We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1099 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4511
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (24)
Room & Suite (18)
Pool & Beach (2)

About

#13 of 29 in Wells
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Welcome to The Garrison, your Wells “home away from home.” The Garrison aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year.

Rooms at The Garrison provide a flat screen TV, a kitchenette, and air conditioning, and guests can stay connected with free wifi.

You can also enjoy a pool while staying at The Garrison. Need a place to park? Free parking is available at The Garrison.

While in Wells be sure to experience local fish and chips favourites at Maine Diner, Billy's Chowder House, or Bull And Claw.

Should time allow, Storer Garrison State Historic Site is a popular historic site that is relatively easy to get to.

The Garrison puts the best of Wells at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Outdoor pool
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
174Reviews2Q+A54Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 98
  • 50
  • 12
  • 8
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
TheBunknees wrote a review Sep 2021
Massachusetts30 contributions6 helpful votes
The most positive thing is the cleanliness of the rooms and property. Check-in/out a breeze. With Covid issues housekeeping service was different. Even to the point of making sure we ran the dishwasher before we left. Or be charged for dirty dishes left on counter. $25.00 Noticed sheets were put on upside down, not sure if it was a mistake or shortcut by flipping bottom sheet. Great location to walk to eateries and Congdon Donuts across the street with the food vans. The worse part was Wi-Fi. I wish there was a pay per day option to get internet. I had an international business meeting on Zoom and kept getting dropped. The TV was the same way, it would just shut off. Bring your own pillow, a small fan and your own coffee (coffee provided was weaker than my 98 year old Gran). These are my observations and that is why I am giving this an average rating. Everyone was nice and the pool was perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Barbara L wrote a review Aug 2021
North Grafton, MA12 contributions21 helpful votes
Justin, the owner, is very accommodating, friendly and takes great pride in the property. The cleaning personnel are “A1”. We stayed in a efficiency suite for 3 weeks. It was very nice, clean and comfortable. We had beautiful views of the ocean too! The Garrison is in an excellent location, walking distance to many fine restaurants. The pool is crystal clear and the grounds are lovely. We will certainly recommend this fine establishment to our family and friends. Thanks for a great stay!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: We enjoyed the second floor, nice views of the ocean, pool and grounds.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Iwishyouwerehere wrote a review Aug 2021
Hardwick, Vermont19 contributions5 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed at the Garrison in August 2021. We had stayed twice before and thought it was a good value. That is until this year. Due to COVID, there is no daily room service. You leave your trash and dirty towels outside the door and they are replaced. The cost without the daily room cleaning is the same as if it were full service. My two room suite had a queen bed that was more the size of a double......not enough room for two adults in my opinion. The other bed option was a Murphy bed. the mattress truly was like laying on cardboard. The pillows are extremely thin and you need two to just keep your head level while lying down......and they too are stiff like cardboard. Our bathroom mirror frame looks like it has never been cleaned. I do not recall such uncomfortable sleeping when I was last here 5 years ago, Never again for us................
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Justin Gagnon, General Manager at The Garrison
Responded 21 Aug 2021
Mr. and Mrs. Quinn, Thanks for your review. We spoke to you a couple times during your stay to say hello and to chat and you never brought any of this up. That seems odd. You last stayed at the hotel in 2013. To assume you would be spending the same on a hotel room in 2021 that you did in 2013 would be incorrect. Just like the price of meat, lumber, etc the prices of hotel stays have gone up. We base our prices on what we assume is our competitor hotels in the area. I believe the only hotels doing full housekeeping service during covid are the full scale chain hotels. Both the Holiday Inn Express and the Hampton Inn in Wells offer this service. They are approximately $100/night more than us. If that is worth full housekeeping to you I certainly suggest you give them a try but based on your complaints about our price I don't think you will. The queen bed in your room is a queen bed. It is not "more the size of a double." There is no confusion there. The murphy bed in your room is primarily made for children. I am sorry you found it uncomfortable. We apologize for the rust mark on the mirror frame in your bathroom. We could have replaced the mirror for you during your stay but again we never had a chance to rectify anything with you as you’ve only chosen to speak to us through a review. Finally we have recovered your marijuana pipe you used to smoke in your guest room. We have charged you a smoking fee for this. Feel free to call us to discuss. Best wishes.
Read more
Bob N wrote a review Jun 2021
2 contributions
We've been staying at the Garrison for 10 years now, which says a lot about this property. There are multiple room choice options, and it's perfect for families or couples looking to get away. The view is the cherry on top, along with the pool. If you're looking for a clean, comfortable location with quick access to shops, restaurants and the beach, this is the place. Justin and Angela are great hosts, and they take great care in their property. That goes a long way with me. I highly recommend the Garrison, and I've been vacationing in this area for 30+ years and have stayed at several locations. Book your stay and enjoy!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Daniel O wrote a review Apr 2021
Belmont, Massachusetts4 contributions12 helpful votes
Justin is a wonderful host and very welcoming. You can tell he takes pride in the property. The view from the pool is wonderful for being off of RT 1. Great location tro awesome restaurants and beaches! Would recommend to friends and family!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$102 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
garrison suites, motel and cottages hotel wells, garrison hotel wells, garrison motel wells
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Garrison Suites, Motel and Cottages
LOCATION
United StatesMaineWells
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Garrison
Which popular attractions are close to The Garrison?
Nearby attractions include Flagship Premium Cinemas - Wells (0.5 km), R&R Chocolate (0.7 km), and Wells Beach Resort Mini Golf (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Garrison?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Garrison?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at The Garrison?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Garrison?
Conveniently located restaurants include Congdon's Doughnuts, Varano's Ristorante Italiano, and Billy's Chowder House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Garrison?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Garrison?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wells Reserve at Laudholm (4.3 km), Congregational Church Of Wells (2.2 km), and Founders Park (1.8 km).
Is The Garrison accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.