We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2158 Atlantic Hwy, Rt 1, Lincolnville, ME 04849-5333
E-mail hotel
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Traveluro
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (88)
Room & Suite (59)
Videos (3)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Contactless check-in
  • Contactless check-out
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 25/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Mount Battie Inn
Updated 25/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 5 hotels in Lincolnville
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Mount Battie overlooks Penobscot Bay just north of Camden, Maine. Rooms are immaculate, cleaned with organic cleaners and carefully decorated and furnished and can accommodate a variety of guest needs. Sleeping configurations are: one king, one queen, two doubles and two queens with pullout. For larger parties, there is a two bedroom, two bath suite that sleeps five. In-room refrigerator, coffee/tea, free WiFi, chocolates, phone, cable TV. The grounds contain a nature walking trail, gazebo with living room furniture & candles at night, fire-pit deck with benches & B-B-Q, Pergola with dining table & chairs all softly lit at night time. Centrally located near the beach, boat dock, hiking trails, scenic overlook, winery, lighthouses, shopping, museums, opera house & ferry to nearby islands.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Breakfast buffet
Children's television networks
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Family
Languages Spoken
English
552Reviews0Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 401
  • 99
  • 29
  • 13
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Dave C wrote a review 3 Jul
Kent, Ohio1 contribution
This is such a great little place to stay! The owners are very personable and friendly. They provided us with great information on what to see, where to go, and how far away everything was. I would highly recommend staying here and exploring the area. Make sure to go into Rockport and Camden. Great towns to see.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Marci R wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Read all the REAL (one star or less) reviews here, because they are absolutely correct...this place is terrible! I am sure they paid people to put the 5-star reviews on here because they simply are not accurate. This place is MOLDY, MUSTY, STINKY, and DIRTY! The sheet felt so damp and disgusting that I had to sleep in my coat. The owners, as nice as they may pretend to be, know they have a serious problem, yet continue to do nothing about it and take your money. Save your money and your health and STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Helpful
Share
Response from EDWARD ACUNTO, General Manager at Mount Battie Inn
Responded 6 days ago
We are sorry that you experienced a less than perfect stay with us. According to Local Conditions.com, during your stay, the humidity at noon was 100% & the dew point was 64.04; If the dew point is higher than 60, you will start to feel muggy. Clothing as well as linens are not feeling the best. It was unusual weather. Sorry you visited our state on such a day. Maine is still 90% trees & everyone experiences the effect differently. We have had our property tested & you can be assured that there is absolutely NO MOLD. We incur the additional expense to clean our rooms with organic products containing tea tree oil, thyme & sage. We enjoy providing personal vacation planning & full concierge service. We hope you will visit us again.
Read more
Frank A wrote a review Apr 2022
5 contributions1 helpful vote
I'm looking at some of the better reviews for this time period and the ones that gave good reviews must have been made up. I was there and I never met anyone friendly who worked there. The room we had was dated and smelled of mildew. The outdoor porch in front of the rooms was in disrepair with no lighting which made it a hazard to walk at night. The landscaping was all overgrown and looked terrible. The entire place is in complete disrepair and needs complete remodeling. Maybe even new ownership.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Save your money by staying somewhere else.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from EDWARD ACUNTO, General Manager at Mount Battie Inn
Responded 6 days ago
We are sorry that you had a less than perfect experience staying with us. There never seems a "best time" to do repairs & remolding. It's impossible to do work on the property when the property has no guests because we close right before the snowfall & reopen in the Spring. So, when repairs are done, a guest is usually nearby. Many guests have delighted to be part of decisions about colors & flowers as upgrades have been done. We pride ourselves with that family feel on our property, We are sorry that when a portion of our deck was being replaced it caused you certain issues. We hope you will stay with us again & enjoy all the new decking, lighting & additionally new roof & gutters! Did you see our new Pergola deck, Firepit Deck & BBQ Pergola Deck? Hope you will visit us again to check it out.
Read more
ANNIEPG wrote a review Nov 2021
Pittsburgh556 contributions324 helpful votes
This was my second stay at Mount Battie. I wish TA had a rating for "good" and I would have chosen that. Since my last visit in 2015, the place has lost some of its charm. I stayed with friends last time and looked forward to this visit with my husband having told him how much he would love it. It is a very cute, remodeled 1950s type of motel. The room was clean but is in need of a little spruce up. The water (and hence the toilet and sink) had a yellow tint to it. The towels and sheets were a little thin and threadbare although the bed was comfortable. The outside areas were not as tended and clean as before either. As in my previous visit, Christine's baked goods for breakfast were wonderful. Since covid, the treats are delivered to the room and we enjoyed them with our morning coffee. Pre-pandemic, they had an appealing breakfast set up in the motel office with guests eating out on the large porch or taking their food back to the room. Now the office, which was cute and organized before, just seems to be a desk and storage area. Not particularly welcoming at all. The porch was not open. We were told check in was at 3 pm. We arrived at 7 and our room was not yet ready. When I groaned and said we were so tired having been up since 4 am, Dale (the desk person) told me that they were up even earlier than that in a joking way. We sat outside and waited and waited. Ed, one of the owners, went by and yelled "sorry" and I said "how much longer....we are so tired" and he nastily snapped "we are ALL tired." We waited some more and eventually got to our room. No towels. Went to get those and settled in. On my previous visit, Christine (the other owner) was full of useful information about things to do and places to go. I barely saw her during our 5 nights this time. We were on our own. I think they were just busy and overwhelmed. It is still a nice place but needs a reset.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from EDWARD ACUNTO, General Manager at Mount Battie Inn
Responded 1 Apr 2022
We are so sorry that your experience was less than perfect. For the past 15 years we have considered customer service to be our number one priority. During your visit, post COVID created a staffing shortage which we experienced as well as many other businesses. In spite of offering $25 per hour, no one wanted to work. Ed & Christine were cleaning rooms, doing laundry, baking & running the desk. Dale, our webmaster, even assisted to check in guests. We assisted any guests who wanted suggestions to plan their vacation as well as made dinner & boating reservations. Since then, we have secured proper staffing due to our reputation for cleanliness & excellent treatment for our staff. This will ensure our guests receive an exceptional experience staying with us. We hope you visit us again. Blueberry loaf is baking in the oven!
Read more
Patty Welborn wrote a review Oct 2021
9 contributions1 helpful vote
We had a very nice stay at the Mount Battie Inn. My husband was not feeling well and called to see if we could check in early. The answer was yes and we appreciated this accommodation. While he was resting I sat outside and read. I enjoyed the wooded area and being outside. We rode to the top of Mt. Battie. We didn't need to pay the entrance fee because we used a pass provided to us by the inn. The view was beautiful! The staff provided a suggestion for dinner and it was excellent! Our room was very clean and quiet. We were given a very special treat for breakfast which was delicious! When we checked in a very nice lady reviewed the map of the area. We learned about the Rockland Breakwater Lighthouse. This was not on our list of things to see but we are glad that we visited this site and walked to the lighthouse. We shopped in Camden and took a ride around the area which was very nice. As we were leaving the owner came outside to tell us good-bye. Thank you to Dale and the owners for a great experience at the Mount Battie Inn.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from EDWARD ACUNTO, General Manager at Mount Battie Inn
Responded 1 Apr 2022
Thank you for staying with us. Customer service is always our number one priority. We are happy that you had a great enjoyable vacation & look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
Olga (Boston) wrote a review Oct 2021
5 contributions
For the second time we stayed at Mount Batties Inn. This time we stayed in a queen room, it was very clean, warm and had a nice porch with amazing views. Thank you Christine, Ed and Dale! Looking forward to come again next year!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from EDWARD ACUNTO, General Manager at Mount Battie Inn
Responded 1 Apr 2022
Thank you for staying with us. Returning guests become like family. We look forward to your third visit this coming season
Read more
Jane Doe wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
The Mount Battie Inn is grossly substandard and poses both health and safety hazards. I was in room 108, where large water stains (each nearly a foot in diameter) were apparent on the ceilings of the bedroom and adjacent bathroom. The stains alone simply bear witness to a past leak, but after spending one night there I was convinced there was toxic mold in the room: I felt ill and suffered from irritation in my eyes, nose, and throat that lasted through the following morning for several hours after I had left the room. After only 2 hours in the room the second evening, I felt so ill that I decided to make the 3 hour drive home right then, at night, despite the eye strain for me at age 71 and my fatigue after a long day at Acadia National Park, an hour and a half away from Lincolnville. I would not have driven home if I could have tolerated a second night at this establishment, where I had paid $519.93 for a 3 night stay, or if I could have found other accommodations elsewhere in the area. In addition, there is insufficient outdoor lighting in the porch area in front of the rooms’ doors, and the porch light outside my door was burned out. As a result, I tripped and nearly fell while taking my suitcase to my car when leaving, by virtue of being unable to see a step just a couple of feet from the threshold of my door. This is not a 2 or 3 star ”inn” at all; it is a tacky, badly maintained motel dating from the 1950s or 60s, with repellently lumpy, ancient pillows and equally ancient, rough towels that are so thin as to be nearly useless. I would strongly recommend avoiding this place, even if other accommodations are unavailable in the region.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from EDWARD ACUNTO, General Manager at Mount Battie Inn
Responded 1 Apr 2022
We are quite surprised to read your review & sincerely apologize for your less than perfect experience staying with us. I can assure you that we definitely have no mold in any of our rooms which has been certified by inspection. We are also COVID-19 inspected & certified. On occasion a light bulb does need replacement & staff is instructed to act immediately upon that. We have staff available to assist any guests with luggage & apologize that no one noticed that you needed help. We are sorry that there was a stain on the ceiling of your bathroom which was scheduled for painting & we were awaiting the painter to make himself available to us. Since your visit, the matter has been rectified & we hope you visit us again.
