We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Richmond Suites Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Richmond Suites Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for The Richmond Suites Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 134: English reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2015

I have stay a few times at this hotel during quick trips into Lake Charles. When I stay, I usually get a large one bedroom suite with a full kitchen. Although I do not use the oven, I love a full sized refrigerator to put all my leftover food in without a problem. The staff is awesome, housekeeping always very...

Thank Cannonballrunfromsf
Lake C, Front Office Manager at The Richmond Suites Hotel, responded to this review

We are so glad that you had a great experience staying with us here at the Richmond Suites. We always like to hear positive and constructive feedback. It is always great for our employees, from front desk to housekeeping to maintenance, to know they are doing a good job. We hope you'll keep us in mind the next time you...

Reviewed 28 September 2015 via mobile

If you're local u can't stay here first of all. Secondly the rooms are extremely outdated and nothing in there works. The staff is rude. And the rooms are not clean what soever. I stayed recently in a "two room" suite. The TV didn't work the remote didn't have a back on it or batteries in it. The air didn't...

1Thank Cornbread T
Doniphan, Missouri
Reviewed 1 September 2015

We traveled from New Orleans to Lake Charles, planning our stay at the Richmond because we had coupons ($50 per room) AND they offered a swimming pool. We called ahead to let them know we would be arriving shortly and would need two rooms, AND to verify they had a swimming pool & what the pool hours were. When we...

Thank Kerri P
Lake C, Front Office Manager at The Richmond Suites Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us here at the Richmond Suites Hotel. We're very sorry to hear that you were unsatisfied with the pool closure and the proximity of your rooms. When we get group reservations we always try to accommodate guests by placing the rooms close to one another. Unfortunately, not all of our room types are clustered in...

Reviewed 24 June 2015

I can't even give a rating for this place, can't even say it's a hotel either. This was the WORST place we have ever stayed in: 1). No elevators 2). When we walked in the room in building A the smell could've knocked you out, my husband and I had to go to Walmart to buy sheets and frebreeze to...

5Thank Sharon E
Reviewed 14 June 2015 via mobile

The place is outdated and horrible. The rooms are very over sized which is good but half of the amenities don't work. I was there early May. I was told the pool wouldn't be open until august...I went to the room, the light didn't work, the air didn't work, the remote had no batteries, the tub stopper didn't work I...

3Thank Cornbread T
Reviewed 17 May 2015 via mobile

Check in guy was very nice, on the other hand the black lady was very rude!!! Smelt horrible in the room, a/c didnt work the whole time (felt like a sona room). The pool was horrible green so no swimming. Housekeeping was even worse, didon't clean or fix beds only change the trash. Then breakfast, the front black lady complained...

Thank fallon c
Reviewed 28 April 2015 via mobile

Just called this place at random in a pinch. I have been around the world and this is the worst I've experienced before. Got there around 10:30 pm and had to be buzzed into the lobby (uh oh). While trying to talk to the clerk, the lobby door started rattling. The clerk went and opened it. In walks some seemingly...

1Thank Steebo2013
Plainfield, Indiana
Reviewed 22 April 2015

Nothing but lies from the management. Nothing worked in the room and we had a suite, renting weekly at $450 a pop. No hot water unless you took a shower or bath after midnight. Had 2 phones in room that never worked. Maintenance man took phones to another room to see if they work. They did, in other rooms, but...

Thank angeleanne1961
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Reviewed 1 April 2015

The continental breakfast is ample. Don't expect hot food other than waffles. I had a microfridge in my room. Don't expect a hot tub as this is an old property. Treat the staff with respect and they will go beyond to help. Older plumbing. 5 buildings and no elevators. If disabled and unable to climb ask for ground level. Although...

2Thank Geauxangel
Lake C, Front Office Manager at The Richmond Suites Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing Richmond Suites Hotel and for the kind words! We always like to hear about where we did well, as well as where we need improvement. We hope you'll choose us again the next time you are in need of accommodations. -Richmond Suites Management Team

Sour Lake, Texas
Reviewed 30 March 2015

The outside looks like an apartment complex. Our room was pretty clean, but the outside of the place looks old and dirty. Our room was located under the stairs, so you couldn't clearly see our door. The shower head wouldn't move, and it was shooting 3 different strands of water. I had to move my head a lot just to...

Thank Haley M
Lake C, Front Office Manager at The Richmond Suites Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at Richmond Suites Hotel. We're sorry to hear about the issues you had with your shower and the wi-fi. We have made some management changes in all of our departments, and are doing our best to correct those issues, so thank you for bringing them to our attention. All of our GSAs have been...

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (61)
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Bathroom (11)
Room/Suite (12)
Dining (4)
View from Room (3)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (1)
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Charles hotels
2.7 km away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
#23 of 33 in Lake Charles
35 reviews
0.3 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#13 of 33 in Lake Charles
108 reviews
5.1 km away
Red Roof Inn Lake Charles
Red Roof Inn Lake Charles
#5 of 33 in Lake Charles
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Super 8 Lake Charles Northeast
Super 8 Lake Charles Northeast
#17 of 33 in Lake Charles
70 reviews
0.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn & Suites
#10 of 33 in Lake Charles
178 reviews
5.5 km away
Value Place Lake Charles
Value Place Lake Charles
#19 of 33 in Lake Charles
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Guests staying at this Lake Charles, Louisiana hotel will find convenient access to McNeese State University, the Lake Charles Beach and the Creole Nature Trail.Experience true Southern hospitality at an affordable rate while staying at the The Richmond Suites Hotel. Located near Interstate 10 in Lake Charles, Louisiana The Richmond Suites Hotel is minutes away from corporate locations , such as the Northrop Grumman Company and Petro Chemical Industries.The Richmond Suites Hotel offers 140 spacious, well-appointed guest rooms and suites each featuring cable satellite television with HBO® and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will wake each morning to a complimentary hot breakfast buffet before enjoying an array of hotel amenities including an outdoor swimming pool and spa, fitness center, playground for children, guest laundry and a courtesy airport shuttle to Chennault International Airport, only four miles away. Business travelers will appreciate the full business services and meeting facilities accommodating up to 150 people.This Louisiana hotel is just three miles from casino gaming at the La Barge Casino and the Isle of Capri Casino. Guests will find an array of local restaurants nearby serving authentic Cajun and Creole delicacies. Visitors will also enjoy local events such as sports tournaments, family and class reunions, Contraband Days, Mardi Gras Festivals and the Marshland Festival.The Richmond Suites Hotel is proud to offer superior customer service and a convenient location in Lake Charles. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Richmond Suites Hotel

Address: 2600 Moeling St, Highway 171 & I-10, Lake Charles, LA 70615-2055
Region: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Price Range: ₹ 4,427 - ₹ 6,266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Richmond Suites Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Richmond Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Richmond Hotel Lake Charles
Best Western Lake Charles
Lake Charles Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Richmond Suites Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Richmond Suites Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“avoid this place!!”
 of 5 bubbles 897katherinel, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Might want to select a room on the west side to be further from the highway noise.”
 of 5 bubbles robertsonpamela, 12 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Rooms away from the highway may be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles fayed875, 12 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles Jayaura, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Most of the rooms had good views. My room had a great view.”
 of 5 bubbles jcscott77, 24 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay