We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

White Birches Motel

Orbitz.comUS$ 73*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 75*
US$ 73*
US$ 75*
US$ 75*
US$ 73*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
White Birches Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for White Birches Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 80: English reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2016

It was confusing from the start. We booked a room with 2 beds, but were given a king bed instead. The front desk was confused of the bed arrangement, saying there should be 2 beds in it. But I appreciated him trying his best, managing to get us one with every room sold out. The next day, the cleaning crew...

1Thank doceant
Manager04640, Owner at White Birches Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are sorry you found your stay so confusing. Our recent room remodels and changes to room types in our system is believed to have caused these errors. We have addressed this with our staff and apologize for the mix-ups.

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 29 July 2016

We had a nice large room at this hotel. Not fancy, but clean and comfortable. No breakfast was a bit of a disadvantage, but there are restaurants a few minutes away. The hotel is about a half-hour drive from Acadia National Park.

Thank Anne M
Manager04640, Owner at White Birches Motel, responded to this review

Anne, Thanks for your review. As new owners we are working hard on remodelling the property, and we do hope to offer our guests breakfast across the street in the near future after additional renovation efforts occur.

Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Don't let the outside make you hesitate to stop. Once we were inside the room, we were pleasantly surprised. Clean, new decor and obvious care given to making this a comfortable place to stay. Generous with shampoos, soaps, etc. Pleasant interactions with employees.

2Thank Donna J
Manager04640, Owner at White Birches Motel, responded to this review

Donna, Thank you for your feedback. As new owners of the property we are working hard to improve the property. We hope you will consider staying with us again for any future visits to the Acadia region.

Reviewed 14 July 2016

Larger room than many newer motels. Nice location. No breakfast to speak of unless you like PopTarts. Office does not open in the morning until 8am - really!? Wifi was pretty good. Loved our trip to Acadia Park about 15 miles away. Walmart Supercenter about a mile or two away from motel.

1Thank leaver11
Manager04640, Owner at White Birches Motel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. As new owners we are working hard to improve upon the property and hope to offer breakfast for our guests in the near future. We hope you will consider us for any future stays to the Acadia region.

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Being pampered in a luxury hotel is not a necessity for me. A clean room, confortable bed, and a location reasonably accessible to my interests are my priorities. I found all three at the White Birches Motel. It's 18 miles into Bar Harbor. There is good access to Acadia National Park. Traffic was mostly easy, however mid-June is still not...

2Thank homecook157
Manager04640, Manager at White Birches Motel, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Clean and comfortable is really what we strive for, as well as friendly staff and a good atmosphere. We are truly happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hopefully welcoming you again. Lauren

Fredericton, Canada
Reviewed 6 May 2016

Very nice quiet motel. Beyond clean, staff were very friendly. Close to main restaurants and shopping in Ellsworth and 20 min from Bar Harbour and Acadia Park. Rooms were very spacious, fridge and a microwave, no issues. Will definitely return.

1Thank mofof5
Manager04640, Manager at White Birches Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review, and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We truly look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit. Until then, safe travels.

Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewed 20 September 2015

We had stayed here in 1999 & 2010 and enjoyed our stay. However, we will never stay there again. The staff that we dealt with seemed very unprofessional family members who didn't know their rooms very well. We reserved a room with one Queen bed. Upon arrival, they informed us that they had no rooms with Queen beds available. They...

2Thank JimNTerri
Manager04640, Front Office Manager at White Birches Motel, responded to this review

I’m so sorry you checked out feeling this way. I’m equally sorry that this was not handled in a better manor. In the past several months the White Birches has under gone a lot of changes, including new ownership. Unfortunately the change over happened mid-season and remodeling just wasn’t possible. Remodeling and over all updating is coming. I do hope...

Bangor, Maine
Reviewed 10 August 2015

The room itself was ok tv fridge micro all in good working order. However, the beds were the worse bed that i have ever tried to sleep on...the cement slab doorstep out fron twas about as soft as the bed. Time to update your beds people...bad bad. Lots of long term renting with less than desirable characters walking around and...

Thank gladysmay50
Manager04640, Front Office Manager at White Birches Motel, responded to this review

I'm so glad your contact with the front desk was positive. We enjoy our guest! I'm sorry the beds weren't equally as positive. The beds are one of the things to be replaced this winter.

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewed 29 June 2015

We booked this through hotels.com and paid immediately to lock in the rate. Not such a good idea, since when we didn't like the hotel at all we couldn't switch to somewhere else. My chief problem is the lack of housekeeping. We arrived to a shower with someone else's hair all over it. My son got toothpaste on the sink...

2Thank Bob J
Manager04640, Front Office Manager at White Birches Motel, responded to this review

I’m so sorry you needed to leave a review like that. However thank you for letting us know the things we need to work on. The defects of the room are being addressed. We went through a change of ownership mid-season making it difficult to do renovations until we slow down for a season. Lots of things will be changing...

Reviewed 15 October 2014

Review collected in partnership with Knights Inn
2Thank Peter T

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (17)
Room/Suite (2)
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Bathroom (5)
View from Room (1)
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (15)
Room/Suite (3)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Other (10)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hancock
2.2 km away
Eagle's Lodge Motel
Eagle's Lodge Motel
#5 of 10 in Ellsworth
153 reviews
2.4 km away
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
3.0 km away
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 km away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
322 reviews
2.6 km away
Ramada Ellsworth
Ramada Ellsworth
#2 of 10 in Ellsworth
596 reviews
19.0 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
White Birches Motel, conveniently located at the crossroads of Acadia National Park, Bar Harbor and Downeast Maine, offers clean and affordable accommodations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about White Birches Motel

Address: Route 1 & Thorsen Road, 17 Thorsen Road, Hancock, ME 04605 (Formerly Acadia Birches Knights Inn Ellsworth/Bar Harbor)
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Hancock
Price Range: ₹ 4,347 - ₹ 8,369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — White Birches Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Birches Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Birches Knights Inn Ellsworth/Bar Harbor Hotel Hancock
White Birches Country Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from White Birches Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
10 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from White Birches Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ok for one night if going to to Arcadia , front rooms are noisy.”
oldred2016, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The wifi was not a good connection.”
552eileenc, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms are newer, asked to see the room first to make sure you have the right number of bed.”
doceant, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the back side may be quieter as cars park away from the door of your room.”
mofof5, 6 May 2016 | Read review
“until they replace the old beds dont stay here”
gladysmay50, 10 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
US$ 73* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 75
Expedia.comUS$ 73
TravelocityUS$ 73
View all 10 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates