We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
45 Main St, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7081
Lowest prices for your stay
$108
View deal
Expedia.com
Booking.com
$108
View deal
Hotels.com
Algotels
Travelocity$108
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (62)
Room & Suite (670)
Dining (61)

About

#9 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to Kennebunk Inn, a charming Old New England Inn, located in the heart of Kennebunk Village, full of character and history. We offer a variety of pet friendly accommodations from Queen Rooms to Suites that sleep up to 5 or 6 guests. Each room has a TV with free cable, a private bath, and air conditioning. We provide free parking and free Wi-Fi. Adjacent to our parking lot there are electric car charging stations. Our on site restaurant, the Tavern, is a welcoming and casual destination for locals and visitors alike. Due to COVID we are only open for dinner limited nights. Besides our own Tavern, The Inn is within walking distance of a variety of restaurants and coffee shops and other amenities such as Boulangerie a proper French bakery, and the Fifth Om a wonderful spa. In the summer, enjoy a drink on our big front deck with rockers as you people watch on Main St. Or, step off the porch and grab the free shuttle to the beach (COVID restrictions may apply. Shuttle may not be running due to COVID). Should time allow, the Kennebunk Free Library, and The Brick Store Museum are a short walk away. Take a morning stroll around Rogers Pond and maybe catch a glimpse of our resident Bald Eagle family or other wild life. If you need help deciding what to do or where to eat, check out our staff recommendations, or just ask at the front desk for recommendations. The Kennebunk Inn puts the best of Kennebunk and Kennebunkport at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Restaurant
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, Filipino
250Reviews1Q+A47Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 59
  • 59
  • 32
  • 45
  • 55
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jeannie R wrote a review Sep 2022
Augusta, Georgia2 contributions
In all my years of traveling(50+ Years) never have I stayed in such an unkept place. The only thing that comes close is a stay in a FFA camp for a church retreat years ago. The room was filthy-there was dust everywhere and the one chair in the room was a combination of dust and mold which was very visible. No cups in room. The toiletries appeared to be a hodge lodge of the owners travels or bought out of some motel liquidation. We had one old bar of soap that was so dried out it would not lather when you tried to use it. I don’t mind old as I too have an old house with it’s quirks but you shouldn’t open as a business if you aren’t going to clean and refresh guests rooms. Definitely these owners DO NOT KNOW WHAT THEY ARE DOING and have the lack of resources to kid themselves that they can pull this off. As they are new owners and are severely lacking in what is required to operate an inn. Bottom line-tent camping is a much better option than this inn. The photo’s in the website must have been from some time ago and are VERY MISLEADING as my room looked nothing as nice as on website.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: There are none
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Chelsey O wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
+1
This place was a complete nightmare. Dirty, moldy, and smaller than a dorm room. The ceiling and floor were slanted, the bed was so loud there was no way you could get any sleep. The SMELL. It was like a combination of mildew and sweat. We walked in and walked right back out. The GM is refusing to give us a refund even though the pictures they have posted online are completely misleading. Look at the pictures I’ve taken and see for yourself. I would have never ever booked this place for a “relaxing weekend” had the pictures been accurate. Seriously, save yourselves the trouble.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Seaside763080 wrote a review Aug 2022
Spencerport, New York2 contributions
Our stay here was perfect. Our bedroom though small had everything we needed. Our bathroom was huge and super clean and the staff was always helpful and courteous. They do have what appeared to be a fantastic bar area however we stayed during the week and it was not open but looks like a great time for the weekends.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Montgomery, General Manager at The Kennebunk Inn
Responded 7 Aug 2022
Thank you for staying with us! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with. We hope you'll be able to enjoy our Tavern during your next stay with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cheeks100 wrote a review Jul 2022
Argyle, Texas115 contributions58 helpful votes
+1
Was in the area a few weeks ago to drop my son at camp. Stayed at the Hampton Inn that was by the exit and thought this place looked cute. Website looked good. Outside looks good. Porches, back patio, good. Need to come back to the area so I booked 3 nights. HUGH MISTAKE . Where to begin…. Arrival at 3.27pm. Check in is 3pm. You’d think someone would be around. No, a desk full of envelopes with names and a sign here/checkin box. Vague directions. I’ve stayed in all sorts of “histrionic “ places. None with ghosts as staff all around. I’m unhappy and been here 8 hours and can’t find any one that works here or get anyone on the phone or email!!!! I can’t remember when I’ve stayed in a worse room. I’ll try at attach pictures. Tiny/ ok, love a cute room. This looks like something I wouldn’t have stayed in if someone offered their spare room in college. Furniture is garbage. No shower curtain in a little plastic shower insert. Last but not least- I’m not a big safety hazard person. Usually, when people complain I’m thinking “what are they talking about?” I’ve tripped EVERY (3 ) time to get out the back door. Lady time on my hands and knees. Ridiculous. Seriously, please don’t stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Montgomery, General Manager at The Kennebunk Inn
Responded 7 Aug 2022
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We strive for an excellent guest experience with each reservation, and I'm sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Your room should have had a shower curtain, and there was a minor miscommunication among the housekeeping staff which caused this hiccup in your stay. We are a small Inn with limited staff, so many times our staff are around the Inn working and not sitting at the front desk. We are happy to be able to offer a contactless check-in option to allow our guests to check in on their schedule and to allow our staff to be productive in other areas if necessary. I hope you were able to still enjoy your stay in the beautiful Kennebunk area .
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Linda7132907 wrote a review Jun 2022
Anchorage, Alaska194 contributions90 helpful votes
This is really a beautiful place. Everything is authentic even the squeaky wood floors. I had a very comfortable room on the second floor with a very tiny bathroom but it was sufficient. People walking around in the room above was very noisy but at least they went to bed fairly early. There was some sort of a recreation building next door that was quite noisy but fortunately they all left around 10 PM. The lady at the front desk was very friendly and she showed me to my room. She said there was free coffee in the morning but since I’m an early riser I left before the coffee was ready. I was there on a Sunday evening and the entire town almost was closed down and most of the stores indicated they would be closed on Monday so if you’re interested in the town don’t go on those two days. I did take a nice walk around the town in the evening and it was very pleasant and the homes are just beautiful.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Montgomery, General Manager at The Kennebunk Inn
Responded 27 Jun 2022
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you're able to visit again to experience more of what Kennebunk has to offer.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susan D wrote a review Jun 2022
Saint John, Canada7 contributions2 helpful votes
There are issues that those with limited walking ability would have. The floors on the main level of this Inn are very sloped. Also there are no chairs in your room to seat on. You have to take stairs to enter the Inn and access to the main floor rooms are out thru the patio area and then back into the Inn with an immediate ramp, then the sloped floors.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Montgomery, General Manager at The Kennebunk Inn
Responded 27 Jun 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. While we are always working to improve the experience at our Inn, we are somewhat limited by the original structure of our beautiful, old Inn. We hope you were able to enjoy the historic charm of the Inn as well as the beautiful town of Kennebunk during your stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vanbuy wrote a review May 2022
11 contributions1 helpful vote
I stayed for three nights in room 11, on the second floor. It has a kind size bed. It was quite comfortable, good tv. good bath products. The shower was a bit small,a nd there was a bit of street noise, but not to the point that it was disturbing., My stay was a couple weeks before Memorial day. The only criticism is that there was neither microwave nor small fridge in the rooms. I could see having a communal microwave for several rooms, but it is really nice to have a small fridge, especially if I do not wan things to spoil if I bring them back to the hotel The room also had a bit of an odour of something like a cleaning product or freshener. I don't like that but some people may. IT dissipated after a day. No housekeep if three nights or less. They do not provide breakfast but have a 10% off arrangements with a couple local places. All in all, I really enjoyed my stay, and I was glad to be there, adn able to drive to Kennebunkport, Sac0-Biddesford.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Montgomery, General Manager at The Kennebunk Inn
Responded 1 Jun 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are glad enjoyed your stay with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Colleen B wrote a review May 2022
Cleveland, Ohio79 contributions25 helpful votes
Overall had a good experience. The hotel is in a historic house within walking distance of the main street and for the location was actually relatively quiet. Also good driving distance to beaches and nearby towns. The bed was comfortable, and I liked the 4-poster design. Could get stuffy—we used the window AC unit as a fan which worked out. Marked down to 4/5 due to the staff, some were friendly but some repeatedly questioned whether we were staying there even though we were there a week. Also, we were unable to get ahold of the night staff who were supposedly in house. Overall, it met my expectations. My suggestions would be to add a mini fridge (even as an upgrade— would’ve loved to save some of the large portions served in the area!) and do more to highlight the historical aspects of the inn (maybe old photos?).
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Good free parking availability!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Montgomery, General Manager at The Kennebunk Inn
Responded 1 Jun 2022
Thank you for your thoughts and suggestions from your stay. We are always looking for ways to improve the guest experience, and we truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tricia H wrote a review Mar 2022
Saco, Maine21 contributions6 helpful votes
We enjoyed a delicious dinner at the Kennebunk Inn. The setting is sophisticated elegance . The staff was warm and welcoming. The citrus crab ravioli was remarkable. This is definitely an undiscovered gem. Make your reservations now before the tourist find this place.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Montgomery, General Manager at The Kennebunk Inn
Responded 1 Jun 2022
Thank you! We are so glad you enjoyed your meal at our Tavern. I will pass your compliments along to the team. Please come again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Caitlin D’Angelo wrote a review Feb 2022
Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey134 contributions91 helpful votes
Had everything we needed. Owner was LOVELY, as was staff. We don’t stay in the room much when we travel so it’s mostly a place for us to sleep. It was cozy with a nice big bed. The building is old, but it’s a sweet little inn. Some of these reviews are so over shot it’s ridiculous (such as the woman who said she was afraid she wouldn’t last the night because the paint was chipping- give me a break). The place is clean and cozy. We would come back. It’s also dog friendly which is a huge plus for us. We didn’t bring our pup this time but we are thinking about coming back with him!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Montgomery, General Manager at The Kennebunk Inn
Responded 1 Jun 2022
Thank you for your kind words! Please visit again soon. We'd love to meet your pup!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$108 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kennebunk hotel kennebunk
LOCATION
United StatesMaineKennebunksKennebunk
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE KENNEBUNK INN - Inn Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Kennebunk Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Kennebunk Inn?
Nearby attractions include Parsons Beach (0.3 km), Kennebunk Free Library (0.3 km), and The Brick Store Museum (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Kennebunk Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Kennebunk Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Kennebunk Inn?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Kennebunk Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include 50 Local, Boulangerie, A Proper Bakery, and Duffy's Tavern & Grill.
Is The Kennebunk Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Kennebunk.
Are pets allowed at The Kennebunk Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Kennebunk Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to The Kennebunk Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wallingford Farm (0.6 km), Congregational Church Of Wells (7.2 km), and Perkins Tide Mill (5.7 km).