We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,024 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 969: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

My wife and I were in town for a concert this past weekend and decided to book with the Holiday Inn last minute. Sadly, within an hour of booking we found out the concert we were going to sold out and we were stuck with a room we didn't need. The staff were extremely helpful and understanding and cancelled the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bgprelgo
Mystic, Connecticut
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A fun weekend in Portland thanks to the hotel staff and their shuttle that runs until 1:00 a.m. The shuttle let us go to more places then we could have walked to. And after a couple of drinks we don't drive so this was a big plus having a complementary ride.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stanley S
Salem MA
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed here at least ten times over the past decade. The hotel has a fine location: A ten-minute walk to the Old Port and its shops and brilliant restaurant scene. The Portland Museum of Art (wonderful exhibitions) is a block away. You can take in a movie at the small multiplex two blocks away, or stroll along the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheBigSuitcase
Management response:

Thank you very much for your very thorough and kind review. We do sincerely apologize for the issue you experienced retrieving your keys. Over the last few weeks we have completely overhauled our lost and found process which will ensure you will not experience this same irritating issue again after your next visit with us.

Groton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Conveniently located to all the great restaurants. Very easy parking but not free. Large hotel so do expect some noise on the weekends. Very clean rooms and very friendly staff. View of the bay is ok but is not terribly scenic.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Molly D
Elizabeth B, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review

Molly, Thank you for taking time to share your experience. I am so happy to hear you were happy with your room and our team members. We hope to have you back soon.

Holden, ME
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our two-night stay was comfortable and didn't break the bank. Given that we were here in late fall, that probably helped with the cost of the accommodations. The room was clean, although it was kind of small. It was also a handicapped-accessible room with a light-up "doorbell" that didn't work. When we first got in to the room, we realized...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank seefleur
Elizabeth B, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed review. We appreciate this type of feedback from our guests so we may better serve you. It is great to hear that you had such a positive experience with our team members. Again, thank you for your time and we hope to have you back soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a very nice hotel with spectacular views of Casco Bay that can't be matched by other newer hotels in Old Port. We stayed in a king water view which was very nice, clean, and comfortable. Parking is on site in covered garage for $10 per day. This is new charge but is well worth it. Most attractions in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank george b
Management response:

George, Thank you for taking time to share your experience. Our King Water View rooms do offer the most beautiful views of Casco Bay! We are so happy you had a great stay and we look forwards to having you with us again. Libby B. Executive Housekeeper Holiday Inn by the Bay - Portland

Sullivan, Maine
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Holiday Inn Express has always been a good deal. Yes, it is a touch more expensive, but for a suite and the quality they provide, it's a GREAT deal. The bed is comfortable, the rooms are clean, the staff is cooperative and professional. I miss NOT having a restaurant on the property, but we were close enough that it's not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Revjerry44
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

This hotel is very pretty. We woke up and could see the view of the water! My first question is why the staff was so uneducated in their hotel when we called. They said they had a standard room with 2 beds. When we asked if they were full size or queen they didn't know. They were full size and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank irishxstine
Hartford, CT
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We stayed here one night over Thanksgiving weekend while visiting family. Other family members had stayed here before and recommended it. We had a very positive experience. It's not fancy, but is quite comfortable and clean. The size of the room and bathroom are good. The beds are comfortable. My sister raved about how good the pillows felt, and she...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ArtTrippers
Management response:

Thank you very much for the taking the time to give your perspective on our hotel. Our staff works very hard to provide our guests with a comfortable stay. Reading your thoughtful and pleasant review certainly let's us know we're on the right track. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

This hotel was very accommodating. I was offered a late checkout. I could walk to everywhere that I wanted to go in the city for a fun night out. They even offered a free shuttle around the entire city. Not only at pickup locations but they came and got me after dinner and a couple drinks right in front of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alex5014

189 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (165)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.3 km away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.5 km away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
4.0 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland
0.3 km away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
When you visit the historic, exciting and alluring waterfront City of Portland, why not stay in the midst of it? Award-winning hotel with elegant decor and spectacular views. Just steps away, the Old Port thrives with unique shops, diverse restaurants and a working waterfront. Turn the corner and Portland's new Arts District surrounds the Hotel with the art museum, Children's Museum, galleries and historic homes. The L.L. Bean Factory Outlet Store and Civic Center are only a block away! Jetport is 10 minutes away; courtesy vans are available. Choose from Executive Rooms, Suites and Double/Double Rooms. For your meetings and conventions, let us show you our 14,510 sq. ft. of meeting space and our 12,500 sq. ft. exhibit hall. Our convention coordinators will handle all of your meeting details, including spouse tours and island lobster bakes! Let us show you the pleasure of business in Maine, BY THE BAY. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay

Address: 88 Spring Street, Portland, ME 04101
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Price Range: ₹ 6,964 - ₹ 19,390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Hotel Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Portland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Boston, Massachusetts
3 months ago
Rhode Island
over a year ago
Hopkinton, Ma

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I don't think there's a bad room anywhere.”
 of 5 bubbles Revjerry44, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“6th floor and above”
 of 5 bubbles 43lees, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“High floor, Bay view, corner room is larger.”
 of 5 bubbles Rinaharel, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't receive or eat in lounge”
 of 5 bubbles gavph, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“all rooms have a city view but hotel is far from the port and you won;'t have a water view inspite the misleading name.”
 of 5 bubbles mody771, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay