We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Shreveport - West, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
5420 Interstate Dr, Shreveport, LA 71109-6506
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$157
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
$157
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
$155
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/08/22
HIExpress.com$158
Travelocity$157
ZenHotels.com$166
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (41)
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (15)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express & Suites Shreveport - West, an IHG Hotel
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#17 of 40 hotels in Shreveport
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Louisiana Hotel Close to Shreveport Municipal Airport Louisiana's third largest city, Shreveport, sits near the borders of Texas and Arkansas. With the Shreveport Municipal Airport (SHV) located a mile from our door, you will find that getting to and from our Shreveport hotel is easy. Many of Shreveport's major businesses and tourist attractions are just a few miles away. Within six miles of our Shreveport accommodations are General Motors and the Frymaster Corporation. Locally owned and operated out of Shreveport, Frymaster has become a nationwide supplier of deep fryers. Cellxion's corporate headquarters are just 15 minutes away.Shreveport features a wealth of nightlife and entertainment. Our Shreveport hotel is within 10 miles of several casinos, including Boomtown Casino and Sam's Town Casino. Harrah's Louisiana Downs and Racetrack Casino are a little farther away from the hotel. Shreveport also features attractions for the entire family, including the Louisiana Boardwalk.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
157Reviews4Q+A30Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 54
  • 37
  • 25
  • 32
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Dan F wrote a review Jan 2022
Gause, Texas461 contributions315 helpful votes
We stayed there last night and found the hotel to be average. When arriving at night, it is difficult to see the streets to get there as it is not on the I20 frontage road, but one road back.The streets are very dark and the neighborhood is not one of the best. The property appears to be fairly new, but like most HI Express hotels, the construction is not very good and everything is aimed towards cheap. But, that is ok. The clerk was very nice and helpful. Our room was clean and everything worked. However, due to the cheap construction there is almost no sound deadening. It is located close to the Interstate and we could hear the trucks going by constantly. Not a soft hum in the distance but a sound like it was in the parking lot! The included breakfast was almost nothing ... just a sausage sandwich or cereal basically. They called it hot because the sandwiches were rewrapped and in a hot serving pan. Parking was ample but parking lot lighting left a little to be desired. They make it obvious that HI is more interested in saving a few bucks than in any real security for its guests. Overall, no problems, but the quality or level of service provided by Holiday Inn Express appears to be dropping the more we stay at their hotels. This one just fit that pattern. The price was high for what we got, but not outrageous. HI wants to charge higher rates than their properties deserve.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Shreveport - West, an IHG Hotel
Responded 20 Jan 2022
Hi Dan F, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing your feedback. I trust that all is well. Providing our guests with an exceptional experience is all that we aim for, but I'm sorry that this didn't fully happen as pictured. While I am glad you were satisfied with the service received from our staff and found our rooms clean, I understand the discomfort caused by the issues with the noise and limited breakfast selection. I also read your concern about the parking's lighting and safety. I know these made you feel like these did not meet the value you paid for. I assure you that your concerns have been forwarded to the Management, and I am sure they will use this as a reference and be used for future improvements. I hope you give us the chance to turn things around the next time you stay with us. Best regards, Glaiza G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael G wrote a review Nov 2021
5 contributions
Hot. is in rough shape and dirty. First room smelled so bad had to walk out. Next room smelled much better but very dirty floor. Staff was friendly but everything just looked run down and poor shape. I thought the tile floor was pitted until I took some wet toilet paper and wiped the floor.....it turned brown. Carpet even worse. Also right next to train tracks and you guessed it......train horns.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Shreveport - West, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 Dec 2021
