We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holidae House Bed & Breakfast

Save
Share
85 Main St PO Box 475, Bethel, ME 04217-4016
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Priceline
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (101)
Room & Suite (39)
Dining (11)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Your soft landing awaits with a restorative stay at the Holidae House Bed & Breakfast located in the center of quaint downtown Bethel, Maine. Fluffy and oh-so-comfortable, the white towels, comforters, sheets and draperies are of posh hotel quality and the embodiment of luxury in contemporary bath, body and bedding amenities. Sublime sleep is achieved complements of comfortable temperature controlled rooms for healthy, happy slumbers. For the ultimate in at-home coziness, the Holidae House B&B is sure to bring you many sweet dreams, timeless memories and a yearning desire to return for more. Comfy mattresses, elegant bed-dressings, beautiful silver tea trays, oriental rugs and carpets invite guests to relax in the well-appointed rooms. Each room has its own private bath, some with showers only and others with full bath tub and shower. Enjoy a delicious, home cooked gourmet breakfast during your stay with us. Start your day off with Jeanette's creations including Cream Cheese Stuffed French Toast with blueberries, strawberries and raspberries, Made From Scratch Blueberry Pancakes, Apple Cinnamon French Toast and others. We use free range organic eggs and maple syrup, both sourced locally. We also pick our own blueberries and apples and use them as long as the supply lasts. Jeanette's fresh baked breads are used in many of our breakfasts. For coffee lovers we grind beans each morning to provide you with the freshest coffee possible, and we even have decaf beans! For tea lovers we offer over 20 Twinings Teas, including black, herbal and green teas. We also have hot chocolate and spiced apple cider packets. A selection of juices is offered including orange, grapefruit and grape. Fresh fruit is also available.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Skiing
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Street parking
Wifi
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
620Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 559
  • 50
  • 8
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Evelyn H wrote a review Sep 2022
Saint Louis100 contributions49 helpful votes
Roomy and clean. Bed a little hard, breakfast was OK, tasted like baked thanksgiving stuffing with a little fruit on side, could have had a little more variety. Evening treat was very nice. John was very pleasant, maybe a few less instructions would have been nice after a long drive. I would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Will wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
My significant other and I spent a night here while in town for a wedding and had a lovely time. John and Jeanette were very welcoming, kind and accommodating of our dietary restrictions. Would absolutely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
debrandi wrote a review Jul 2022
Providence, Rhode Island56 contributions43 helpful votes
We stayed for one night at the Holidae House to position ourselves for a backpack in Maine. We were very pleased with our stay--there is a lot of attention to detail and willingness to be helpful and accommodating. We interacted with John who was very kind and eager to make sure our stay was a comfortable one. The location is great within extremely short walking distance of restaurants, the post office, coffee, and a supermarket. The room was very clean and well appointed. We would definitely consider staying here again! Thanks, John, for being so personable and helpful!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
William C wrote a review Jul 2022
Beverly, Massachusetts4 contributions4 helpful votes
Outstanding hospitality. The hosts really care about the guests and the comfort and quality of their stay. Every detail is carefully thought out and set up for the best experience they can offer. Also local to great eateries within walking distance.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Just go. You will be glad you did.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
ConnorFallon wrote a review Feb 2022
Boston, Massachusetts1 contribution
Great room, great service, fantastic breakfast and coffee. Stayed here for a ski trip for a family birthday. Room set up was perfect. Hosts were extremely kind and helpful. Enjoyed hearing the stories of their pups Hagrid and Kenzie. Would absolutely recommend to anyone visiting bethel/Sunday river
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
ddickers53 wrote a review Feb 2022
Milton, Massachusetts10 contributions4 helpful votes
Rooms and common areas at the B&B are beautifully furnished. John and Jeannette are exceptionally hospitable hosts. There is a different delicious breakfast everyday. Bed was comfortable, and bathroom well appointed. Wifi and charging stations were handy. This B&B has become our preferred lodging for visits to Bethel and the world class Maine Mineral and Gem Museum. Can't wait for our next visit. Nearby restaurants, Le Mu and Cho Sun, were worth return visits. A grocery/liquor store is just across the street. Nearby skiing amenities and hiking trails are a big draw.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We really enjoyed the Iris Room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Gina Z wrote a review Jan 2022
South Hamilton, Massachusetts13 contributions1 helpful vote
This is simply a lovely B&B. My family was very welcomed by John and Jeanette and they were available literally 24/7 if we needed anything. They helped me plan little surprises for my husband’s birthday, were accommodating to my children, and made sure we had a top-notch stay, which we did. Would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
David C wrote a review Jan 2022
Gloucester, Massachusetts45 contributions17 helpful votes
Looking for an overnight stay in the area, skiing 2 days at Sunday River. While making reservations, John immediately made me feel comfortable! When we arrived just before 3 he went out of his way to welcome us, a quick overview of the house, hot drinks and fresh baked goods were consumed as we relaxed in the living room area. Short walk to multiple restaurants, (check openings if midweek stay). Dinner at ChoSum Korean/Japanese/Sushi restaurant, outstanding and a block away. Breakfast was ready for us anytime between 7-8, great quiche dish!! / Clean and comfortable!! Would highly recommend and plan to return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Carolyn V wrote a review Jan 2022
St. Augustine, Florida74 contributions
Stayed here for a quick ski weekend to celebrate our twin daughter's 19th Birthday. Wish we had known about Holiday House in the past as we have stayed in Bethel many times. The hosts John and Jeanette were so welcoming and attentive to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. Breakfast was yummy! We enjoyed the company of other guest and of Course John and his stories :) Beautiful 116 year old home. (wish the walls could talk) I would certainly recommend Holidae House. Thank you John & Jeanette.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
GinnyAlaska wrote a review Jan 2022
Millburn, New Jersey37 contributions18 helpful votes
The hosts were wonderfully attentive. Breakfast was a nice touch. The room itself had very creaky floors and the beds were unfortunately very uncomfortable. Shower was clean and had great water pressure.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from John Poole, Owner at Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Responded 24 Jan 2022
Hello and thank you for your review. We are so sorry you did not enjoy more aspects of your stay with us. The Inn is a beautiful 116 year old Victorian which we have tried to furnish as authentically as possible. We do recognize that old homes and antiques are not everyone's preference and we sincerely hope they did not take away from your stay too much. We are very fortunate to still have the original wood floors in the Inn, but 116 year old wood floors will unfortunately have a creak or two in various spots. Again, we hope they did not take too much away from your stay with us. We work very hard to make sure the mattresses are comfortable, and most of our guests tell us how much they like them. Sadly Bed comfort is a very personal thing and we are so sorry they were not more to your liking. Thank you again for staying with us and for taking the time to leave a review. We hope you enjoy the rest of winter! John & Jeanette
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$147 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Holidae House B&B
LOCATION
United StatesMaineBethel
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to Holidae House Bed & Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include Maine Mineral and Gem Museum (0.05 km), Steam Mill Brewing (0.1 km), and Funky Red Barn (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holidae House Bed & Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Holidae House Bed & Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holidae House Bed & Breakfast?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holidae House Bed & Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brian's, Sud's Pub, and Butcher Burger.
Is Holidae House Bed & Breakfast located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.03 km away from the centre of Bethel.