We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Craignair Inn at Clark Island

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Craignair Inn at Clark Island
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Craignair Inn at Clark Island
See the most recent reviews
Showing 136: English reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2016

My wife and I spent the weekend at the Craignair for our 4th anniversary. We had gotten a great Groupon rate, and were excited to spend our vacation on the ocean. The inn is very unassuming when you drive up to it, tucked several miles back at the end of a residential road. Inside you see a lot of its...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aiden M
Joanne O, Owner at Craignair Inn at Clark Island, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us this past weekend! So glad you enjoyed everything. We always stash our guests leftovers in our fridge...next time just ask! Thanks for spreading the word about the Craignair and we hope to see you again soon. Joanne and Michael

Reviewed 23 May 2016

My wife and I were looking for something simple in order to get away for the week. We live relatively close by but would imagine that coming from the nearest airport would be comparable. We were in need of someplace where we could be comfortable doing nothing at all but had the option for day trips if needed. The Inn...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allen D
Joanne O, Owner at Craignair Inn at Clark Island, responded to this review

It was great having you two here!! I'm glad you were able to relax and recharge. Traveling on the off- and shoulder-seasons definitely has the benefit of a nice, quiet atmosphere. Thank YOU for showing us the art of relaxation :)

Framingham, Massachusetts
Reviewed 20 May 2016

We recently spent a night at Craignair Inn with friends visiting from England. The Inn is on the water and the views from the dining room are spectacular. The owners, Mike and Joanne are friendly and very accommodating. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated, and the very spacious living room, complete with loads of books and games, was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jayne M
Joanne O, Owner at Craignair Inn at Clark Island, responded to this review

Great to have you here, and thank you for helping to spread the word about our cozy little corner of the world! We look forward to having you back again.

Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

This place is lovely friendly and welcoming, rooms are clean and tidy and the decor is tasteful, the beds are very comfortable,breakfast is great. Nice pieces of art work to buy. Has free WiFi the views are beautiful and it is nice and peaceful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank audolive123
Joanne O, Owner at Craignair Inn at Clark Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We're surrounded by amazing artists here on the St. George Peninsula, Rockland and the local area. Grateful to have lots of artwork on display and for purchase throughout the Inn! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon. ~ Joanne and Michael

Poland, Maine
Reviewed 3 November 2015

Our room was very clean and the bed was amazingly comfortable. I have read a few other reviews and frankly, I can't see why anyone would have anything negative to say. Some complained about a shared bath...it is written on the site which rooms have this. Get a room with a private bath or don't complain! You do have a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 934ginih
Joanne O, Owner at Craignair Inn at Clark Island, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you for "keeping it real" and saying how much you enjoyed the unique qualities and charm of our Inn...very true, we aren't the Park Plaza, it is an old building off the beaten path, and we do have a few bedrooms with shared bathrooms. Thank you for those reminders to our future guests--they were some of the reasons...

Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed 20 October 2015

This was our first experience with a bed and breakfast with shared bathrooms. I can say we won't do that again. Also the sound insulation in this inn is not great and you can pretty much hear everything the other guests are doing and saying. Bed wasn't comfortable. Hosts were very nice. Breakfast was delicious although restaurant was closed for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
Joanne O, Owner at Craignair Inn at Clark Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! I'm sorry if you had an unpleasant experience with the shared bathrooms--I wasn't aware of an incident or problem, so I'm guessing it was just the that you weren't accustomed to it. While we do have some rooms with shared bathrooms, the majority of them have private bathrooms. They are all well-labeled on our website...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 20 October 2015

I think that for some people this B&B might not meet expectations but I think it's important to keep in mind this is Maine and in a fairly remote location... because of those two things I think the owners have done a decent job. The B&B is in a great location and if you're looking for a scenic/ calm/ peaceful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chicagotraveler18
Joanne O, Owner at Craignair Inn at Clark Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughts on Craignair Inn. We find the inn scenic, calm and peaceful too! :) I don't quite follow what is meant that our guests should keep in mind that this is Maine...people come to Maine because it's..Maine, "the way life should be," We are a little remote--it's part of the charm and the reason many people...

Portland, OR
Reviewed 1 October 2015

We stayed here 2 nights as we explored the coast of Maine. We chose it because it was centrally located to Rockland, Camden, Rockport, etc. The Inn is a little out of the way, but the quiet setting was perfect. The view from the main dining room was a great start to the day. The breakfasts provided were tasty, nicely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RBCS
Joanne O, Owner at Craignair Inn at Clark Island, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay! Thanks for helping to spread the word and we hope to see you again! Joanne and Michael

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 29 September 2015

The rooms in the inn were once rooms for the nearby quarry workers that is with in walking distance. BTW, it is a nice short walk. The rooms can be w/w out bathrooms. Rather simple rooms that are clean. Dinning room is good. Great place to eat for both breakfast and dinner. Breakfast is included. Isolated, quiet, lovely environment. Peaceful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nlwl
Joanne O, Owner at Craignair Inn at Clark Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Craignair Inn. It is a quiet, lovely and peaceful environment here, as you say! We are less than 15 minutes from Rockland, 40 minutes from Camden and an hour to Boothbay, so we're off the beaten path, but not too much! We are glad you enjoyed both dinner and breakfast here, and we look...

Jay, New York
Reviewed 22 September 2015 via mobile

The owner Joanne is lovely, and Mimi...their little dog is a doll! I booked through Groupon as a quick overnight stay enroute to The University of Maine, in Orono, and it was fine for the night. Since our booking options did not allow us to choose our room, we were disappointed in the accommodations. Room14 offers a private shower, which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AkitaBear
Joanne O, Owner at Craignair Inn at Clark Island, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review of the Craignair Inn. We are glad you were able to stay with us through a Groupon. Booking through a third party is always a little tricky! We have no way of contacting our guests who book this way, as we only receive the name and dates of the stay--no phone or email to...

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spruce Head
13.5 km away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
91 reviews
14.0 km away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
139 reviews
12.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 km away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
307 reviews
18.3 km away
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn
16.1 km away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Craignair Inn and Restaurant is walking distance from beautiful Clark Island via the causeway. We're at the end of a peninsula with relaxing rooms, unmatched food and gorgeous views. Craignair is just minutes to Rockland, 40 minutes to Camden and about an hour to Portland. Come enjoy the peace and serenity of Craignair Inn at Clark Island! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Craignair Inn at Clark Island

Address: 5 3rd St, Spruce Head, ME 04859-4241
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Spruce Head
Price Range: ₹ 6,677 - ₹ 11,604 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Craignair Inn at Clark Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Craignair Inn at Clark Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craignair Inn At Clark Island Hotel Spruce Head
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Craignair Inn at Clark Island staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Craignair Inn at Clark Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Enquire about en-suite rooms when you reserve and ask if the restaurant will be open.”
ldjohns945, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 2 or any on the ocean side of the Inn”
DBinNY, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“No working wifi in the rooms in some of their rooms”
ActiveRunningNTravel, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Get a top floor so it's quiet. Get a room with an ocean view.”
edenmb, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with ocean view are the best!”
543JayneM, 20 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5