We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Robert Morris Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Robert Morris Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

233 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Robert Morris Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 231: English reviews
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Reviewed 19 July 2015

One of the highlights of our trip was arriving at this inn last week. We were a little late for dinner but they told us they served dinner to 9pm. They served us on the edge of their porch facing the water in all directions. The staff couldn't have been nicer. The food was very good. For me the town...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz A
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting our vintage Inn and charming town, so pleased you enjoyed both so much. We are most fortunate to enjoy such an incredible location and we do have some excellent staff who have a passion for what they do for their customers. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you for your business. Regards...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 July 2015

Having travelled from Scotland to Washington to visit my family we all took a trip away from the city to Oxford in Maryland and stayed at the Robert Morris Inn. We chose the Inn having visited the excellent sister hotel at Lake of Menteith in Scotland. We were certainly not disappointed with the Inn where they catered in a most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Very generous comments, thank you so very much. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and are grateful for your business. We look forward to welcoming you back another time. Regards Ian & Mark

Maryland
Reviewed 12 July 2015

My family and I just returned from the most wonderful inn stay ever. The room was terrific. The hospitality was wonderful from the owner Ian Fleming on down. The afternoon tea was fantastic. We would love to have their scones right now. The breakfast was relaxing sitting on the porch on a cool summer morning and the stay was terrific....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steve d
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words and generous comments. The weather was perfect during your stay and our location right on the water is equally perfect to enjoy such weather. Our historic Inn and the charming town of Oxford make for the perfect backdrop for customers to escape the hussle and bustle of modern living. Regards Mark &...

Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

Robert Harrison is steeped in history but needs some renovation work. The paint is in need of scraping and painting and The property could use a makeover. Although rooms are beautiful and original with lovely floors the walls need attention The staff is friendly and helpful and the restaurant is excellent I would recommend it for a couple who want...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WilliamA56
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Not sure when you stayed but since purchasing the building we have done a strip back to timber restoration of the front of The Robert Morris Inn and similar restoration to the main hall and corridors. Room renovations will continue through next year. Ours is an iconic building over 300 years old and like this historic and peaceful town little...

Reviewed 10 July 2015

We arrived before check-in time but were accommodated by the friendly office staff member who allowed us to enter our room early. Tea was self-served in the afternoon, and the scones were delicious. We walked around the quaint town, visited the harbor, where the multitude of boats are docked and best of all discovered the homemade ice cream shop on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravelingwithPamAnn
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with fellow travelers and everything that you observed and experienced is what we try so hard to delivery and it is a real pleasure to read your comments. Our staff enjoy reading these reviews and join us in thanking you. We look forward to welcoming you back and will happily assist you in discovering...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 6 July 2015

There was a good service, that we enjoyed. We were one hour late checking out and it was gracefully forgiven. Restaurant is very good. Our breakfast outside was beautiful and tasty. However, rooms are really small. It is kind of upgraded bed and breakfast. I didn't enjoy bed, it wasn't very new. Also a lot of dust in the room....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NatashaZ18
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our Inn following your visit. So many of our customers travel from the Western Shore, across the Bridge and down Rt 50. Many arrive late and a bit "frazzled" and we do our very best to ensure you quickly relax and settle into the Eastern Shore pace. Our rooms are either 1700 or 1800 so yes...

North Potomac, Maryland
Reviewed 1 July 2015

The Robert Morris Inn is a best possible way to spend the night on the Eastern Shore. It has quaint rooms and a wraparound porch with flowers and sweeping virews of the river, where an incredible breakfast and coffee is served each morning. The inn is also across from the ferry to St. Michaels. The food, by a world-class chef,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ESFan
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at our historic Inn and we are delighted that you enjoyed your experience. We are so fortunate being located in this charming colonial town on the water an d really love our vintage Inn. Thank you for sharing with fellow travelers and we look forward to welcoming you back. Regards Mark & Ian

Reading, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 24 June 2015

Disappointed from the moment we arrived. The room we booked was not available because the AC was broken. We were given a room on the third floor, which was very difficult for me because of my disability. They must have been fully booked because no other choice was given when asked. Originally our room had a water view and patio...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cindyslost
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Dear cindyslost Thank you for staying at our historic Inn and we are delighted you enjoyed your dining experiences. As we explained at the time the Ac unit had failed in the room you booked and this other room was the only Kink bedded room available. Given the AC failed on the afternoon of your arrival there was no way...

Hampstead, Maryland
Reviewed 4 June 2015

1st time staying here and we will def be back. The inn is very old....350 years to be exact so keep that in mind when you come....it has been well preserved in my opinion. Afternoon tea is delightful with a multiple assortment of teas with scones. The town is small, quaint, and quiet. There is a small market within walking...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank TriziaC
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and generous comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your experience and appreciated all that this iconic historic Inn and town has to offer. We look forward to your return and hope you will enjoy our colonial Inn rooms.

Germantown, Maryland
Reviewed 3 June 2015

Our room was way up on the 3rd floor. Having AC was great but it was terribly noisy. Breakfast was excellent and the waitress wonderful. The dinner menu looked interesting and we will try it on our next visit to the area.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank swwright
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at our iconic historic Inn and so please you enjoyed your stay. All our rooms do have window AC units, effective but not the quietest. We hope to upgrade these in time but have significant challenges given our building is over 300 years old. Regards Mark & Ian

111 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (110)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
1:52
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxford
11.6 km away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
#1 of 4 in St. Michaels
986 reviews
9.0 km away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#4 of 4 in St. Michaels
402 reviews
11.0 km away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Sandaway Waterfront Lodging
12.6 km away
Tidewater Inn
Tidewater Inn
#4 of 9 in Easton
429 reviews
11.5 km away
Parsonage Inn
Parsonage Inn
#2 of 13 in St. Michaels
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Once the home of Robert Morris who gained fame as "Financier of the Revolution". General and later President George Washington was a close friend and visited Robert Morris often. In more recent times author James Michener outlined his famous novel, Chesapeake here and fell in love with our renowned crab cakes. More history is located here. Now the Eastern Shore's most unique historic restaurant with rooms under celebrity Chef Proprietor, Mark Salter and Ian Fleming. Enter the Inn and step back 300 years: a pristine yet historic interior welcomes with timber beams, panelled walls and open fires in the cooler months. Through to Salter's Tavern featuring historic red brick walls and old slate floors, with magnificent fires in the cooler months and offering casual outside dining on our Terraces and Veranda during balmy warm summers. This is a truly historic Inn, cosy with a natural patina running through. Friendly, great cuisine and understated professional service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Robert Morris Inn

Address: 314 N Morris St, P.O. Box 40, Oxford, MD 21654-1019
Region: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > Oxford
Price Range: ₹ 10,333 - ₹ 14,257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Robert Morris Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Robert Morris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robert Morris Hotel Oxford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Robert Morris Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Robert Morris Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are on the 2nd and 3rd floor. No elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles Cathy294, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There are no elevators and rooms are on the second and third floors if this could be a problem for anyone. Rooms are all quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles kdemolet, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask for water view but the windows are small being a historic colonial building”
 of 5 bubbles 541karend, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Cottage or Bottle building have few steps, TV and great view of the ferry landing and river.”
 of 5 bubbles MikeBelAir_MD, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Located at the site of the Bellevue/Oxford Ferry. Fun access to the St Michaels area.”
 of 5 bubbles KenN553, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5