Hi G7811ISmichaelg, Thank you for sharing your feedback from your most recent visit. We want to provide a seamless experience and make our guest's stay fun and memorable. I'm sorry that you were left disappointed with your recent visit because of the cleanliness issues in the rooms assigned, the room not in good shape, and the noise outside our property. I have shared your sentiments with the management team for their reference. I trust they'll take the necessary actions to address this and consider your comments for future hotel improvements. I hope you still consider us again and give us another chance to host you the next time you visit the area. Regards, Virgil N. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bella R wrote a review Feb 2021
Columbus, Georgia134 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
Came here to escape the winter storm, so my expectations were low to begin with. The first room was actually decent until the roof/ceiling started leaking. Was then placed in a room where the temp was 85degrees, smelled of mildew and looked like Norman Bates resided there. The toilet seat (see pictures) should have been replaced ages ago and the tub (see pictures) was flaking. Lucky for me there was water in the whole place or city for that matter. As lucky as I was to have semi-safe place to be stranded... the room wreaked of mold/mildew. The Keurig had old, stagnant water in the reservoir. The hair dryer was dirty. This begs the question: if this a room they hardly use, when was it used last? Also was it cleaned after it was used and given to me? The price of $122/night was DEFINITELY NOT WORTH THE PRICE
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Shreveport - West, an IHG Hotel
Responded 5 Mar 2021
Hello Bella R, Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. I am sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your time in our hotel due to the issue with the ceiling, the room and the bathroom. We take comments such as these seriously and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon. Best Regards, John O Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
christian s wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
Header: I originally booked 4 nights here for a business trip, and ended up checking out the first morning. I will start by saying the staff were very helpful, professional and friendly. As far as my hotel experience goes; I arrived after 7pm, checked in and grabbed a cart to put all my bags and hanging clothes to take upstairs to my room. The carts are very big and have plenty of space for lots of baggage and clothes and they were available right at the front door. The front desk clerk informed me that the front elevator was out of order (expired annual inspection) but the back one was working fine. So I carted my stuff to the back and got up to the third floor and went all the way back to the front to my room. First impressions: The halls were clean but you could hear everything in rooms as you passed, not much privacy. The hotel itself is a bit dated and many repairs already made, some better than others. My door would shut and latch but wouldn’t lock, as it was crooked in the frame, ok whatever. The slide lock still worked. Unpacked my things, not very much space in a single room but it was the cheaper option, so it was expected. Went back down to park my vehicle and noticed a wrecked car in the parking lot, an 80s sedan with 4 very flat tires and leaves all over it, it had been there a long time. That was a bit strange but whatever. The parking lot was a pitch black nightmare, other than the street lights on the main road, barely illuminating the far edge of the lot, there was no other lighting besides one pole, illuminating the wrecked sedan in the front. One of the exhaust fans for the laundry room mounted to the outside of the building had been hit by a truck or something at one time, so it made an annoying metal scraping noise in the background. The area is downtown so it was a bit unnerving at night but not the worst. Went back inside and climbed the stairs to my room, which I actually enjoyed as I’d been driving all day and needed to stretch a bit, plus my room was right by the stairs to the parking lot. The bathroom was decent sized and well lit, glass shower doors were nice. I took a shower, the water was hot and had good pressure. There was a porcelain ledge in the shower that I propped my foot on to wash my legs and feet that immediately fell off. I put it back on after cursing to myself. Finished my shower and dried off with fabulously soft towels, walked to the main room on a strangely sandy floor. Not many things were cleaned very well but whatever, again. The bed was fantastically comfortable but a bit short, it was a king that was turned sideways to save space, so my feet hung off of it with my head all the way up (I’m only 5’8”). It was getting cold so I turned the heater on and set it to 65 (large wall unit) The tv was crooked but it didn’t bother me too much. After about an hour, the room was getting very hot. The display on the heater still set at 65 but the wall thermostat said it was 75 in the room. Not sure why but it never turned off, I had to shut it off manually. I tried several times to get it to work like it should, even set it at 55. It still ran non stop. I fell asleep on the comfortably soft bed and nice clean sheets with an assortment of different density pillows, finding the perfect one for me easily. I woke up freezing of course because I had the heater off and it dropped to 26 degrees overnight (very rare for northern Louisiana) The heater warmed the room very quickly so I quickly had to shut it off again after I got ready. Went downstairs to grab the free breakfast and noticed it was just grab and go (COVID changed so much) so I just left it and started my vehicle. I stood outside contemplating staying here another 3 days, and I just couldn’t bring myself to do it. Think of me however you want, but all the other hotels in the area were similarly priced, so I wasn’t going to deal with so many things I hated and switching rooms to one that was probably just as bad or not much better. The staff were awesome, one found another cart for me while the other checked me out, I insisted that I didn’t want to stay. They were very nice, professional and apologetic, but I just didn’t want to deal with that particular hotel anymore. Overall I would never stay here ever again, you couldn’t pay me to stay here again. I feel sorry for the hotel desk staff having to deal with bad maintenance practices and shoddy cleaning work.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Shreveport - West, an IHG Hotel
Responded 16 Dec 2020
Hi N4635CFchristians, Thank you for your comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good points of your stay. We are always grateful when a guest takes the time and effort to acknowledge our staff. On the other hand, I am sorry to learn your overall experience didn't meet your expectations. I do apologize for any discomfort the issue with the heater caused you. We utilize all comments for improvement of our product and services and will continue to work towards the highest standards for our guests. Again, many thanks for the feedback and for staying with us. Hopefully, you'd visit with us again, so that we can make you feel at ease and bring back that faith in us. Sincerely, Connie D Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jessica S wrote a review Oct 2020
Dallas, Texas24 contributions21 helpful votes
We are a family of 4 (kids are 1 and 12) passing through on our way to NOLA which is just a little over 4 hours from here. We arrived very late at night after calling ahead to let them know how late we would be. The good: the front door is locked at night and you have to use your room key or ring the bell. The front desk ladies both at night and in the morning are wonderful! We felt very welcome. We were not interrupted by any renovations and I’m sure once all the rooms are updated it will be much better. During a pandemic, breakfast was the best you could ask for and was appreciated. The lady at the front desk had all the food back there and I just kind of pointed to an assortment of things. She asked how many/how old were the kids I was feeding and just set me up with some goodie bags of muffins, bananas, oatmeal, cereal, milk, and juice. I took it back to my room and was able to have my coffee from the provided keurig while the kids ate. Quick check out too! Oh and the room felt very clean which is important right now. The area did not feel unsafe but that’s subjective. The Meh: We booked a king suite with a sofa bed as shown in their profile photo listing here on Expedia. We were first given a king suite with a jacuzzi tub in the corner of the bedroom. We headed back down and she gave us the correct room which was right next door (215). The room wasn’t anything to call home about. Carpet was ancient and I didn’t really want to be barefoot on it and didn’t want to put the baby down. We had to go back down to the front for bedding for the sofa bed. Bath tub was very old also, so we just gave the baby a quick rinse because it was stained and had rust colored spots on it. Overall, I think the good wins because they are clearly updating the place so any complaints I could possibly have won’t be valid when all that’s done. The sleep was pretty comfortable. The staff we encountered was great.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
DrGreen2009 wrote a review Jul 2020
Knoxville, Tennessee399 contributions279 helpful votes
My wife and I were visiting Shreveport for business. I’m a native of Shreveport. Sadly, Covid-19 shut down most of the area. Therefore, it will be difficult to access the quality of the hotel. We opted to stay at the Holiday Inn Express close to the airport. Check-in was smooth. My wife and I stayed in a nice studio with two double queen beds and one bathroom. The hotel was clean. Our room was clean. That’s critical during the pandemic. The hotel amenities included complimentary Wi-Fi access. Parking was free. There was complimentary breakfast. However, Covid-19 has reduced this amenity to ‘grab n go.’ Overall, the hotel is a good choice for travelers who are new to the area. The hotel is a safe bet.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Nunatsuak27 wrote a review Mar 2020
Happy Valley-Goose Bay, Canada249 contributions115 helpful votes
