We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Old Colonial Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Old Colonial Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Old Colonial Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 152: English reviews
Canada
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Not renovated at all. Very over priced. Only positive point great location but will never returned ever. Nothing good to say about it . Dirty old smelly yack. I added a few pictures and its bad but worse in real life. Not recommanded at all..........................................................................................

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dencrown
OldColonialManager, Front Office Manager at Old Colonial Motel, responded to this review

We apologize for the cumbersome you encountered while staying with us. We wish you had mentioned something to a staff member so we could have adjusted the matters while you were here and enhance you stay. Regardless, we thank you for coming and wish you all the best in your endeavors.

Montreal, Quebec
Reviewed 18 August 2016

It's been a few times already that we are staying at the Old Colonial for our family vacation and we are always pleased by the location and the excellent service provided by the staff. I recommend this place.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evelyne S
OldColonialManager, Manager at Old Colonial Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us this great review. We're glad we could accommodate you well during your stay, and glad that you are planning to come back. We look forward to having you again!

Richfield Springs, New York
Reviewed 17 August 2016

This place was great for the kids Nice clean rooms friendly staff. Had an ocean view. Frige wasn't working they came right up and fixed it. Needed 2 rooms and they put us right next to each other. I would go back again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mimi195675
OldColonialManager, Jake at Old Colonial Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us this great review. We're glad we could accommodate you well during your stay, and glad that you are planning to come back. We look forward to having you again!

Monroe, New York, United States
Reviewed 14 August 2016

We visited for 4 nights, and enjoyed our time there. I have more compliments than I do complaints. The staff are above and beyond wonderful, helpful, friendly and so ready to be there for anything you may need. The pool is crystal clear, and clean. So nice to jump in after a day out and it was so warm. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary G
OldColonialManager, Manager at Old Colonial Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As we discussed the bathrooms in the kitchen units are bigger.We wish we could have done more to make your stay more than what it was but we're happy you had a good time nevertheless. We will be working harder over the winter to improve our hotel so please come...

West Haven, Vermont, United States
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Realized last minute (Thursday) that the vacation I planned was off by one day (thought I was vacationing in OOB Fri-Mon, turns out it was Sat-Tues). Seeing the forecast I knew I had to find a place for Friday night. Called numerous places, as you can imagine being in a Friday night peak season, I was having no luck. Fortunately...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzen E
OldColonialManager, Manager at Old Colonial Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you plan to make it annual. We have a vast family of return customers and we are excited for you to be a part of it!

Brewer, Maine
Reviewed 11 August 2016

I found this place to be quite a great location. A short walk to the beach and pier. It did its purpose and gave a place to sleep while taking off and exploring during the days. I cant wait to go back next summer. It was my first visit and I plan on making it a summer routine to visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caseygrndmnt0
OldColonialManager, Jake at Old Colonial Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you plan to make it annual. We have a vast family of return customers and we are excited for you to be a part of it!

Tabernacle, New Jersey
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

The Old Colonial Motel staff is wonderful and so is the motel. The staff picked me up and dropped me off at the train station!!!!! Talk about service that is definitely going above and beyond and was much appreciated. The accommodations itself are great. The room was so clean!!!!!! The cleaning staff is excellent. Yes, the building is old but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lauren8283
OldColonialManager, Manager at Old Colonial Motel, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for that awesome review. We are happy we were able to help you form the train station to the hotel. I would like you to know that we always try to do our best to ensure our guests are well taken care of. Hence, if it requires us to do more we will oblige. I will commend...

Norway, Maine
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

I called around to quite a few motels in OOB before I chose this one. I wanted a motel right on the beach and this one is. Also when I was calling different places Rudy was by far the most helpful and kind. The price in the off season I thought is very reasonable. My friends and I very much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chnorway26
OldColonialManager, Manager at Old Colonial Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for that great review. Its always good to know that someone stayed here and had a good time. It also good when you share it to the world because others will know about us. Please come back to stay with us as we strive on creating another great experience for you.

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Great location, right on the beach, just far enough and just close enough to the pier, if that makes sense. We were in room #8 and while it was not the cleanest (this is a beach motel, you have to be realistic too) and could use a renovation, it was very comfortable and we really enjoyed our week there. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jflafond
OldColonialManager, Manager at Old Colonial Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for that great review. We wish we could have done more to make your stay more than what it was but we're happy you had a good time nevertheless. We will be working harder over the winter to improve our hotel so please come and visit us again. Thanks for coming again.

Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewed 29 July 2016

we have been staying there for the past five years and it is awesome.the staff are there to help with any of your needs.ice machine hot tub and a pool,the beach is just steps awaywe will be there again in a few weeks cant wait :0)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
OldColonialManager, Jake at Old Colonial Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this great review. We appreciate your return business, and look forward to seeing you again in a few weeks!

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.3 km away
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal In...
#34 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
155 reviews
1.5 km away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#11 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
426 reviews
2.5 km away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#10 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Crest Motel
Crest Motel
#8 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
179 reviews
0.6 km away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#23 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
181 reviews
0.7 km away
Marvin Gardens Motel
Marvin Gardens Motel
#31 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
30 Unit recently updated motel located directly on the beach with great ocean views. Within walking distance to the downtown area and arcade and amusement park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Colonial Motel

Address: 61 W Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2644
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Price Range: ₹ 6,742 - ₹ 16,625 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Colonial Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Old Colonial Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Colonial Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Old Colonial Orchard Beach
Old Colonial Motel Old Orchard Beach, Maine
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Old Colonial Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It's not worth it.”
  • I think the pic speaks for itself.
 of 5 bubbles nyyjeter2, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the "suite" located in room 7- because its not one”
  • Our
  • Very few outlets and they wouldn't hold a plug. Sparked when you plugged them in sometimes
  • Lampshade in the bedroom along with missing mud from around light
  • Behind toilet. No trim, missing tiles and very dirty
  • Tile area around our bathroom sink (missing tiles but lots of grout)
  • Grout never removed from tile. Missing tiles and radiator is gross
 of 5 bubbles 309bentleyg, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to get an ocean front room (you will need to book waaay in advance).”
 of 5 bubbles beachdoll_11, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the water are a little more expensive, but have a nice patio and a great view”
 of 5 bubbles PeggyN692, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Two queens with kitchenette facing ocean was expensive and could barely see ocean over tall grass but it was a short walk to the ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles heidriss, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5