We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Robert Morris Inn

PricelineUS$ 160*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 193*
US$ 160*
US$ 193*
US$ 193*
US$ 160*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Robert Morris Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

236 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Robert Morris Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 234: English reviews
Reading, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 24 June 2015

Disappointed from the moment we arrived. The room we booked was not available because the AC was broken. We were given a room on the third floor, which was very difficult for me because of my disability. They must have been fully booked because no other choice was given when asked. Originally our room had a water view and patio...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cindyslost
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Dear cindyslost Thank you for staying at our historic Inn and we are delighted you enjoyed your dining experiences. As we explained at the time the Ac unit had failed in the room you booked and this other room was the only Kink bedded room available. Given the AC failed on the afternoon of your arrival there was no way...

Hampstead, Maryland
Reviewed 4 June 2015

1st time staying here and we will def be back. The inn is very old....350 years to be exact so keep that in mind when you come....it has been well preserved in my opinion. Afternoon tea is delightful with a multiple assortment of teas with scones. The town is small, quaint, and quiet. There is a small market within walking...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank TriziaC
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and generous comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your experience and appreciated all that this iconic historic Inn and town has to offer. We look forward to your return and hope you will enjoy our colonial Inn rooms.

Germantown, Maryland
Reviewed 3 June 2015

Our room was way up on the 3rd floor. Having AC was great but it was terribly noisy. Breakfast was excellent and the waitress wonderful. The dinner menu looked interesting and we will try it on our next visit to the area.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank swwright
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at our iconic historic Inn and so please you enjoyed your stay. All our rooms do have window AC units, effective but not the quietest. We hope to upgrade these in time but have significant challenges given our building is over 300 years old. Regards Mark & Ian

Aberdeen, Maryland
Reviewed 2 June 2015

Pros: Wonderfully clean room. Excellent scones for treats at 4pm, Good British style curry for dinner. The facility tries to retain the antiquity of a three-century old inn, while mixing with 21st century utilites. Good place for a physically fit person to sit and take time and wait. Turn your clock back and force a little slow-relax. Cons: Needs railings...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank d r
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at our historic Inn and we are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay. This is America's oldest operating full service Inn, at over 300 years old. As such we are unable to consider putting in elevators, railings and modern sidewalks. Again our thanks and best wsihes. Regards Mark & Ian

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 2 June 2015 via mobile

This is a quaint little B and B that is quiet relaxing and most enjoyable For a getaway whether you are alone or as a couple is great and the food is excellent service and staff are attentive and knowledgeable and friendly The hotel is located just across the road from the ferry from St. Michael's and lots of places...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LARRY B
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and generous comments following your visit to our historic Inn. Your comments are appreciated and shared with our team, who join us in thanking you. We have done everything possible to ensure that we are the perfect place to go to disconnect from the otherwise busy and demanding life we all lead these days....

Annapolis, MD
Reviewed 28 May 2015

The good news: the office staff and restaurant staff are wonderful. Pleasant, professional, and accommodating. Also every meal we had there this past weekend (breakfast and dinner) was deserving of the restaurant's and chef's superb reputation. As locals, we've enjoyed many (20+) breakfasts there but just a few dinners, as they are rather expensive. The bad news: the accommodations are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RickyMom
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience and we are indeed fortunate to have a wonderful team of staff and we are so please they responded to you needs. The Inn was built in 1710 and that room in 1800 and there is nothing we can do to make it larger. We price them accordingly and ensure the customer is aware....

Stafford, Virginia
Reviewed 27 May 2015

If you are looking for luxurious, this is not the place. Be prepared for small beds, crooked floors and maybe even a bathroom across the hall. But if you are looking for charming and immersion into a time gone by, this inn is the perfect week end get away.. Wonderful location. We took the ferry to the hotel, which is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank marrasan
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Thank you visiting our Inn and for sharing your experience with fellow travelers. Our vintage Inn like Oxford has charming qualities rare to find unspoiled these days. So pleased you enjoyed it and as you return you will continue to see small improvements. Regards Mark and Ian

Williamsburg, Virginia
Reviewed 23 May 2015

We had a really memorable experience! The rooms were very comfortable and inviting, and both dinner and breakfast were outstanding. The hosts and chef were so gracious and personable. Can't wait for our next visit!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pickiewhereIstay
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit. We are continuously looking to very subtly improve the property and service and look forward to seeing you in the near future. Regards Mark & Ian

Strasburg, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 14 May 2015

My husband and I just got back from a short trip to the Eastern Shore and stayed overnight at this Inn. We arrived early and our room was ready so we checked in early. The nice lady in the office, I beieve she said her name was Eleanor, showed us our room and walked us around the dining area, gave...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn G
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and generous comments following your visit to out historic Inn. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience and grateful you chose to stay with us. We look forward to your return and thank you for sharing your experience with fellow travellers. Regards Mark & Ian

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 14 May 2015

This 1700's vintage Inn was located near the water in the beautiful town of Oxford on the Maryland Eastern Shore. The exterior had an unique look and the structure was well maintained. The front desk personnel were friendly and helpful. We had a nice view of the water from a large corner room on the second floor with a firm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 19Wayne46_
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting our historic Inn and we are delighted that you enjoyed your experience. At over 300 years old and little changed, it is truly unique in this day and age and has played many roles throughout American history. We have noted your comments and will certainly keep those in mind as we seek ways to improve our...

111 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (110)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
1:52
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxford
11.6 km away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
9.0 km away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#4 of 4 in St. Michaels
421 reviews
1.0 km away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 km away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
0.2 km away
Sandaway Waterfront Lodging Suites and Beach
12.6 km away
Tidewater Inn
Tidewater Inn
#4 of 9 in Easton
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Once the home of Robert Morris who gained fame as "Financier of the Revolution". General and later President George Washington was a close friend and visited Robert Morris often. In more recent times author James Michener outlined his famous novel, Chesapeake here and fell in love with our renowned crab cakes. More history is located here. Now the Eastern Shore's most unique historic restaurant with rooms under celebrity Chef Proprietor, Mark Salter and Ian Fleming. Enter the Inn and step back 300 years: a pristine yet historic interior welcomes with timber beams, panelled walls and open fires in the cooler months. Through to Salter's Tavern featuring historic red brick walls and old slate floors, with magnificent fires in the cooler months and offering casual outside dining on our Terraces and Veranda during balmy warm summers. This is a truly historic Inn, cosy with a natural patina running through. Friendly, great cuisine and understated professional service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Robert Morris Inn

Address: 314 N Morris St, P.O. Box 40, Oxford, MD 21654-1019
Region: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > Oxford
Price Range: ₹ 10,279 - ₹ 14,093 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Robert Morris Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Robert Morris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robert Morris Hotel Oxford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Robert Morris Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Robert Morris Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“High level floors very warm.”
sarawJ9636UR, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Loved their cute, cozy cottage, but I think they use this for guests with pets.”
elmo_stardate, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are on the 2nd and 3rd floor. No elevator.”
Cathy294, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There are no elevators and rooms are on the second and third floors if this could be a problem for anyone. Rooms are all quiet.”
kdemolet, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask for water view but the windows are small being a historic colonial building”
541karend, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$ 160* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$ 193
Booking.comUS$ 160
Hotwire.comUS$ 193
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates