We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

1,359 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 1,327: English reviews
Start your review of Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

In town with friends. The location of hotel was perfect for walking to restaurants and shops. Staff was great and room was spacious and clean. The complimentary breakfast had a great selection to choose from. We would definitely stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank lobsterMaine
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

Based on reviews I chose this hotel. It was our first time visiting Portland. I can tell you that the location is perfect! It's one street over from the water. I payed extra for a waterfront room. Thank you to the person on here who recommend room 408 for having a fantastic view!! With the HH program I was able...

2Thank PAdisneyfan
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Lindsey S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello, I am delighted to hear the team here was able to accommodate in what seems to be every way. We love Portland here too and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay!. 408 is an awesome room I agree. I will be sure to share your feedback with our team. I am looking forward to welcoming you back...

Hallowell, Maine
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great staff and location in Portland, lots of great restaurants handy to the hotel. Shuttle service wherever you want to go. Close to the harbor ferry to go see the islands (good day trips). Was too cold that weekend for a walk around but most times there is great fun in walking around the old port area. Shopping, museums, great...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank leemD6826RU
Arlington, Massachusetts
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The good: Big room, lots of horizontal spaces and drawers. Good sized bathroom with adequate lighting. Good sized closet with sufficient hangers. Easy access to WiFi. Light-darkening shades really did the job. Good water pressure and shower. Microwave, fridge and coffee maker. Good choices for free breakfast buffet. The bad: Too soft and somewhat lumpy bed. The people we were...

Thank SisBoston
Mandeville, Louisiana
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great stay- friendly professionals and a great location. Very comfortable and clean room and great bed. I loved having Sebago brew pub in the lobby. After a long day, it was great to have awesome food and beer right there without having to brace the winter storm.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank 828jaclynn
Wells, Maine
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great get away. The hotel offers a nice breakfast and weekend cocktail hour in the morning with mimosas. The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable. The only downside is paying to park. You have to park in the garage next door and you get a discounted rate. Parking should be free but it is not.

1Thank Leanne L
Millinocket, Maine
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great room for an extremely fair price, the location is perfect and the staff go above and beyond for guests. Being in the heart of the Old Port, once you check in, the valet takes your vehicle and you're a short walk from all the shops, eateries and bars.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank WorldTraveler_Jones
Newbury, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago

The only hotel that I have experienced allowing 5 in a room and with no additional fees. I find it hard to get the exact room number you want. Even when you request it there is always some kind of glitch. My family does have a favorite room.

Thank Pricedubus10
Lindsey S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. So happy you enjoyed. If you call us direct we can always place room requests on your stay record for your favorite room. IF you are exploring e-checkin you are correct it may be more difficult for this I apologize. We actualy do have an additional...

Windsor, Maine
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The location is excellent, the price is decent, the free breakfast is extensive with waffles, bacon or sausage, eggs, potatoes, cereal, pastries, and fruit. The beds were really comfortable and the rooms are nice. This was my third stay in the last year. One stay I was on the second floor and experienced a horrible exhaust smell. I smelled this...

Thank elspeth78
Lindsey S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to detail out your stay with us. I truly want to apologize for the staining on your sheets and assure you sheets are indeed changed daily. we must have missed the stain and appreciate you being as kind as you have been understanding this. The smell on the 2nd floor is related...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here 1 night on business. I must have got the largest room in the building it was immense! with a huge desk which was perfect as I worked here late with a colleague. Very clean, modern and quiet. Great service. Typical breakfast but attached to a really nice micro brewery. Slept well. A very nice stay.

1Thank Mactoki
Lindsey S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello, Sleep is so impritant to us we are so happy you enjoyed! We cannot wait to see you again soon! My best, Lindsey

513 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (114)
Room/Suite (33)
View from Room (17)
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Dining (4)
Bathroom (10)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Other (30)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

All TripAdvisor Photos (347)
Amenities (41)
King Studio Suite With View (62)
Pool (21)
Standard King Room (49)
The Hotel (65)
Two Queen Beds (58)
Two Queen Beds With View Room (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (52)
Dining (8)
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Room/Suite (16)
Bathroom (3)
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.6 km away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
1,266 reviews
1.2 km away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.3 km away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
0.8 km away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hampton Inn® Portland/Downtown - Waterfront hotel is nestled in the city's Old Port District and offers breathtaking views of lovely Casco Bay and the historic waterfront. Stroll along the cobblestone streets as you explore the many boutiques, museums, galleries and bustling cafes. There's so much to see and do within walking distance of our Portland hotel! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Address: 209 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Price Range: ₹ 9,156 - ₹ 25,898 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Hotel Portland
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“5th floor facing Fore Street has a harbor view.”
 of 5 bubbles Urban68, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“do not pay for waterfront when you see more water in your bathtub”
 of 5 bubbles claudiog788, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get forth floor with the bay biew”
 of 5 bubbles Niveabona, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for ocean view.”
 of 5 bubbles jayh424, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors for less noise”
 of 5 bubbles smilinice, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5