We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fireside Inn & Suites Portland

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Panoramas (18)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

587 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
See the most recent reviews
Showing 568: English reviews
Rumford, Rhode Island, United States
Reviewed 26 August 2015 via mobile

Extremely dated....the rug was buckled up and damp all over ...mildew around bath tub. ..hairs hanging from lamp shade...unpleasant odor in room.To be fair...management would have moved us..but they were booked solid..and did refund our charge. Just disappointed because that whole 24 hours was wasted ...pool indoors was coldl water and hot as hell air ..outdoor pool water was way...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne S
firesideinnportland, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review

Thank you for being so honest. We will use your feedback to improve our problem areas. Glad your money was refunded as we were not able to move you to another room. Please try us again in the future and I am sure you will find a much cleaner room.

Reviewed 22 August 2015

It wasn't the worst, but it wasn't the best. I know they're renovating, but if possible -- do yourself a favor and find this out ahead of time. I find it a bit confusing why they'd put us in an old room when it was clear the hotel wasn't fully booked. I should have done a bit of research to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vilay D
firesideinnportland, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review

You are correct we are in the process of updating rooms and will continue to do so after our peak season ends. As far as mold in the rooms that certainly shouldn't be there. We have passed this info along to our housekeeping department to make sure they are cleaning as deep as they should be. Thanks for pointing this...

Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewed 16 August 2015

This is an older hotel, but was very clean and staff were pleasant and helpful. I can appreciate the work that has and is going into making this a nice place to stay in Portland. We only spent one night here, but booked another night to finish our trip in Maine.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank auntdeb2013
firesideinnportland, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review

We are happy you enjoyed your visit with us. We are working at updating and making minor changes without going over board. Glad you are enjoying them!

Milan, Italy
Reviewed 14 August 2015

I just spent a night at this motel and we had a good experience. The rooms were big and clean with everything we needed in the rooms. The furniture are not new, but it's a motel. The complimentary breakfast is cold food only, but it's ok, we had breakfast in the restaurant since there was enough room. There' sang indoor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cricca72
firesideinnportland, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our amenities. Hope to see you again in the future!

Easthampton MA
Reviewed 14 August 2015

There were many negative reviews of this property that to me are simply not accurate. The property is clean, the staff is very helpful, the restaurant is reasonable, free coffee in lobby, and the pool is spotless. Everything works in the spotless room and the beds were extremely comfortable. This is a busy Inn and the staff is working to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 24thIDTraveller
firesideinnportland, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review

WOW! Thank you for your kinds words. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Laval, Canada
Reviewed 13 August 2015

Good location in Portland, near highways. Nice pool area. But they still have carpeted floors and unscreened windows. Good mattress, convenient furniture, good size rooms and easy parking. Did not try the hotel restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank francefm
New York City, New York
Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

My 2 friends and were booked at fireside inn through a tour of new england. We stayed 2 nights. Fireside inn has cold complimentary breakfast only, but You have to take your breakfast to your room because there is no other place to sit and eat. The rooms were old fashioned but a decent size and The beds were pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neenee95
firesideinnportland, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review

The area you are describing sounds like another Fireside Inn, located in Auburn. We are the Portland location with an all American restaurant named Zackery's!

Augusta, Maine
Reviewed 10 August 2015

Everything about this hotel was great! Very convenient location, close to everything we needed! Loved that we could just cross the street and go to Ruby Tuesday for dinner. The outdoor pool and patio area was gorgeous even though we didn't have enough time to use it. The decor is a little dated, but clean and inviting, so no complaints...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zadakiska9
firesideinnportland, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again soon.

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 9 August 2015

The hotel is terribly outdated and not clean. Mold in the bathroom, torn curtains and filthy carpeting. The food is awful which I didn't mind because they never had enough food for our group anyway. There were other groups that came in and there was not enough food for them either.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nmtx2015
firesideinnportland, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review

Sounds like you weren't very happy with your stay. We apologize. We would like to hear more about what we could have done better. Please email us if you would like to chat at info@firesideinnportland.com

Niceville, Florida
Reviewed 8 August 2015

Found the hotel shuttle system to be extremely accommodating regarding my needs in regards to airport pickup, rental car pickup/return and transportation to our cruise ship. the food service was excellent. Would stay there again if the opportunity arises.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fred E
firesideinnportland, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review

We might not be the newest property in Portland but we have darn good employees who really love their jobs! Thanks for sharing your kind words with us.

332 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (252)
Viewed
Amenities (21)
Viewed
Fireplace King Room (24)
Viewed
Fireplace Suite (45)
Viewed
Hot Tub Suite (30)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Poolside Double Room (19)
Viewed
Poolside King Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (21)
Viewed
Standard King Room (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 km away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
1,460 reviews
6.5 km away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
1,267 reviews
3.5 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
The Westin Portland Harborview
6.6 km away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
6.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Zackery's Fireside Restaurant & Lounge
Zackery's Fireside Restaurant & Lounge
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We offer today’s features with yesterday’s charm. Just minutes from the Portland Jetport and situated directly off I-95 Exit 48, our travel-friendly location is easily accessible. With its comfortable rooms, courtyard views and hospitality, the Fireside Inn & Suites Portland is the ideal choice for you and your family while visiting the Greater Portland Area.While staying with us, we invite you to enjoy Zackery’s Fireside Restaurant for dinner and evening entertainment. Our menus appeal to a wide set of tastes and we are extremely proud of our Staff. Please browse them at your leisure. We serve breakfast, dinner and wonderful desserts! We also have a full bar in Zack’s Club Lounge and offer drink specials for Happy Hour. We are pretty creative with martinis too! Whether you are joining us for business or pleasure, we are waiting for you! While you are here, why not relax by our Lobby Fireplace. Enjoy our late afternoon complimentary fresh coffee right here! Stay with us and each guest will receive a FREE Isamax Snacks Wicked Whoopie Pie! The Whoopie Pie is Maine’s Official State Treat (officially becoming law on September 28, 2011)! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites Portland

Address: 81 Riverside Street, Portland, ME 04103 (Formerly Holiday Inn Portland West)
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Price Range: ₹ 6,026 - ₹ 14,215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn & Suites Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
Fireside Inn And Suites Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fireside Inn & Suites Portland staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Oceanside, New York
Cochrane, Wisconsin
20 days ago
Hadley, Massachusetts
7 months ago
10 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Fireside Inn & Suites Portland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check your local newspaper as we found a coupon to use for our stay. It saved us $15-$20!!!”
 of 5 bubbles countygrl, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for queen rooms as those have new mattresses. Rooms also have carpets removed so better for those with asthma & allergy-prone.”
 of 5 bubbles 680dicks, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Accessibility to the interstate”
 of 5 bubbles P8215RVdebbiel, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“check out the fireplace king rooms”
 of 5 bubbles jackiewA4776YO, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Courtyard view then you have no chance of hearing vehicles.”
 of 5 bubbles JimboMassachusetts, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5