We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rangeley Inn

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (151)
Room & Suite (47)
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Stay longer and SAVE more.
₹16,707
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Rangeley
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Witness the grandeur and charm of Rangeley's past in this beautifully restored landmark property dating to the late 19th century. All rooms are NON-SMOKING and have private bath, telephone, Cable TV, and free WiFi. Whether you're looking for an active adventure, scenic views, or just a few days of relaxation, Rangeley has something for everyone all year long. The Rangeley Inn also boasts a banquet facility to accommodate weddings, meetings, and retreats - with a multitude of catering options.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Canoeing
Hiking
Books, DVDs, music for children
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Wifi
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Fishing
Tennis court offsite
Board games / puzzles
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
2.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French
Hotel links
Special Rate:Stay longer and SAVE more.
254Reviews6Q+A65Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 187
  • 54
  • 9
  • 0
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Jean S wrote a review Jan 2024
3 contributions
The hotel was so beautiful, cozy and clean. The staff was beyond accommodating. One of the couples had an accident and they did everything they could to make it a perfect weekend in spite of their injuries. The Operations Manager, Debbie, even went to far as to get us a wheelchair for the duration of our stay. The Tavern was an additional asset. The drinks were good and the food was great too! Hope to get back there under better circumstances.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't skip the breakfast in the dining room. Make sure to spend some time in the Tavern as well....
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Travis Ferland, Owner at The Rangeley Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your kind words about our team. It's also nice to hear how much you enjoyed your visit, despite the turn of events. I hope that you will have an opportunity to stay with us again, and possibly experience Rangeley during another season. :-)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Deborah wrote a review Sept 2023
Frenchtown, New Jersey24 contributions15 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
Phenomenal service, attention to detail, passion for what they do to make your stay seamless and perfect makes this THE only place to stay in Rangeley for a true Maine experience. We booked a one bedroom suite right on the lake - which is an option besides the lovely rooms offered in the main hotel- and night after night had to pinch ourselves to believe how perfect our experience was being on the water. Mandy was so helpful in getting us checked in and settled for our stay. On top of this, the Inn has by far, THE best food offered in Rangeley for breakfast and dinner. The pan roasted salmon was the best I have ever had, and the thai wings are out of this world too! We loved the watermelon salad with feta, as well as a delicious summer fried green tomato salad. The wait staff are all devoted, hard working and attentive. Some of the waiters were the same ones that we met three years ago when we came to Rangeley for the first time. That's very unusual for a resort town, so it shows how well the owner Travis respects his employees and vice versa. Serban, Olivia, Lisa, and the remaining team here from Romania run a tight ship in both dining rooms, delivering attentive, caring service. This gem of a place is just that. A true gem, so book it now and enjoy the magic of Maine with this exceptional team that will have you coming back year after year. Bravo to ALL who made our stay so perfect and memorable, and thank you all for making our vacation so relaxing.. We will be back again soon!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Lady Gigglemug wrote a review Nov 2023
Monrovia, California2538 contributions465 helpful votes
+1
What a gem - positively magical place!! I came to the lakes region in search of Moose and Loons so I made sure to book a room in the Haley Pond Lodge section to be right on the water. And while I still haven’t found any moose, I saw my first loons in real life right behind my room AND managed to capture their haunting song on video right from my patio!! This beautiful inn has been around for over 100 years - and the inside of the main lodge is full of antiques and is oozing with Victorian charm - so warm and inviting!! All the staff were just fantastic- caring and eager to help and so friendly - in the lodge and the tavern both. I reserved a water view king room in the Haley Pond Lodge and it was huge!! Lots of shelf space and a huge patio overlooking the pond - just magnificent! The room had a standard coffee maker, microwave and fridge. The bathroom was beautiful and everything was spotlessly clean. Water pressure and temp worked perfectly. The grounds are the best part - there are mallard ducks all over the place. I saw two deer right outside my room when I first arrived. One night I heard a moose bugling (mating call) and it was so loud haha! Shame I never saw him lol. There are tons of species of waterfowl on the pond - I saw Ring-necked Ducks and Mergansers!! And the best part was I saw LOONS!! At first, I found a mated pair right out back from my room - and they were fishing - it was so fantastic! And I saw more out across the pond bathing and preening. The mornings were super foggy which created such an eerie ambiance and the loons were crying their haunting song - oh it was just magical! Breakfast isn’t included but is served daily. I didn’t try it so can’t speak to it but I did have dinner in the tavern one night and it was fabulous. I got the Parmesan crab dip and a tavern salad with grilled salmon - all totally delicious. I visited in late September so the fall foliage was just starting to come in - I can only imagine how gorgeous it is during peak foliage. This is a marvelous place to base yourself out of for wildlife chasing, skiing, summer fun on the lakes - for really any kind of vacation honestly. Haley Pond Lodge is detached from the main inn and set quite a ways back - but the grounds are easily walkable. There’s plenty of parking and it’s very centrally located in the adorable town of Rangeley. I even walked over to the huge Rangeley Lake a few times bc it’s so close - it’s especially wonderful at sunset. Prices for food and lodging are reasonable, even during peak seasons. All in all I had a great experience and will most definitely be back - without a doubt!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Travis Ferland, Owner at The Rangeley Inn
Responded 28 Nov 2023
Wow! This was a delight to read. We love our setting on Haley Pond and the prevalence of wildlife, and it's so pleasing to hear when our guests enjoy this as well. We also take pride in welcoming visitors to a well-maintained historic landmark offering affordable first rate accommodations and dining. It sounds like we accomplished that! Spotting moose can be incredibly difficult and there's no perfect approach, but I do suggest returning in May or June. Generally speaking, our guests report more sightings during that period. Hope we'll see you then!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sherpa2286 wrote a review Oct 2023
Alpharetta, Georgia593 contributions207 helpful votes
We had a great stay at The Rangeley Inn. Our room overlooked the pond and it was so comfortable we had cold cuts, cheese, bread, and wine on the porch for our dinner. Super quiet (until the lawn mower fired up at 8:15am), super clean, and a friendly staff. As a reminder this is not a B&B, but we walked 100 yards down the street to Classic Provisions and had a nice breakfast. Overall a fun stay and we were very happy with our choice.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Travis Ferland, Owner at The Rangeley Inn
Responded 8 Oct 2023
Thank you so much for sharing your experience! We're thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your accommodations. I have already spoken with our lawncare contractor regarding the timing of their service. Thank you for bringing this to our attention! We also offer a full breakfast menu here at the Inn, served daily in our elegant historic dining room. We hope you will give that a try on your next visit. :-)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Starviagera wrote a review Sept 2023
Florida2126 contributions1111 helpful votes
Love the room with a balcony to the lake. Nice well-designed rooms. Excellent front desk staff. The best hotel we have stayed in Maine. Making the tour of the waterfalls so we most go on but would easily stay here another night.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The rooms by the lake
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
organizergirl wrote a review Sept 2023
West Hartford, Connecticut13 contributions13 helpful votes
I stayed at the Rangeley Inn to attend a wedding over the weekend and o had the most marvelous experience. The inn was clean and our room had a great view of the pond. Perhaps the most impressive thing for me was how friendly and lovely the staff were. This is not to be taken for granted especially in 2023. If you’re looking for an idyllic escape from the hustle and bustle of life you should consider checking this place out.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
terdon2016 wrote a review Sept 2023
Wichita, Kansas17 contributions4 helpful votes
Charming inn, front desk staff was very friendly and helped with local places to eat and sight seeing. Breakfast staff was friendly and the breakfast was reasonably priced and delicious. Rooms were clean and the towels were plush.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
louisp773 wrote a review Sept 2023
3 contributions
