We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Hotel Cochin

Save
Share
M.G. Road, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682011 India
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Agoda.com
US$ 41
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/12/21
Orbitz.com
Expedia.comUS$ 53
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (168)
Room & Suite (66)
Dining (13)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#10 of 125 hotels in Ernakulam
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Grand Hotel has combined traditional charm with modern convenience. A Four-star hotel situated halfway down M.G Road, the city’s nerve center. The airport is 38 Kms. away, while railway and bus stations are merely a half kilometer away. Shopping malls, business houses, theaters,metro stations and cafes are close by. As the hub of Kerala’s commercial world, Cochin is well connected to all places of interest in the state.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Salon
Valet parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Car hire
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Telephone
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
504Reviews3Q+A80Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 153
  • 231
  • 89
  • 14
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sayed Naseef Jifri wrote a review Sep 2021
Malappuram, India282 contributions24 helpful votes
+1
Visited and many times for lunch and dinner but staying for first time. Booked online, we were two couples so asked for nearby rooms. We were booked standard rooms with complimentary bf. But nearby rooms where not available. So the receptionist upgraded our rooms and allowed nearby rooms with no extra charge. Rooms are excellent, neat and clean. Very well maintained in this covid situation. Forget to take the rooms picture. About the food, breakfast was optional and buffet it was. All good and tasty food.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Make sure about the rooms availability or category even after booked online/ offline
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Joseph S wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions2 helpful votes
We had a really stressful experience staying here. Nowadays the most abused word and reason for below par service is Covid. We had booked 2 rooms and one of them got a free upgrade to Executive. We were happy but that was short lived. The room did not have the usual supplies like tea bags and toiletries. We told housekeeping but even after repeated calls, there was nobody who turned up for 2 hours. Finally the receptionist had to come and deliver these items. The key to one of the rooms also stopped working and we had to get a new one. The most annoying thing however, was the AC in the Executive room. Even after setting it to 16 degrees, there was no cooling. The AC technician and housekeeping staff didn't come to the room(you guessed it! due to covid restrictions set by the hotel) and we had to use the fan to get some sleep. In the morning, while having bath the shower head fell off and luckily it didn't hit my head. This was our first stay at the hotel and based on this painful experience, I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay at this place. It is supposed to be a 3 star hotel, but the service is pathetic. The one person who may have helped to an extent is the receptionist Shyam. Without a doubt, I would recommend everyone to avoid this place.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
sijojoy wrote a review Apr 2021
Istanbul, Turkey9 contributions17 helpful votes
We visited today ( Saturday) entrance no proper covid protocol is following, we entered in to restaurant and seated in a corner table waited 10 mintes minutes for to attend a person we ordered Vegatable meals , karimeen pollichathu ( special dish) prawns dum biriyani , fish dum biriyani and waited anthoter akmost ore than half an hour for the food, the service was very slow and not satisfactory, they are providing pepper glass for water due to covid but stands are not following proper covid protocol service juice served by normal glass, food that we had was one 9f the worst food that ever i had in my life. Karimmen Pollichathu was so halorrible ,the fish was stale both biriyani was full of dalda fish biriyani fish is also very old. Prwans quite okay now everyone of us having stomach upset due to karimeen . We are extremely sad bith t we went to the hot tea and we Three first we went to the hot tea and we enter the hotel. There is no proper temperature chicken. No be covered product release following and we came around 2:30 in the restaurant and we ordered some of the iTunprawns es meals Brioni. And a little some of the items. the hotel. There is no proper temperature chicken. No be covered product release following and we came around 2:30 in the restaurant and we ordered some of the iTunes meals Brioni. And a little some of the items.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Manu J wrote a review Jan 2021
Alappuzha, India36 contributions5 helpful votes
We Visited Recently ; glad to say ambience was good . But really bad taste of food and overpriced . not worth of the money you gave . Also behaviour from manager side was terrible ; as if we are there for free food or something . These type of arrigant managers will bring the property down
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from K C James, General Manager at Grand Hotel Cochin
Responded 1 Mar 2021
Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for taking time out and sharing your feedback of your visit to Grand Hotel, Cochin. We understand that we did not meet up with your expectations, kindly accept our sincere apology. Please be assured that we treat each and every guest with utmost respect and best of hospitality. We leave no stones unturned to achieve ultimate customer satisfaction. Unfortunately we have fallen short in delivering the same. Kindly accept my sincere apologies. Its a pleasure to know that you were amazed by our ambiance. Kindly reach me on +919895721018 on your next visit and I assure that you will be treated with nothing but the best standards of service and amenities. Best Regards, James K C
Read more
VijayPanickar wrote a review Oct 2020
Bengaluru, India156 contributions12 helpful votes
+1
The Positives: The Grand Hotel's cultural significance to Kochi would be difficult to over-estimate. For over half a century, it set the standard against which many of the other hotels that followed it were compared. The weight of that history is evident in almost every aspect of the Grand: its unmatched central location, the generous size of its rooms, the Old World charm of its design and not least, the very good food served therein. The Challenges: That being said, the Grand suffers the bane common to many venerable "heritage" hotels: the inability to easily maintain and manage standards equivalent to its more modern competitors. The rustic interiors mean interior light is often insufficient; modern room amenities are few; hot water, often scanty; the furniture in the large rooms, sparse and the linen (while clean) worn and visibly well used. While the food is undoubtedly good, it is simultaneously not noticeably better than that available from many of the other restaurants nearby while being significantly more expensive. As such, the rationale for staying at the Grand is clear. If you feel the need for modern fixtures/services and a more reasonable room rate, the Grand may not be the best choice. If, however, your main consideration is a large room in the center of town with Raj Era charm, then the Grand is an easy recommendation.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$36 - US$51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grand hotel kochi
LOCATION
IndiaKeralaErnakulam DistrictKochi (Cochin)Ernakulam
NUMBER OF ROOMS
39
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Hotel Cochin
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Hotel Cochin?
Nearby attractions include Shiva Temple (0.4 km), Durbar Hall Art Gallery (0.3 km), and Padma (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Hotel Cochin?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Grand Hotel Cochin?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Hotel Cochin?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Grand Hotel Cochin?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Hotel Cochin?
Conveniently located restaurants include Grand Pavilion, Uruli, and Kayees Rahmathullah Hotel Restaurant.
Does Grand Hotel Cochin have airport transportation?
Yes, Grand Hotel Cochin offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grand Hotel Cochin?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Grand Hotel Cochin offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Grand Hotel Cochin?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.