We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Black Horse Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Black Horse Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 76: English reviews
Start your review of Black Horse Inn
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Our room was cute and spotless, but quite small and not well laid out. The breakfast was continental style. The facilities satisfactory and the location was a bit out of town. The nearby harbor town of delightful and well worth a visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Macncarole
Storrs, Connecticut, United States
INNKEEPER’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Upon arrival Fran greeted us in the lobby and then escorted us to our rooms which were large with a table and chairs, full kitchen counter, cabinets, small refrigerator, microwave, and sink. The room, and the facility for that matter, were immaculate. The beds were very comfortable, and the location quiet. The continental breakfast was delicious homemade muffins, fresh bagels,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrice W
About Innkeeper's Favourite Review
Frances G, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review and we appreciate your feed back and are delighted to hear you enjoyed our breakfast. In regard to the pool chairs we value your suggestion and will be looking into addressing this in the early spring time. The next time you are visiting Lincolnville ME. we would love to have you back.

Deale, MD
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Had a horrible experience: Was told a room with 2 beds was available and then when we arrived exhausted, we were led to a room with one queen bed and told the rooms with 2 beds had been booked for months. The solution was to offer us a bunk in another "room" which was a tiny unheated office and I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catwoman955
usa
Reviewed 22 September 2016

My husband and I stayed with Fran during the Lobster Festival (in Rockland) in August. In addition to a comfortable room, the location was convenient and the breakfast room was pleasant with Fran's home-baked muffins and other delights. We thoroughly enjoyed our delightful host, Fran, who had tons of personality and was very friendly and accommodating. We're from Mississippi, used...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank francophileusa
New York
Reviewed 7 September 2016

My family and I stayed at the Black Horse over a weekend in June. Our room was very dated and not particularly clean (carpet & counter stains, the room had a musty smell, etc). I requested another room and there was availability, but only for a higher price. The staff at the front desk would not move us unless we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SRH_12
Frances G, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry you were not happy with your stay however our rooms are extremely clean and not smelly, sometimes quests complain so they can get something for free had there been a problem we would have rectified it.... Its people like you guys that always make it hard for business always expecting FREE UPGRADES without paying for it........

Poland , NY USA
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Stayed here two nights while in the area for Lobster Festival. Room was clean and everything worked fine. We were in Room 7 , and there was an ice machine outside the door. This kept the outer hallway hot all day and woke us up several times every time a batch of ice dumped into the hopper. You might want...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EricC56
Massachusetts, United States
Reviewed 31 July 2016

The Inn is run by Fran, a friendly lady who loves nothing better than to bake a delicious selection of muffins for her guests' breakfasts. We were able to choose a room at the back, overlooking the garden. It was really quiet. In fact, the whole place is quiet as it is set far back from Route 1. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hilary H
Virginia
Reviewed 30 July 2016

Check in was disorganized, but everything else was great. The rooms are dated, but clean and well maintained. The bed was comfortable. Fran is charming, and you can't beat her warm homemade muffins in the morning. I actually thought this was a pretty good deal given the price of other hotels in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bertha1223
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Very clean and spacious . The pool was also great. And the continental breakfast was the best with fresh blueberry muffins hard boiled eggs coffee tea juice. I will make the Black Horse Inn a mandatory stop whenever I visit Maine again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas P
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

Reserved a lovely long weekend months ago through expedia, a company we use a lot...yesterday we called the inn to confirm....a woman who called herself fran g. And she could not have been any more confused and rude!! We have your rooms still, we gave them away...we tried calling you, e-mailing....apparently they tried billing us months ago...turns out...they had wrong...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josephine L
Frances G, Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

We Are truly sorry that you had a experience. But our policy is to bill at the time of the booking and your credit card was declined. there fore we could not hold your room . There was a wrong phone number given so we could not contact you. We tried calling three times to fix your problem and we...

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lincolnville
0.9 km away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
188 reviews
15.0 km away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
307 reviews
0.4 km away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#3 of 19 in Camden
334 reviews
0.9 km away
Bay Leaf Cottages & Bistro
Bay Leaf Cottages & Bistro
#8 of 9 in Lincolnville
108 reviews
15.2 km away
Ledges By the Bay
Ledges By the Bay
#2 of 10 in Rockport
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our rooms are double twins, full size, queen size. Our suites consist of 2 queen beds in a room and 1 queen bed. The rooms have refrig, micro, AC, kitchen counter, table, chair, TV - our suites consist of jacuzzi, frig, micro, counter top, table, chair, TV. We offer a continental breakfast. We have a full capacity generator in case of a power failure. We have an outdoor pool and jacuzzi and internet access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Horse Inn

Address: 2254 Atlantic Hwy, Lincolnville, ME 04849-5335
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Lincolnville
Price Range: ₹ 8,344 - ₹ 11,995 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Horse Inn Lincolnville, Maine
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Black Horse Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for ground floor, because there are no lifts”
 of 5 bubbles Macncarole, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in back are quiet and overlook the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles francophileusa, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We liked our room at the back, but you might get a bit of a sea view from the front.”
 of 5 bubbles 694hilaryh, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Very close to the water.”
 of 5 bubbles patricew2015, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles L1475HTthomasp, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5