We went to check in and had to wait while the person on the front desk checked someone else in, then had to take a call before seeing to us. It was obvious that the clerk was the only person on even though it was a fairly busy check in time. I don't blame the front desk clerk for this I blame management for not having enough people on. The room was clean but we where facing the highway so it wasn't a quiet room. Cece, breakfast worker was awesome and very helpful she's the best things the hotel got going for it, give her a raise.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
The Hotel Critic wrote a review Feb 2020
4 contributions
My husband and I checked in around 4pm and we walked into the room with two beds but one was un made with just one pillow. We called and asked to be moved to a room that was complete but was told they didn’t have anything but they could bring up the linens for us to make the bed. I then walked into the bathroom where there was a large stain in the tube and the lotion on the sink was half used. We called down they apologize and said they would bring the lotion with the linens. We waited about 1.5 hours before the linens came (wasn’t a big deal because we weren’t going to sleep yet). The following day we called down for a noon check out vs 11am. They said no. By this time I’m pissed because of all of this AND my husband is a platinum member of IHG, AND I’m the Front Office Supervisor of a 4 diamond hotel. No I didn’t say anything of this to the front desk because I shouldn’t have to. This is poor guest service regardless of who we are. My husband got on the phone with IHG corporate and they at least got us the noon check out.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Brian G wrote a review Oct 2019
5 contributions
+1
This hotel was very dirty, had exposed wiring and the management staff was rude and condescending. By far the worst experience at any Holiday Inn hotel we have visited. There were outlets with exposed wiring next to a broken and leaky bath tub faucet (pics included). Also, there is only one washer/dryer for the whole hotel and it was broken. It would take your money but wouldn't turn on. When this was brought to the managers attention they said they would fix the issue and refund the money at the time of checkout. It was only two dollars so no big deal but when we brought it up during checkout, the manager on duty was extremely rude, and we were told that they NEVER refund money. They stopped just short of calling us liars. Do yourself a favor and pass on this hotel. It just isn't clean, safe or worth it. Also, when I tried to post this review on the hotels site it rejected the review "For legal reasons".
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Shreveport - West, an IHG Hotel
Responded 25 Oct 2019
Hello Brian G, Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. I am sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your time in our hotel due to the condition of the property and the level of service you received. We take comments such as these seriously and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon. Best Regards, John O Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
K G wrote a review Sep 2019
Santa Monica15 contributions3 helpful votes
Wife and I traveling with 2 dogs stayed for one night. Checkin easy and fast. The young last who checked us in SUPER friendly, smiling, professional - top notch, impressed. The room was nice size but Holiday Inn should do a makeover. The rug had large dirt spots, the furniture antiquated with large chips, scratches, missing or loose knobs. The bed was very comfortable as were the sheets. Bathroom very clean and shower strong. Area looks sketchy but it’s safe and fine (although I wouldn’t leave the hotel area) - kind of in middle of grassy empty lots. That being said, did not feel unsafe. Very inexpensive and five for one night.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$136 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express hotel and suites shreveport west, holiday inn shreveport, shreveport holiday inn
LOCATION
United StatesLouisianaShreveport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
85
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Shreveport - West, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Shreveport - West, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Louisiana State Exhibit Museum (4.9 km), Libbey Glass Outlet (3.2 km), and Gardens of the American Rose Center (4.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Shreveport - West, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Shreveport - West, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Shreveport - West, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Shreveport - West, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Shreveport - West, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Athena Greek & Lebanese Grill, Crawdaddy's Kitchen, and Herby-K's Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Shreveport - West, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Shreveport - West, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Shreveport - West, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn Express & Suites Shreveport - West, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Shreveport - West, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Caddo Parish Confederate Monument (9.6 km), Historic Haunts of Shreveport (9.6 km), and Historic 1926 Caddo Parish Courthouse (9.6 km).