Anyone with any knowledge of Rangeley (new visitors and permanent residents alike) knows there are many reasons to stop by the Rangeley Inn & Tavern—from its deep sense of living Rangeley history, beautiful architecture, spectacular views to its legacy of greatness and celebrity connections. Here are three more reasons to eat breakfast at The Rangeley Inn & Tavern: 1) Outrageously Reasonable Prices. Breakfast menus in Rangeley can be complicated, reduced to a la carte pricing which (if you’re like me) one needs two cups of coffee to be awake enough to compute the cost. Example: A 3-egg omelet is, say, $12.95. It includes cheese but you want it with sausage (add $2), onions (add $.50) peppers (add $.50), and tomatoes (add $.50). Toast will run an additional $1, home fries $2.50, and $3.95 for coffee, for a total of $23.90 plus tax and tip. Rangeley I&T offers simple “prix fixe” inclusive pricing. A 3-egg omelet is $18—period, including cheese, however many items you wish, choice of toast, delectable herb fried potatoes—and coffee! That’s just a crazy affordable price for a very satisfying meal with appealing cloth service, amazing atmosphere, a wonderful morning staff…and free coffee refills. Whoever is responsible for this practical pricing is a genius. 2) Accessibility. Clear signage--easy to find, easy to park, easy to walk in—no stairs, climbing, or awkward mazes. Instantly find yourself at a table and ready to enjoy a superb experience. 3) Great service with an international flair. The morning team of servers is comprised of four students enrolled in a J-Visa program who spend their summer working at the Rangeley Inn & Tavern, improving their already-solid command of the English language, polishing their communication skills and business aptitude, while experiencing a unique once-in-a-lifetime American adventure. They are professional, attentive, gentle, and friendly and their interesting stories add a unique flavor to this Rangeley dining experience. Kudos to The Rangeley Inn & Tavern for providing this equally enriching opportunity for the students, their customers, and the community. And on your way out, be sure to explore the Hotel Lobby or mingle in the Sitting Room or Garden Room to take in some fabulous photos and memorabilia…like having a free ticket to the Rangeley Museum.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
BrendaCConway_NH wrote a review Sept 2023
Conway, New Hampshire91 contributions72 helpful votes
Wonderful historic inn, right downtown Rangeley. Walk to the lake, shopping, restaurants, etc. Very friendly staff at the front desk, lounge and restaurant. Large, clean rooms. Everything was great. We will be back! Don’t hesitate to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Captainkingfisher wrote a review Aug 2023
Stuart, Florida5 contributions1 helpful vote
My wife and I just returned from a three-day stay at the Ridgeley Inn. The staff were courteous and helpful, and the room near the pond was clean and exactly as we expected. However, if you are planning a stay, be aware there is no housekeeping. For the price, we were expecting at least the minimum of emptying trash cans and clean towels. The staff explained that since COVID-19, housekeeping has been suspended. There is a note in the room that you can pick up clean towels halfway through your stay if staying longer than three days. Using COVID to justify the lack of housekeeping is a stretch and a disappointment.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Travis Ferland, Owner at The Rangeley Inn
Responded 2 Sept 2023
Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience. I would like to clarify our housekeeping policy to prevent any confusion. We are happy to accommodate requests for fresh towels and amenities or to empty trash on any day. For guests who are staying longer than 3 nights, we offer a full cleaning of the room halfway through their visit - at a time that is convenient for them. Please note that it is clearly stated on our website, online reservations, and on confirmations that we do not have daily housekeeping service. Since COVID many of our guests have declined housekeeping services - and we have also been confronted with high inflation. Rather than charge higher rates for a service our guests aren't using, I made the decision to exclude daily housekeeping services. This approach is not unique to The Rangeley Inn - many hotels have scaled back on daily housekeeping services for the same reasons. I'm sorry you were told it was "because of covid" - this is an oversimplification and I can understand why that would seem like a stretch. It is helpful to know that you would have liked daily housekeeping service. I will take this into consideration as we plan for upcoming seasons. One solution might be to offer a reduced rate for our guests who wish to forego the service.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Rangeley area.
PRICE RANGE
₹14,913 - ₹19,387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rangeley hotel rangeley
LOCATION
United StatesMaineRangeley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE RANGELEY INN (Maine) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Rangeley Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Rangeley Inn?
Nearby attractions include Rangeley Region Sports Shop (0.3 km), Books, Lines And Thinkers (0.3 km), and Hunter Cove Wildlife Sanctuary (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Rangeley Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Rangeley Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Rangeley Inn?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Rangeley Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Rangeley Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Parkside & Main Restaurant, Pine Tree Frosty, and Red Onion.
Is The Rangeley Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Rangeley.
Does The Rangeley Inn offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Rangeley Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Does The Rangeley Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.
Is The Rangeley Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.