We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Breakwater Inn and Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Breakwater Inn and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 234: English reviews
Excelsior Springs, Missouri
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Lovely little Oceanside town with nice shops and restaurants. Quiet place to unwind in Natures beauty. It is popular and it is busy. The Leaves are at peak and it is a great place to spend some time. Hotel is older, but bedding is fantastic. Great mattresses, sheets, pillows, comfy. Clean and the staff here is excellent. I'm glad I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lewgren
GuestExperience_2016, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear lewgren, We are so glad that you were able to experience the Breakwater Inn & Spa, and coastal Maine during autumn! Each season brings new landscapes for our guests, but leaf season is especially beautiful. That being said, winter is also breathtaking, perhaps you can visit us again soon. Best Wishes, Naz Jenulevich

Cologne, Germany
Reviewed 12 October 2016

The Breakwater Inn & Spa consists of several houses. The rooms at the Seeside House are old but spacious and clean. The service is mostly absent. The breakfast is terrible. The breakfast must be taken temporarily under loud vacuum cleaner noise, because just the corridor was cleaned during breakfast time. Food such as pan cakes or fried eggs were completely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kittlitz
GuestExperience_2016, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kittlitz, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay with us. Our team really appreciates hearing from our guests how they think we could improve. We have developed the offerings for our breakfast menu after much input from past guests, and will be sure to keep your suggestions of enhancements to our current offerings...

Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We stayed at the Breakwater Inn for one night in October. The room (in the Inn building) was pretty and spacious, with a lovely view. Pillows were good, bath adequate, and there is a fridge in the room but no coffeemaker. The restaurant had the same nice view, across the mouth of the river and out to sea. Food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Palmira B
GuestExperience_2016, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Palmira B, We are honored that you chose to stay with us during your recent visit to Kennebunkport. It is great to hear that we could make your stay memorable in so many ways! It is disappointing to hear about the water bottle in your room upon arrival. Our housekeeping team works diligently to ensure no details are missed...

Edgartown, Massachusetts
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights, shoulder season. Close to $300 per night. Website is deceptive, hotel is in two different buildings, with a home in between. The Inn building does not have an elevator. Not fun for 4th floor room holders! We were in the spa building, which does have a lift. Peeling wallpaper, terrible wifi, room furniture that looks...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lukerlou
GuestExperience_2016, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Lukelou, We are disappointed also that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Please accept our apologies for any part of your visit that did not meet your expectations. Our team is never satisfied with the bare minimum and works very hard to go above and beyond to provide exceptional experiences. If we fell a bit short during your...

Reviewed 4 October 2016

Rented a room at the inn with my mother and we stayed on the 3rd floor (walk-up, no elevator). Room was small, yet cozy with ocean-facing windows. There was a wedding in the evening when we checked in, but the noise was reasonable and the event didn't go too late. Unfortunately, our view of the ocean was obstructed by the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juan I
GuestExperience_2016, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Juan I., We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time in Maine! Unfortunately, the weather sometimes does bring circumstances beyond our control to the area, and we are sorry the rain came during your visit. We do hope that you will return again soon. Best Wishes, Naz Jenulevich

East Elmhurst
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

This is such a beautiful inn. I stayed in the spa suites which were very roomy and beautiful. Amazing view form you window!! Only about a 10 minute walk into the center of town. But amazing scenic views along the way.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
GuestExperience_2016, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Melissa S, We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the view from your window. It is such an honor to have beautiful landscapes outside for our guests to enjoy! Hopefully, your travels will bring you back to the area again soon, so we can welcome you back to the Breakwater Inn & Spa. Best Wishes, Naz Jenulevich

Norwood, North Carolina
Reviewed 25 September 2016

The Breakwater Inn and Spa is the perfect place to stay in Kennebunkport. It is 1 mile from the small town. The location allows visitors to watch the boats as they come in from the ocean into the waterway. The room was clean and quiet. The porch was a relaxing way to experience the New England coast, a perfect picture...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chriscoggs
GuestExperience_2016, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Chriscoggs, It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words! Watching boats from the porch is something we are truly proud to offer our guests and we are glad that you enjoyed it. The next time your travels bring you to beautiful coastal Maine, we do hope that you will...

Reviewed 20 September 2016

Overpriced. noisy air conditioning, stains on carpet, torn lampshade, no in-room coffee, plastic drinking cups, peculiar smell in hallway and room, dirty tile grout in shower, cold water faucet turns backwards, view of water compromised by very large parking lot. I would NOT recommend this place to anyone. There are much nicer lodgings in Kennebunkport at lower prices. This was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Randy R
GuestExperience_2016, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Randy R, I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. What you have described is not up to the high standards that we have set for ourselves, or the experiences that we are accustomed to sharing with our guests. Thank you for taking the time to let us know, so we can correct any...

Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

My wife and I were traveling with another couple, long time friends. We booked our accommodations at the same four locations in Maine. The biggest obstacle's were the stairs. In order to get to a king size bed room, we had to climb 4 levels each with 18 steps. We asked for some more accessible and were given a postage...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karl H
2016_Guest_Services, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Karl H., We are sorry about the inconvenience of getting to your guest room. Our team works hard to provide whatever assistance is needed to our guests and ensure they are comfortable. It sounds like we fell a bit short during your visit, and we apologize. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and help us...

Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

I was here for a wedding. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are nicely done. They feel like home. However. The beds and pillows wrecked my neck and back. Too soft for me. There are no elevators so you have to carry your luggage up and down yourself. The food at Stripers is very good. The staff is super...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jodi R
2016_Guest_Services, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jodi R, Thank you for joining us at the Breakwater Inn and Spa! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Congratulations to the new couple! Naz Jenulevich Director of Operations

247 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (28)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (128)
Viewed
Amenities (31)
Viewed
Spa King (19)
Viewed
Spa King Suite (24)
Viewed
Spa Queen (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
1.5 km away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
593 reviews
0.9 km away
White Barn Inn
White Barn Inn
#4 of 7 in Kennebunk
287 reviews
7.5 km away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
261 reviews
0.4 km away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
1,555 reviews
1.4 km away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kennebunkport
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in the 1880's, The Breakwater Inn & Spa is one of the most historic Kennebunkport hotels and inns with all the modern hotel comforts, located right on the Kennebunk River waterfront. Experience our chic water view inn rooms, cottages or spa rooms as you indulge in exclusive signature spa treatments in our luxury spa complex. Delight in innovative cuisine at Stripers Waterside Restaurant, taking pleasure in the freshest seafood, lobster and shellfish from the New England Maine Coast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Breakwater Inn and Spa

Address: 127 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6308
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Price Range: ₹ 5,513 - ₹ 19,398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Breakwater Inn and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Breakwater Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakwater Hotel Kennebunkport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Breakwater Inn and Spa staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago
over a year ago
Brick, New Jersey

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Breakwater Inn and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a room in the main hotel , not the nearby annexe .”
 of 5 bubbles GordonR46, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with a water veim away fro the Road.”
 of 5 bubbles Sleeper2012, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose the rooms with a view of the water!”
 of 5 bubbles jrfb2016, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Second floor balcony room in the new Inn is a must!”
 of 5 bubbles JimK765, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The river rooms are the best rooms as for the view.”
 of 5 bubbles kennethp105, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay