We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Route 9, Kennebunk, ME 04043
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (12)
Room & Suite (3)
Pool & Beach (1)

About

#10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A typical southern Maine Cottage Complex, providing casual country comfort, close to a beautiful beach. We are upgrading several of our cottages each year, so please ask when making reservations. Our 'standard' cottage rooms come with double murphy beds. Queen and King beds in upgraded units. Newest units are cottage condos. Wireless internet throughout.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Vending machine
Golf course
Fishing
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, German
99Reviews0Q+A16Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 22
  • 28
  • 14
  • 10
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Kris S wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
My family and I booked this rental over a month ago as our first trip with our two one-year-old children. It was going to be our first family vacation and first time out since COVID started. We spent $500 in required testing fees, I took two days off work, and we were looking forward to it for weeks. We were all packed up and on the way when I received a text message saying check your email, we cancelled your trip but please feel free to book another date. This was something like 4 hours before check-in - after getting emails and texts all week that everything was all set (including earlier that morning). I see from other TripAdvisor reviews we were not alone in this. At least the other person got the courtesy of a phone call. Words cannot express how disappointed we were. I don't know whether it was Vacasa or Shorelands at fault, and it's good to see the owner is active here on TripAdvisor, but having our one and only summer outing as a family cancelled as we were literally on the way was heartbreaking. I will never do business with Vacasa again. Shorelands looks nice but what a horrible taste in our mouths after this one. Devastating.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Kayla M wrote a review Sep 2020
4 contributions1 helpful vote
I had a choice between this cottage and another in OOB. I chose this one because it had enough beds for me, my husband and my 3 children. I booked months (at least 3-4) before our trip through Vacasa. I got numerous emails until 9:13am of the morning of our planned departure from shorelands about check in and what to do when we got there. I then got a call from Vacasa at 10:14am (4 hours before leaving my house) that we could not stay at the property because it was under construction. It was Saturday of Labor Day weekend and Vacasa attempted to place us in another/similar cottage for our trip. There was NOTHING. I asked why we were getting a phone call 4 hours before we were due to leave. They repeated apologized and said the property liasion never saw our reservation. This is bull! It was there for 3+months and they had sent me numerous emails! I now had three very upset children and I was angry. I took it upon myself to search through Expedia (who I always have used in the past) and found something which cost WAY more money, but it was the only one left to fulfill our already planned/packed trip. Working in healthcare I needed to request the time off (which is NOT easy during this time) from work and I NEEDED a vacation badly. They offered me an extra 10% of my money back which didn’t even cover the cost of the new/only place I could find to replace it. This place is awful and ruined our entire trip and cost me hundreds of dollars!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sonja Haag-Ducharme, General Manager at Shorelands Guest Resort
Responded 8 Sep 2020
i am the actual owner of this cottage, and you have a right to be disappointed. Vacasa should have contacted ME a lot sooner as well to ascertain that this new cottage was completed. This year has been most unusual and very difficult. The cottage was meant to be completed in May, I switched contractors in July when it was not totally framed. And the new contractor was trying to fit the work into his busy schedule, same with electrician, plumber, etc. If you check around, the only people NOT affected by the pandemic were the contractors, they are busier than ever! In Vacasa's defense, they used to have experienced staff that they finally needed to let all go this spring, when the state shut down. then had to scramble to hire back when Maine came back, in fits and starts. I can offer you a free weekend here, once the cottage is done, for next year? or Columbus weekend? It is a beautiful unit, just not done....
