandaway. My wife and I will certainly go back. If you are looking for a great romantic,peaceful and feels like home getaway. Then this is the place. Everyone was so nice and kind. We were fortunate to meet Mrs. Gibson (The Owner). She was very welcoming. The room was great and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frank v
Sandaway, Owner at Sandaway Waterfront Lodging, responded to this review

Dear frank v, Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience. I love checking guests in mainly because everyone is so happy to be coming to stay in this gorgeous spot on the water and have left their worries behind. We love maintaining this property with its peace and tranquility in this natural setting. We certainly look...

MD
Reviewed 13 April 2015

This is the perfect place for quiet tranquility. We were there in the off season. The downside was that only one restaurant was open in Oxford. It was Latitude 38,and it was wonderful. We were delighted that we upgraded to a river view room with its lovely balcony, or we could stay in bed and still see the serene waterfront....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Newretirees
Sandaway, Owner at Sandaway Waterfront Lodging, responded to this review

Dear Newretirees, So glad you loved Sandaway even in the off season. Truth be told, that water looks good even if it is cold out. Those Deluxe Suites offer views from anywhere in the room including from the bed as you experienced. Sandaway is really about the simple things in life like rocking chairs, sunsets, all kinds of boat traffic,...

Leesburg, VA
Reviewed 10 April 2015

This was our first visit to Sandaway and we will not hesitate to return. We stayed in 303 for two days and considered the room very comfortable and spacious. It was so nice to hear the water lapping the shore and birds singing in the morning... and nothing else! We explored the lovely town of Oxford by taking several long...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurie N
Sandaway, Owner at Sandaway Waterfront Lodging, responded to this review

Dear Laurie N, We just read your review "hot off the press". It was music to our ears! We are all about peace and relaxation here at Sandaway. So glad you appreciated what we have created on these 2 and 1/2 acres of waterfront and maintained for 40 plus years. We work with dedicated staff and so between them and...

Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 7 April 2015

My wife and I had returned to Sandaway again after almost two years. We originally came down for a shot honeymoon after our wedding June 2013. The hospitality was exemplary, such a nice staff who was on top of everything you could think of and more. This is what what drew us to return to the B and B again....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
Sandaway, Owner at Sandaway Waterfront Lodging, responded to this review

Dear Chris T, We were delighted to read your review. It was so nice to have you all back again since your honeymoon. We are especially pleased that you mentioned the Easter basket. We take such pleasure in getting them ready for our Easter guests. It is also rewarding to find out this is a repeat visit for you. So...

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 19 March 2015

This is the perfect weekend, getaway location when you truly want to get away from it all. The front lawn is huge with plenty of space for all the guests to spread out and enjoy the scenery without feeling like you're on top of each other. There is a yacht club next door that made for great entertainment in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay A
Sandaway, Manager at Sandaway Waterfront Lodging, responded to this review

Dear Lindsay A, Thank you for your kind words and detailed review. I am very pleased to learn Sandaway Waterfront Lodging was a perfect weekend getaway for you! Yes, the Tred Avon Yacht Club across the street provides many opportunities to observe sailboats. Next time you can try our complimentary lite fare breakfast basket that is delivered to your room,...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 3 January 2015

This is the place. Just a one and a half hour's drive from DC and you can see the stars at night and a postcard view with your breakfast in bed in the morning. My husband and I stayed for 2 nights on Christmas day and the day after using a groupon deal. Very off season - so I believe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bengc
Sandaway, Manager at Sandaway Waterfront Lodging, responded to this review

Dear bengc, Thanks a lot for sharing your detailed 5 star review. We are so glad you had a great stay over Christmas! I look forward to seeing you both again in the spring. That is wonderful you want to come back. Yes, just being 90 minutes from Washington D.C. makes Sandaway an easy Chesapeake Bay getaway. Safe travels, Ben...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 28 December 2014

Sandaway is a lovely historic building in an idyllic waterfront setting in the towm of Oxford, which couldn't be any more charming. However, the hotel itself lacked the amenities we have come to expect at this price point. No robes, for example, even though in the large third floor suite where we stayed, a hall separates the bedroom and sitting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kat122912
Sandaway, Owner at Sandaway Waterfront Lodging, responded to this review

Dear Kat122912, Thanks so much for taking the time to write. You did have our largest suite with beach views, cable tv, mini fridge, and a large separate sitting room. The private hallway to your bath is because of the configuration of the restored Victorian mansion. I do hope you took advantage of the amenities we did provide including breakfast...

275 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (230)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (78)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
1:52
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxford
11.6 km away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
#1 of 4 in St. Michaels
971 reviews
9.0 km away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#4 of 4 in St. Michaels
387 reviews
18.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Robert Morris Inn
Robert Morris Inn
#2 of 5 in Oxford
230 reviews
15.0 km away
Harbourtowne Resort
Harbourtowne Resort
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
323 reviews
11.1 km away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sandaway Waterfront Lodging has 18 B&B style accommodations in Oxford, MD - just seven miles from St. Michaels. Most rooms at Sandaway are waterfront with porches overlooking the Tred Avon River, Choptank River, and Chesapeake Bay. Guests at Sandaway can enjoy the waterfront lawn and private sandy beach. Sandaway is a member of Select Registry - Distinguished Inns, Small Hotels, and Bed and Breakfasts of North America. Oxford, Maryland was recently voted the best waterfront town in the world. Recent upgrades to Sandaway Waterfront Lodging include cable television in every accommodation. All Suites also now have a mini-fridge. The wireless high speed internet connection was recently upgraded. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandaway Waterfront Lodging

Address: 103 West Strand Road, Oxford, MD 21654
Region: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > Oxford
Price Range: ₹ 19,815 - ₹ 19,883 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandaway Waterfront Lodging 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Sandaway Waterfront Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandaway Waterfront Lodging Hotel Oxford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandaway Waterfront Lodging staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Baltimore, Maryland
Frederick, MD
9 months ago
West Chester, Pennsylvania

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Sandaway Waterfront Lodging staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Second floor suites are walk-ups, but have better views. Some suites may not have views, so be sure to ask when booking.”
  • The attraction of the Sandaway is its spectacular location, not its room accommodations or decor
 of 5 bubbles Projournalist, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a screened-in porch attached facing the water. Ground floor is best.”
 of 5 bubbles Jan2day, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“CH104, large upstairs unit. No screened porch. King bed. Spotless bath. Very steep stairs! Dehumidifier hum. Minifridge. Bay window.”
 of 5 bubbles stifft2016, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing west provide spectacular sunsets.”
 of 5 bubbles L4520NUpaulw, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The rooms with the view are worth the additional cost”
 of 5 bubbles dolores_dorsainvil, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay