We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,236 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,027: English reviews
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2016

We booked this to celebrate my wife's 60th Birthday, having previously stayed at a Karisma Hotel. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed by the most pleasant and friendly staff who checked us in with a glass of champagne and a walk to the room explaining the location of restaurants and bars en route. A visit to our concierge...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kerry K
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma, responded to this review

Dear Kerry K, Thank you for taking the time to recognize so many members of the staff. It is our great pleasure to read they are the ones that make a stay at El Dorado Maroma an unforgettable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Alejandro López General Manager gm@eldoradomaroma.com El Dorado Maroma by Karisma

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 8 January 2016

OH my goodness. My husband and I have traveled the world.... but we have never done an all inclusive before. We went as a 30s couple in the end of December as a break from our precious young children and hectic worklife in Atlanta. I can't say enough about this place. The Room (infinity pool suite) and Grounds were immaculate....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank SamIamAtlanta
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma, responded to this review

Dear SamIamAtlanta, Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review and for the feedback about the service in the Japanese restaurant, will be given appropriate attention. We are delighted to read we were able to make your stay an excellent experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Alejandro López General Manager gm@eldoradomaroma.com El...

Ohio
Reviewed 6 January 2016

From the time we walked in to the quaint lobby, and received personalized service, to our walk to our room, our welcome set the tone for our stay. Our room, in building 3 on the 3rd floor, was spectacular. The private infinity pool on the balcony overlooking the ocean was unbelievably relaxing and romantic. We ate at a different restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank DLE2003
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma, responded to this review

Dear DLE2003, Thank you for choosing El Dorado Maroma to host such a special occasion, we are delighted to read we were able to make your wedding anniversary an excellent experience. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Alejandro López General Manager gm@eldoradomaroma.com El Dorado Maroma by Karisma

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

We have had the pleasure of staying at Maroma several times now and we always say when we come home how can our next visit get any better. Well they always seem to raise the bar and exceed the our expectations each trip. The staff all take pride in their resort and it shows in the level of service the...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Kevin T
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma, responded to this review

Dear Kevin T, Thank you for sharing your excellent experience at El Dorado Maroma. We are highly appreciative of the kind words you are leaving for the team and it is truly our pleasure to read you had an amazing time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Alejandro López General Manager gm@eldoradomaroma.com El Dorado Maroma...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 3 January 2016

The gardens are beautifully kept. Large and clean room. Staff have the common goal to make sure you are comfortable and that you enjoy your stay with them. Food was good, but did not meet our 5* Gourmet experience expectation. The house wine was satisfying but you must remind the waiters to chill the wine every time you order. The...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Josee_mtl
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma, responded to this review

Dear Josee_mtl Thank you for your time taken to share your comments about your recent stay with us at El Dorado Maroma. We want to thank you also for the positive comments about the food and beautiful well kept gardens and that you have enjoyed your room, however we want to apologize if we did not live up completely to...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 2 January 2016

This was our second consecutive year there the week before Christmas. I was a little worried that it would not be as amazing as the previous year, but I was wrong. It was even better! We were upgraded to the Presidential Suites, which were perfect. The food was wonderful, the grounds were superb, the alcohol was top shelf, but the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TaraW71
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma, responded to this review

Dear TaraW71, Thank you for sharing your excellent experience at El Dorado Maroma and for taking the time to recognize members of the staff, they all do a great work. It is truly our pleasure to read you had an amazing time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Alejandro López General Manager gm@eldoradomaroma.com

Peachland, Canada
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

Horrible seaweed problem the entire beach and outdoor common areas have an overwhelming odour of sewage. We did not get the room category we booked upon checkin had to wait 3 days to get the room we booked & paid for. Bugs in my salad the first night. Very unaccommodating and disorganized staff. Would never stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank travelbug3830
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma, responded to this review

Dear travelbug3830 Allow me to thank you for taking the time of sharing your experience with us, as our guests’ opinion is very important. We are truly very disappointed that you did not find any part of your stay enjoyable and for any disappointment due to seaweed and for any inconvenience in service during your stay; however we do believe...

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 31 December 2015

Great service from the moment we arrived and until we checked out two weeks later! We loved this place. Really helpful and heartwarm staff in every way at all times. Nice food all over - and the gourmet all-inclusive concept is amazing. I have to point out Lima Limon and Caribean Grill for high class performance both in plating and...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Odin F
Langley City, Canada
Reviewed 31 December 2015

We just arrived home from another wonderful vacation at Eldorado Maroma. The staff are outstanding, the food is amazing and the resort is beautiful. What made the vacation extra special was spending it with our son and daughter in law who were celebrating their first anniversary. (Honeymoon was spent there as well...only without us). Special thanks to Arturo for an...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Heather C
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 31 December 2015

Great resort , clean , gourmet food , good service , nice rooms , fun entertainment , right next door is maroma adventures marina so you can do snorkel trips , scuba , waverunner tours , parasail , atv's and horseback rides without having to leave resort ......there was crazy wind everyday (uncommon ) that pushed alot of seaweed on...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
4Thank johnhR4603IL

4,989 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4527)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1087)
Viewed
View from Room (217)
Viewed
Room/Suite (768)
Viewed
Dining (376)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (572)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (88)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
0:36
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (1397)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (405)
Viewed
Amenities (66)
Viewed
Beach (21)
Viewed
Infinity Pool (29)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Presidential Suite Swim-Up (126)
Viewed
Dining (67)
Viewed
Royal Suite Swim-Up (56)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
9.2 km away
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
6.0 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#8 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3,482 reviews
9.2 km away
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
#3 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
9,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
4.5 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,582 reviews
6.4 km away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on one of Travel Channels Top Ten Beaches in the World, El Dorado Maroma is an upscale, exclusive Caribbean resort for romantic couples and active vacationers alike. Intimate and beachfront. Rustic and luxurious at the same time. the hotel provides outstanding services and gourmet cuisine. Receive personalized butler and concierge service, arrive with style with a champagne check in. It is rustic, because it is not pretentious and was built using traditional materials and with the philosophy of embracing the bounty of the nature and the local environment. It lies directly on the beach of Maroma, considered to be one of the best beaches in the world by independent reviewers, including the Discovery Channel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum Km 55.3, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly El Dorado Spa Resorts, by Karisma)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Price Range: ₹ 20,469 - ₹ 71,512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Maroma, a Beachfront Resort, By Karisma Hotel Playa Del Carmen
El Dorado Maroma Hotel
El Dorado Maroma Resort
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma staff and other travellers.
489 questions
Ask a question
Lynn
7 months ago

See all questions (489)

Questions? Get answers from El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Mi Hotelito rooms great location for beach, bars and restaurants”
 of 5 bubbles firtreepete74, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Depends on the level you are looking for”
 of 5 bubbles ronkury, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 207 is on the ground level which allows immediate access to the pool/beach area.”
 of 5 bubbles evie711, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Call the resort many times to ensure you get the room you want. Record dates and person you speak with. Would not pay for a presidential suite. They are no better than the regular rooms. The new huts built over the ocean are over rated. Terrible smell around them and over priced. Swim-ups are great. ”
 of 5 bubbles Ksunny, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“No bad room.”
 of 5 bubbles agavelover, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5