We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Francis Scott Key Family Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Francis Scott Key Family Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

992 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Francis Scott Key Family Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 986: English reviews
Waynesboro, Virginia
Reviewed 26 September 2013

FSK is a great place to stay. Very much a family resort. Staff is friendly. My family & I have stayed here many times. It's close enough to the beach without being right down in all the crowd. The shuttle is wonderful, since parking at the beach can be difficult.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Angie P
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review

Our shuttle service is a great money saver as parking can cost a bit and finding a spot challenging. Our end units do provide extra space...great tip! Sincerely Annemarie Dickerson Owner

Frederick, Maryland
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We've vacationed here for years, but have always stayed in the vacation homes. This year we were going only for a few days and stayed in the "Florida" building in an efficiency. We were traveling with an 11 month old and called ahead for a port-a-crib. Upon arrival it was already in the room with everything we needed. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank czbrown
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review

We are so blessed to have to many families that think of us as home away from from...Thank You. We have already begun the process of prepping for 2014...We hope to see you then! Sincerely Annemarie Dickerson Owner

Crofton, Maryland
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We have stayed here many times and continue to come back! It is not fancy but it is clean and comfortable. The indoor water park makes the stay worthwhile. The staff are always very friendly and the location of the hotel is a quick drive to the beach and the boardwalk.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NS1020
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review

Thank you...our indoor theme pool is a great memory maker! See you all again soon! Sincerely Annemarie Dickerson Owner

Reviewed 16 September 2013

I've seen your resort photos during several Ocean City Internet searches and always continued to look for something else because it wasn't located directly on the beach. We chose FSK for our family weekend at the beach this time around for the 1) value and 2) indoor pool for my kiddos. I was so pleasantly surprised to find we almost...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jsb2004
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! September is my favorite month here in Ocean City but it is true our shuttle service is suspended (except for Sunfest) and the hours of our indoor pool are shortened. We hope that your family will come back and join us soon!\ Sincerely Annemarie Dickerson Owner

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Late planning for OCMD. We stayed 1 night booking 3 rooms. Location was great and convenient. Nice little setup and tons of activities for the kids. Our biggest complaint was the rooms. The rooms are out dated and need a remake. The rooms weren't completely clean either; stains on the roll away bed and tears on the mattress. Rooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NagDub
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review

I would like to begin by saying we do noy have any rooms that are $240 per night. I believe that this family most likely booked through an outside reservation system (such as booking.com) and the rate would have been $180 plus a $10 extra person rollaway fee. That would be a weekend/ holiday rate which is our highest. Our...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The activities for kids are the only thing that makes this place good. The rooms are ugly and so old that they look unsalvagably dirty. Service was average. If you can't afford anything better, this place is ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BWaffleLover
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review

I am always challenged when we receive reviews such as this one. Yes it is true our property was built in 1952. We have spent every off season since 2002 upgrading all aspects of our property and we have forward plans that will continue as well. The amenities that were mentioned in this review I believe are one of a...

Green Brook, New Jersey
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed here with our 5 year old son, and we had a great time! We had to play mini golf at least once, sometimes more, every day. He loved the indoor pool and the spray ground, we loved that we could just spend some time relaxing around the motel and have things to do if we wanted to. It...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lisa W
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. The WIFI has been our biggest challenge of the last several years. Though we have made upgrades each year the demand continues to grow in overwhelming percentages. We are doing an upgrade in October that we are told will handle our current and forecasted needs for the next season. We love that you has so much...

Hertfordshire
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This was our accommodation for two nights, and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Free WiFi (even though it wasn't fantastic), a free shuttle to the Boardwalk and free access to the swimming pools were a nice bonus for a decently valued holiday. The resort has a lovely on-site diner, and all of the staff were welcoming, dedicated and helpful....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert W
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments! I agree we are a value family resort. We are dedicated to our families to continue to provide and improve our property while keeping the family budget in mind! See you soon Annemarie Dickerson Owner

florida
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My family of three adults and two toddlers stayed in a ranch room with two double beds and a sleeper sofa. The room was quiet and the beds were comfortable. Wifi was slow at times, but it is free. My toddlers really enjoyed the indoor pool (1/2' to 4 ' deep) and the sprayground. Actually, they could have stayed all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NOVAfamily2
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your reivew. I do hope that you would consider staying with us again in the future. We do have several room type options and I apologize for any confusion about the cribs. If I can assist in accomodating your family in the future please contact me directly. SIncerely Annemarie Dickerson Owner 800-213-0088 ext 104

Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at this resort for 2 nights during the labor day weekend and overall we had a good experience. The staff is very welcoming and prompt. Rooms are average and hotel staff keep it clean. We never had any problems with the room. This is not a luxurious resort so you need to keep expectations leveled. We loved the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MayurJ
fskinoc, Owner at Francis Scott Key Family Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest comments. We are so glad that you enjoyed the holiday weekend with us! I have passed your constructive words to my husband who oversees the Diner. We hope to see your family again soon! Sincerely Annemarie Dickerson Owner

607 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (233)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (66)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (19)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (84)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (337)
Viewed
Amenities (121)
Viewed
Florida Building Room (59)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (50)
Viewed
Pennsylvania Building Room (PRE-RENOVATION) (44)
Viewed
Pool Bar (5)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)
Viewed
Vending Machines (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
3.7 km away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#1 of 103 in Ocean City
1,931 reviews
4.1 km away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
2.8 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
3.1 km away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
2,854 reviews
2.3 km away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#9 of 103 in Ocean City
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Year-round family resort offering affordable rates and packages surrounded by many free amenities creating a unique, fun, memorable vacation trip and experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Francis Scott Key Family Resort

Address: 12806 Ocean Gateway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Price Range: ₹ 7,599 - ₹ 16,376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Francis Scott Key Family Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Francis Scott Key Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Scott Key Family Hotel Ocean City
Francis Scott Key Motel
Francis Scott Key Hotel Ocean City Md
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#2 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#7 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Francis Scott Key Family Resort staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Francis Scott Key Family Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the Florida Building!!”
 of 5 bubbles barryhS7495CT, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If your looking for a quieter room ask for 2nd floor”
 of 5 bubbles jemz1092, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I always go with the kitchen room bigger and you can save on money”
 of 5 bubbles ndcusick, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the main building - second floor. It was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Z3060VAkarenb, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“we like the cabin rooms because you feel like you have your own personal parking spot right outside your door”
 of 5 bubbles jopper1957, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5