Read more
Dreamer197236 wrote a review Oct 2021
3 contributions
Rooms are fine, bathroom a bit tight. Parking is great (if you can keep other guests using their spots). It's not great for commuting to Acadia (90 minutes) but good if covering lower coast as well. Lots of little amenities like fire pits if weather had been better.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from EDWARD ACUNTO, General Manager at Mount Battie Inn
Responded 1 Apr 2022
Thanks for your review. Yes we do have a lot of amenities like our fire pit deck but also our living room style gazebo always illuminated with blue lighting, our dining table pergola also lit with white lights, a delightful wrap around porch, lounge chairs among our beautiful gardens & BBQ pergola with picnic tables. In addition, every room has its private porch with chairs & table overlooking Penobscot Bay. Acadia is 90 minutes away, but there is so much to do right around us- 3 lighthouses within minutes, state park one mile down the road, nature gardens, protected preserves for hiking, sail boating, lobster boating, shopping, theatre, wine tasting & vineyard tours, museums & more. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
Lisa P wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
We were very pleased with our stay. Our room was clean and comfortable. It is really convenient to be able to park right by your room. Everyone was friendly and helpful; Ed gave us great advice on local shopping. We would definitely stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from EDWARD ACUNTO, General Manager at Mount Battie Inn
Responded 1 Apr 2022
Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves with customer satisfaction to be our number one priority. We look forward to seeing you again. Next time bring friends & enjoy our deluxe suite with 2 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, living room, kitchenette, living room, private backyard porch with table & chairs in addition to your front porch with chairs & coffee table. Come smell the banana bread baking in the oven just for you. See you soon!
Read more
Cincytraveler44 wrote a review Sep 2021
Cincinnati, Ohio107 contributions39 helpful votes
We stayed one night and found the staff to be very friendly. When we walked into our room, it was like visiting an old aunt or grandma. The furnishings were very dated and there was just a hint of odd smell. It was clean and had everything we needed, though. The bed wasn't that comfy but it wasn't awful. Shower worked okay but it's a bit cramped and older as well. The towels were pretty thin. Due to covid, there was no breakfast buffet, but the owner made muffins and bread for us that were delivered the night before so we had something for breakfast. It was delicious! Overall, this motel is quaint, older and has a pleasant atmosphere.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from EDWARD ACUNTO, General Manager at Mount Battie Inn
Responded 1 Apr 2022
Thank you for staying with us. Our rooms are cleaned with tea tree oil which many guests find refreshing. In addition, we are COVID-19 inspected & certified. Many guests tell us that they enjoy the white bedspreads & white foot blankets which remind them of pleasant trips to grandma’s house. The home baked goodies are the additional touch. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us & look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$199 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mount battie hotel lincolnville, mount battie lincolnville
LOCATION
United StatesMaineMid Coast MaineLincolnville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mount Battie Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Mount Battie Inn?
Nearby attractions include Mount Battie (7.7 km), Camden Harbor Park and Amphitheatre (6.3 km), and Camden Hills State Park (4.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mount Battie Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Mount Battie Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Mount Battie Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mount Battie Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mount Battie Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Youngtown Inn and Restaurant, Franny's Bistro, and River Ducks Ice Cream.
Are there any historical sites close to Mount Battie Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting High Street Historic District (6.4 km).
Does Mount Battie Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the bay view available here.
Is Mount Battie Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.