Read more
suz_brown99 wrote a review Jun 2020
Georgia, Vermont90 contributions17 helpful votes
The Cottage (#36) was located between Wells and Kennebunk. Easy to get everywhere. Can walk to Parsons Beach and to the Bridal Path. Quiet and just enough space for what we needed. Nicely painted, good heating/cooling system, huge fridge/freezer, great little deck. Bonus was the beach parking pass. Highly recommend Shorelands for a stay with a dog. Only downsides: Dining room chairs were uncomfortable (we used the deck chairs), microwave is tiny.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: 36 is a corner cottage. Backs up to woods and chicken coop. Nice and quiet.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
annika_lucky13 wrote a review Oct 2019
Salamanca, New York419 contributions54 helpful votes
We were only in the area for a night, but we enjoyed our stay at Shorelands Guest Resort. We arrived later in the evening, after reception was closed, but the host had left our key and good information to locate our room. We met the owner in the morning, and she was very friendly and accommodating. We had a small room located just to the right of the office. It was a 2 story house broken up into single bedroom units. The room was small, without much room for our luggage, but since we weren't spending much time there, it was fine. There are other options that are individual cottages, and they are probably more spacious if you are staying for a while. The location was great for us, since we wanted to take a walk at the Rachel Carson Wildlife Management Area early in the morning. Also, Parson's Beach is a short walk away down a side road. We would definitely like to spend more time here in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
CaroleAK wrote a review Sep 2019
Llangybi, United Kingdom61 contributions55 helpful votes
We stayed for two nights as part of a bigger trip.. We had a basic room, (not on any photographs), and were not expecting any frills. Of all the accommodation we booked, on our trip, this was the smallest room we stayed in. There was very little room around the bed, which in itself was not large, so we could not leave our suitcases in an accessible position. On arrival the lady told us the cabin we were staying in had a large bathroom. It was rather small but manageable provided you are friends! The toilet leaked which we felt was due to condensation. When we drew it to the attention of the lady in the office, they knew of the problem but had not solved it. It explained the kitchen roll in the bathroom, which we needed to mop up the floor. I do not think that room was suitable to be let. In fact the room smelt and felt damp. Luckily we were there in August when it was relatively warm, but I would not like to have stayed there in cooler months. Overall the room was dark and cramped and underneath another, where people were staying with heavy boots. They disturbed us at night & in the early morning. The room was badly in need of refurbishing and renovation. On a more positive note , the breakfast muffins were-fresh and the ladies behind the desk very pleasant. It was reasonably cheap, but sadly it is not a place I would choose to stay at again or unfortunately recommend to others.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
tstanko57 wrote a review Sep 2018
Whitney Point, New York6 contributions
+1
Stay dates 9/9 - 9/14/18 (group departure date) Husband & I stayed extra day #36 Studio 9/14-15/18 Cottages: #8, #16 & #32 ~ Quaint & comfortable w/ lovely surroundings, fully-equipped kitchens with extremely comfortable beds & pillows, a/c & safe heaters in closet, nicely decorated; lots of ceiling fans & the back decks were a plus. They have a nice ‘common area’ outside w/ tables, chairs, 3 grills plus a very interesting stone fireplace/firepit to gather round on chilly nights. The staff: I can’t say enough about how great the entire staff was ... from housekeeping girls, maintenance (Rufus), office staff & owners. All I can say is: Color me impressed! Shannon & Sonja were so very helpful long before we ever arrived, in so many areas with too many details to mention re: destination wedding (& being unfamiliar with the area; vip when planning surprises for the bride-to-be) knowledgable with informed recommendations; they truly went out of their way to accommodate our wants/needs while there as well, far exceeding any expectations I had. Friendly group of folks with excellent communication (promptly returned calls). Furr-baby friendly atmosphere & only a short walk (or drive) to beautiful privately owned Parsons Beach; Fish story: Hubby was surf-fishing one day & caught his 1st Striper, nearly 24”, just shy of being a keeper, he had a blast catching it & throwing it back anyway esp after a local told him nobody had caught one there in 10 yrs! Maine was on my bucket list ✅ Now we can’t wait to go back & stay @ Shorelands! We both highly recommend this one; book it, you’ll be glad you did! So until next time Shannon & Sonja, thank you for everything, mission accomplished! 👰💘🤵 Sincerely, Terri & Rick Stanko
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Save
Helpful
Share
Response from Shorelands, Guest Relations Manager at Shorelands Guest Resort
Responded 19 Sep 2018
Thank you so much Terri, Rick & friends! We loved having you with us and appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience here at Shorelands! We hope this is the beginning of a many returns as we feel you are part of the Shorelands family! Have a wonderful fall and winter. Blessings to all until we meet again! Sonja & Shannon for Shorelands
Read more
Thomas C wrote a review Aug 2018
Fairhaven,Ma, United States6 contributions4 helpful votes
The Shoreland's Motel and Cottages is situated in the perfect spot between Kennebunkport and Ogunquit. The pool is nice and the free beach (Parsons) close by is great. A short walk or drive with free limited parking saves you money from the $30 parking in the town beaches. Don't expect a palace but enjoy the perfect location. We will return next year.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shorelands, Front Office Manager at Shorelands Guest Resort
Responded 5 Sep 2018
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback! We look forward to hosting you again!
Read more
Erin J wrote a review Aug 2018
Bayside, New York8 contributions
If you are looking for a cheap stay with your pet near Kennybunkport, this is the place. Do not expect anything else other than that. NO amenities. Rooms need to be renovated. Only thing they provide is toilet tissues!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Cheap with pets
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shorelands, Front Office Manager at Shorelands Guest Resort
Responded 5 Sep 2018
Thank you for staying with us Erin. We have always advertised as "no frills", but we do have some amazing newly renovated cottages available too. We hope to see you again!
Read more
martinracing1 wrote a review Jul 2018
Fort Covington, New York1 contribution1 helpful vote
This was our second time staying at Shorelands. I have to admit that last year when we stayed for a few days I was not impressed with the cottage that we stayed in due to it being outdated and having some issues. However the location and the people that take care of the place won us over and made us decide to come back. What a difference a year makes. The cottage we stayed in this year was completely renovated. Incredible kitchen with new appliances, new floors, flat screen tv, new bathroom with whirlpool tub, etc.... The great thing was they were in the process of renovating another one. Hands down one of the best places I have stayed at in a very long time. We will be back again next year. Jamie Martin Fort Covington, NY
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: We stayed in unit 16 and it was outstanding.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shorelands, Front Office Manager at Shorelands Guest Resort
Responded 5 Sep 2018
Thank you Jamie! We are so happy you returned and were able to stay in our new unit. THANK YOU for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again!
Read more
Stefmacapple wrote a review May 2018
Boston95 contributions47 helpful votes
This place has really cute and updated cottages towards the back of their property. We got a room in a house really close to the road that needs love. It is really small, no frills, and just needs a touch of modernizing. It has basic cable, small flat screen tv, AC, a comfortable bed, and a small counter with a mini fridge, microwave, and hot plate. It is PRIME location for shooting to kennebunkport for the day and the beach is a ten minute walk through a mowed field to get to the most amazing beach! Sandy, with rocks and gorgeous houses. If you stay here, walk to the beach. It’s not far at all! There is no parking at the beach itself (maybe just 15 spots of parallel parking along the road). Rachel Carson’s nature preserve is a walk down the road from the shore lands as well. Easy walk, 3/4 mile if that in length. Stay here, it is a great crash pad, if nothing else!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Shorelands, Front Office Manager at Shorelands Guest Resort
Responded 5 Sep 2018
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review! We are very excited about our new renovations and we are working our way around the property with top of the line updates. We hope to see you again!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$299 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesMaineKennebunksKennebunk
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Shorelands Guest Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Shorelands Guest Resort?
Nearby attractions include Wells Reserve at Laudholm (2.7 km), Saint Ann's Church (4.2 km), and Ocean Avenue (4.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Shorelands Guest Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Shorelands Guest Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Shorelands Guest Resort?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Shorelands Guest Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Shorelands Guest Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Congdon's Doughnuts, The Village Tavern, and Joshua's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Shorelands Guest Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Shorelands Guest Resort?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Shorelands Guest Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Shorelands Guest Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Shorelands Guest Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wells Reserve at Laudholm (2.7 km), Wallingford Farm (4.0 km), and Congregational Church Of Wells (5.1 km).