We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
61 W Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2644
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$224
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com$224
Travelocity$224
Priceline
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (86)
Room & Suite (43)
Pool & Beach (16)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Old Colonial Motel
Updated 14/06/20

About

#11 of 43 hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
30 Unit recently updated motel located directly on the beach with great ocean views. Within walking distance to the downtown area and arcade and amusement park.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Snack bar
Beach
BBQ facilities
Gift shop
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Great View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
95Great for walkers
Grade: 95 out of 100
14Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
3Attractionswithin 0.5 km
344Reviews4Q+A93Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 134
  • 107
  • 47
  • 32
  • 24
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
LarnisLegend wrote a review Jul 2022
Framingham, Massachusetts40 contributions66 helpful votes
An enormous amount of incorrect charges were placed on my card before and after my stay. When questioning the hotel, I was told by a staff member that they did not place the charges and that I should file a fraud claim with my credit card company. Had to close down the credit card account. Other than that the beach was nice.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Crista wrote a review Jun 2022
Bangor, Maine2 contributions3 helpful votes
I booked Friday-Sunday, far in advance, and pre-paid in full. I had to cancel Friday night due to jury duty (which would have caused me to arrive very late... I live three hours away). I called to cancel approximately three weeks before my stay. Jury duty is out of my control, and the owner assured me he would refund the first night. He said on the phone "we'd work it out when I got there." I trusted him based on how we Mainers operate- on a handshake (figuratively speaking). Well, I shouldn't have. Friday night he called me to ask if I was coming. He evidently "forgot" we had spoken about this on the phone. He lives on-site and but he still ignored the messages I left with the front office, both days I was there. I've emailed him three times since with zero response. Trusting him cost me $150. Lesson learned. Highly unprofessional, and terrible business practice.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
c_crilly wrote a review Jun 2022
Boston, Massachusetts12 contributions5 helpful votes
Simple and clean . I think people in other reviews mistake “ocean views” with “ocean front”. It was good for a weekend get away and the beach was there . It was walking distance to the Pier and activity but far enough away from the noise except for the night of drunks playing cornhole in the parking lot and drinking outside of guests rooms . I agree people should have fun but that was a little too much and it didn’t seem to annoy the owners . It was otherwise a decent stay for a long weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Only one parking spot per room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Monica S wrote a review May 2022
Hawthorne, California1 contribution1 helpful vote
+1
The worse customer service ever. I paid extra $$ for ocean front view room and I got the next door hotel view. When I confronted the manager with a stray face he told me that the room I got was considering a ocean view room and refuse to give us a refund or change our room. When we hot out of the office we realized that the owner was there and he didn’t care Sine we book with Experian when they try to call them for our dispute they refuse to answer the call. Please if you don’t want to go trough what we went through don’t stay here, not even for free.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t book this hotel !!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Terry C wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Booked this hotel in error, thinking it was the Colonial in Ogunquit. They called and I realized my error for the first time. I was told they understood how that could happen, but the next day they charged me for the room anyway. I called back and they refused to reverse the charges and were very rude about it. With the way they conduct business and speak to people, I would NEVER stay there. I filed a complaint with the BBB but they never responded to them.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Colleen Davis, Owner at Old Colonial Motel
Responded 20 Sep 2021
You called made a reservation and we told you we were going to charge the card while you were on the phone. we called you at 10pm that night to find out an arrival time. We held that room for you in good faith. You made the mistake not us. We told you exactly where we were located
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mitch H wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
Visited in August 2021 for one night, We just completed 3 night stay at Beachwood Motel, and wanted one more night. We found opening at Old Colonial, we used to go there every year when our kids grew up, place was meticulous & there were rules. We arrive at Old Colonial to piled up garbage bags on side of building, oversized vehicles taking up excess parking areas. The place was a zoo, top and bottom floors had junk and tables in front of rooms, drunk people were yelling and screaming. Management said nothing. At night a group of people blocked the entire parking lot playing Cornhole with 2 sets of equipment, in front of office, management said nothing. People could even get to there rooms that were blocked by tables and large groups of drunk people. Room was small and not very clean, I am not sure what happen, but the place has gone down hill. Management and staff did not address any issues that effected other guests. After great memories as children grew up, probably went there for 13 years, i would not return and would recommend people select a different motel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid Motel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lauren wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
The beach is beautiful and all shops are very close by walking distance. The room is old the rug was dirty the kids feet were black from waking with out shoes on. Most of the things in the room did not work like plugs were old everything would fall out tv didn’t work and had 4 channels coffee maker also didn’t work….know your not on vacation to watch tv but u want it at night. The pool was heated which was nice it’s all closed in not much room to sit at the pool at all…I would say the name of this hotel fits the description.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Gainescamp6069 wrote a review Jul 2021
14 contributions1 helpful vote
I have been visiting this little motel since I was a child and it hasn't changed a bit! Yes, the rooms are dated, but super comfortable. The staff was fantastic on this last trip, we stayed for 2 nights in an oceanfront room, it was spectacular. We had an issue with the AC, it was fixed immediately, zero complaints. When we make our pilgrimage to Maine this is the first stop before heading up country! Request the rooms with the kitchenettes, save a ton of money!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Oceanfront kitchenette, highly recommend.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Scott M wrote a review Oct 2020
Rutland, Massachusetts10 contributions2 helpful votes
we go to this location every year and always have a great time its a very short walk to the beach and the pool is great its right out side your room. the pier is a short walk and plenty of things for kids to do.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Matthew Crandall wrote a review Oct 2020
Belchertown, Massachusetts1 contribution
I meant to leave this last year, but this is one of the best motels I've stayed at in Old Orchard Beach. Its clean, quiet, and has a wonderful view of the ocean. With the rides, restaurants and pier close by, entertainment is just minutes away. I try to make the trek up to the Old Colonial Motel a couple times a year. You can't beat the price and location. And like said, it's like a second home. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Nothing beats Roxanne's smile when checking in and out. Anything you need, she'll help you. I'll be back next year for a relaxing trip and a welcome back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$143 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
old colonial hotel old orchard beach, old colonial orchard beach
LOCATION
United StatesMaineOld Orchard Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Old Colonial Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Old Colonial Motel?
Nearby attractions include Old Orchard Beach (0.4 km), The Brunswick (0.2 km), and West Grand Market (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Old Colonial Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Old Colonial Motel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Old Colonial Motel?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Old Colonial Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Old Colonial Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Josephs By the Sea, Tami Lyn's Restaurant, and The Shack.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Old Colonial Motel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Old Colonial Motel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.