We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Inn at St. John

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Inn at St. John
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

636 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 614: English reviews
Start your review of Inn at St. John
 Click to rate
Albany, Oregon
Reviewed 1 week ago

From the moment I walked in, I felt welcomed. This is one of the oldest hotels in the city still functioning. That was one of the main reasons it attracted me. The other was the price. While other hotels in the city wanted triple digits for a night, this one was available for significantly less. This hotel has a definite...

Thank Denise V
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

Denise V- Thank you for taking the time to write positive feedback about your recent stay. Our goal is to provide a friendly and welcoming atmosphere with rooms that are clean and well appointed. We are always looking for ways to improve and your suggestions will be taken into consideration. Thanks again and hope to see you in the future!

DownEast and Acadia Maine, Maine
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the second time I stayed there. The first was during the summer months. It's a very quaint and funky hotel. The price is right. The breakfast is very basic. The rooms are clean and well appointed. If the room is facing Congress St., it's noisy at night with the traffic. During this recent stay (a few days ago)...

Thank Philip F
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

Philip F- Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Every review is read and taken seriously whether it be positive or negative. Per your suggestions, changes are being made where possible. Yes it's true, we are a quaint and funky hotel (120 yrs old) but every day a lot of work goes into the building so everyone has a relaxing and enjoyable...

Lynn, Massachusetts
Reviewed 25 March 2017

Recently stayed one night and booked on-line, not having seen the hotel before. We enjoyed our stay, four visitors , three rooms. Everyone liked their room, all rooms different, unique. There is no elevator so stairs is the way to go, however, front desk, support staff were amazingly helpful and offered to carry all bags up steep stairs. I have...

Thank Kathleen C
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

Kathleen C- Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review about your stay with us here at the Inn. Our friendly staff works hard to insure every guest has a relaxing and enjoyable experience while visiting the great city of Portland. Thanks again and hope to see you in the future!

Manchester, NH
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

I wish there were half stars, this would be a 3.5. I didn't feel right giving it just a 3, but it's not quite a 4. PROS: We liked our room (8B), it was roomy enough with a spacious bathroom. Mini fridge and tv with 40+ channels. We didn't have any noise problems. Those who complain need to realize this...

Thank FoodLustNH
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

FoodLustNH- On behalf of the Inn at St. John I would like to thank you for offering both positive and negative feedback. Your positive comments about the spacious room and accommodations are greatly appreciated. We take constructive feedback seriously and do the best we can to make appropriate changes in timely manor. Some of the changes we will be making...

South Lancaster, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

We decided to stay in Portland for a few nights and had seen this Inn on a previous day trip into the City. The Inn is very nicely decorated and very charming. Our room was one the first floor and located in the back which is nice as you aren't facing Congress Street which can get busy. The room is...

Thank Alan B
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

Alan B- Thank you for choosing the Inn at St John for your stay in Portland, Maine. your comments about our decor and friendly staff is greatly appreciated. We offer a variety of amenities to insure every guest has a relaxing and comfortable stay while visiting the city. Thanks again and look forward to seeing you in the future!

Manchester, NH
Reviewed 9 March 2017

What a beautiful room! Staying here is more like being in a lovely, historic bed and breakfast than a hotel room. There are lots of little touches like colored towels, robes, a Keurig, mini fridge and complimentary cookies and beverages. Amused that the toilet paper and tissues are folded into little fans. Nice breakfast in a charming lobby. Not your...

Thank lillygemily
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

lillygemily- Thank you so much for writing a beautiful review about your stay with us here at the Inn! We think all the personal touches are important for guests to feel comfortable and at home. From check in to check out, out staff take a tremendous amount of pride in the presentation so every guest has a pleasant experience. Thanks...

Woodbridge, Virginia
Reviewed 4 March 2017

I booked through my travel agency and requested a room for a few nights with my husband. The hospital next door had sirens going off all night and ambulances in and out. When we arrived to the hotel we were given a very small room with a very small bed. Then we also had a shared bath which was terrible...

1Thank sashaandshanejones88
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

DON'T BE FOOLED BY THIS REVIEW! These guests were incredibly rude to my staff and failed to mention their uncalled for behavior. 1. The guests chose/booked the particular room style that was just remodeled with new carpets, wallpaper, and window treatments. 2. The Housekeeper notified me the guests were lighting candles in the room. I called and respectfully explained, due...

New Sharon, Maine
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Really a nice, comfortable inn. Rooms were very clean and nice and the staff was very helpful and friendly. There were many nice amenities, too (such as free cookies!). It is also very conveniently located, just 2-3 minute drive from downtown Portland. Will stay here again!

Thank mainegeographer
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

mainegeographer- On behalf of all of us here at the Inn, we are thrilled you had a wonderful stay. Our hope is that every guest has a memorable stay in a clean, cozy, and friendly atmosphere. Thank you for the positive feedback and hope to see you again in the future!

Reviewed 24 February 2017

We picked this inn because it was so close to Maine Medical Center. It was delightful. We had a ground floor room with exposed brick on one wall. It was nicely decorated. The bathroom was well appointed with robes and slippers; even toothbrushes. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

Thank cmoreskier
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

cmoreskier- Thank you for choosing the Inn at St John for your stay in Portland, Maine. Your wonderful feedback is greatly appreciated and we are thrilled you thought highly of us. Hope to see you again in the future!

Reviewed 1 February 2017

I have stayed at the Inn at St. John several times and have always loved it. The rooms are quaint and well appointed and have an old world charm. The staff is always pleasant and the location is great.

Thank Ernest R
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

Ernest R- Thank you for being a loyal repeat guest and for the wonderful comments about your stay. It was a pleasure having you and hope to see you again in the future!

149 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (141)
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Bathroom (12)
Room/Suite (42)
Dining (2)
View from Room (4)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (8)
Room/Suite (3)
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.9 km away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,285 reviews
1.2 km away
The Westin Portland Harborview
1.9 km away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
2.2 km away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
5.0 km away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Inn at St. John

Address: 939 Congress St, Portland, ME 04102-3031
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Price Range: ₹ 4,366 - ₹ 9,375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at St. John 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at St. John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At St. John Hotel Portland
Inn At St John Portland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Inn at St. John staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Inn at St. John staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room that doesn't face Congress street (or bring earplugs for the traffic).”
444philipf, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms are on a main Street with a hospital near by”
854kathleenc, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for rear of hotel”
tpdstag, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask if the baths are in the room, some are shared, but was never a problem for us.”
Angelofmcy, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“5A is a beautiful room. Facing the back of the building, it is not noisy at all. The tiny shower could be a problem for VERY BIG people.”
AndreSalgado, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5