We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Old Colonial Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Management photos
Old Colonial Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

157 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 151: English reviews
Burlington, Vermont
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Stayed there at the end of August when my husband did a triathlon. We couldn't have been happier. The location was perfect, and the room had everything we needed. Though there were a lot of guests there, the room was quiet. Even loved the pool!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 07Vegan
OldColonialManager, Front Office Manager at Old Colonial Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again next year!!

Corinna, Maine
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 24 June 2016

Great place to stay, right on the beach. Rooms are clean and very spacious. We had room #14 was facing the beach and has it's own private porch with a hot tub all yours. Very friendly staff. Close to downtown so you can park and walk to all the attractions downtown. We go here every year for our anniversary. Been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patty T
About Hotel's Favourite Review
OldColonialManager, Jake at Old Colonial Motel, responded to this review

We always appreciate our return customers, and we're so honored to hear you come for your anniversary. And yes, our oceanfront with private balcony and hot tub is quite the hit! Thank you for this wonderful response and we look forward to accommodating you in the future.

United States
Reviewed 4 October 2016

I spent two nights here this weekend in room 7 which was a "2 bedroom suite". It was nothing like the photos online. First let me tell you that Im a laid back traveler and don't get too excited if things aren't perfect but I do expect a maintained and clean room. With that being said...The kitchenette consisted of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bentley G
OldColonialManager, Front Office Manager at Old Colonial Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. The room you were in was a 1 bedroom suite not a kitchen unit. The kitchen units have a kitchen sink, stove, dishes etc. The out door hot tub is located in a corner of the building. We are in the process of doing renovations on our rooms. Thank you...

Swansea, Massachusetts
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

I recently stayed at this motel and found the room in need of much repair. The bathroom was poorly constructed with poor trim work, open areas with no tile, and the tile that was there was grouted but the grout wasn't wiped off the tile before it dried. There was no surface in the bathroom to put anything down larger...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deb G
OldColonialManager, General Manager at Old Colonial Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry you did nt enjoy your stay. We do have hairdryers for use in the office. The bathrooms in our separate bedroom units are compact. The hot tub is located in the corner of the building. We try to utilize all the space we have available to us. We are doing renovations this fall. Thank you for your...

Canterbury
Reviewed 29 September 2016

At first, we were a bit worried about staying here. The outside of the building is very retro (1960s). We were happy to find that although our room was on the smallish side, we had our very own hot tub and deck and access to the beach was a short walk down a path. Room had kitchen and table (sparsely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beachdoll_11
OldColonialManager, Manager at Old Colonial Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for that review. Apparently you had a good experience and we are pleased to know that. We are sorry we were unable to resolve some of the issues you encountered speedily. However, as you noted we are renovating most of our rooms so next time we hope to guarantee you better experience. Please come visit us...

Oxford, Maine
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

Old colonial is right on the beach. Waking up hearing the waves crash & seeing the ocean is amazing. My friend booked the motel for us 3 girls & she talked to Rudy & she told him what we would like & Rudy was very courteous and respectful and found the right room that would fit us. We will be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beaniekurt
OldColonialManager, Manager at Old Colonial Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for that great review. We are happy that you guys had a good time and we will work assiduously to ensure that this level of service is continued. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

We were happy with the location of the motel however our particular room was considered sea view but you had to look between stairs to see it. Not a total big deal but thought we'd have a better view. The people there were very nice and the rooms were decent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina H
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to review. We do have rooms closer the ocean but they must have been booked. Please visit us again and we will get you a better view next time.

Prescott, Arizona
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Very basic but comfortable motel right on he beach. Complete with kitchens for those who'd rather stay in for meals. 2 blocks from pier and entertainments. We will be staying again. Beds were very comfortable and the room was clean. Very inexpensive for right on the beach. For an older motel, this was very well kept.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peggy N
OldColonialManager, Front Office Manager at Old Colonial Motel, responded to this review

We are delighted that you chose our motel for your vacation and even better, that your stay met expectations. We extend our gratitude for your kind words look forward to having you stay with us again. It was a pleasure having you here with us this season.

Albany, New York
Reviewed 1 September 2016

When my family decided to visit OOB for the first time, I came onto here to get reviews. Well, my review is way different than everyone else's. Yes, very friendly staff. But, our room... Oceanfront with a balcony and hot tub. HORRIBLE. When you spend $300+ a night on the ocean you would expect it to be perfect. NOT!! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EDJINC3
OldColonialManager, General Manager at Old Colonial Motel, responded to this review

We apologize for the cumbersome you encountered while staying with us. We wish you had mentioned something to a staff member so we could have adjusted the matters while you were here and enhance you stay. Regardless, we thank you for coming and wish you all the best in your endeavors.

Rixford, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 28 August 2016

If you are handicapped, I do not suggest this motel. We constantly had to move the garbage and recycle cans out of the way when going to the Pier only to come back and find them back in our way and then have to move them out of the way again as well as having to move the bicycles off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heidriss
OldColonialManager, Front Office Manager at Old Colonial Motel, responded to this review

We do appreciate you choosing our motel for your stay and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused but the limiting factors you mentioned in your comment. We will ensure that measures are put into place to rectify these issues and in turn, improving our flexibility. Once again, thanks for coming.

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
1.5 km away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#12 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
426 reviews
2.5 km away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#10 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
194 reviews
2.0 km away
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
#9 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Crest Motel
Crest Motel
#8 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
179 reviews
1.4 km away
Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn
Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn
#2 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
507 reviews
1.4 km away
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages
#5 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
30 Unit recently updated motel located directly on the beach with great ocean views. Within walking distance to the downtown area and arcade and amusement park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Colonial Motel

Address: 61 W Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2644
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Price Range: ₹ 6,924 - ₹ 14,663 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Colonial Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Old Colonial Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Colonial Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Old Colonial Orchard Beach
Old Colonial Motel Old Orchard Beach, Maine
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Old Colonial Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid the "suite" located in room 7- because its not one”
  • Our
  • Very few outlets and they wouldn't hold a plug. Sparked when you plugged them in sometimes
  • Lampshade in the bedroom along with missing mud from around light
  • Behind toilet. No trim, missing tiles and very dirty
  • Tile area around our bathroom sink (missing tiles but lots of grout)
  • Grout never removed from tile. Missing tiles and radiator is gross
 of 5 bubbles 309bentleyg, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to get an ocean front room (you will need to book waaay in advance).”
 of 5 bubbles beachdoll_11, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the water are a little more expensive, but have a nice patio and a great view”
 of 5 bubbles PeggyN692, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Two queens with kitchenette facing ocean was expensive and could barely see ocean over tall grass but it was a short walk to the ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles heidriss, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“get a room with the ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles mimi195675, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay