Holiday Inn Express & Suites Louisville Downtown, an IHG Hotel

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Louisville Downtown, an IHG Hotel

Traveller (152)
Near Horseshoe Southern Indiana Casino
Room & Suite (90)
You can't have breakfast without sausage and fresh cooked bacon!
Dining (19)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#10 of 122 hotels in Louisville
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
This state-of-the-art hotel features special in room amenities such as free high-speed Internet access, microwave and mini fridge, Keurig coffee maker, and 40" mounted flat panel LCD TV. Whether you are staying with us for business or leisure, take time to relax and enjoy our complimentary hot Continental breakfast, business center, and wireless internet access in all public areas and state of the art fitness center. Points of interests Companies: Humana, UPS, Ford Motor Co., LG&E Hospitals: U of L, Norton Healthcare, Norton Children's, Veteran's Administration Universities: University of Louisville (U of L), Sullivan University, Spalding University & Bellarmine University. Local Attractions: Louisville Slugger Museum and Factory, Louisville Slugger Field - Home of the Louisville Bats (Triple-A affiliate of the five-time World Series Champion Cincinnati Reds), YUM!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Board games / puzzles
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Paid private parking on-site
Car park
Public wifi
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards

Location

800 West Market Street, Louisville, KY 40202
324Reviews5Q+A52Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 207
  • 92
  • 15
  • 6
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Andrew B wrote a review Mar 2023
Somerville, Massachusetts1,286 contribution133 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The property is well maintained. The bed was very comfortable.. I was in a room by myself with two beds. If there had been another person with me we still would have had enough room to be comfortable. Yet if there were four people it may have felt a bit crowded. The staff were professional, friendly and helpful. The breakfast was basic yet was a good way to get one’s day started on the right foot. The hotel is in terrific location for doing touristy stuff. The parking garage is conveniently located next door.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MAbelini wrote a review Mar 2020
Boston, Massachusetts1,059 contribution211 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My 20s son and I stayed one Thursday night in February at this hotel. We used my AAA discount to book a two bed room at a reasonable rate of $101 per night. There is a parking garage that costs $20 to self park and $24 to valet park. Both options allow in and out privileges.

This hotel met all our expectations for a Holiday Inn. The rooms were comfortable, and included a coffee pot, fridge, soft topper beds, free wifi, and complimentary breakfast. The breakfast room was large with seating space for many. We had to rush out in the morning so didn't have time for a big meal, but we both were satisfied with the choices.

One of the best aspects of this hotel was its location. We walked to most of the tourist sites we wanted to visit: Slugger Factory, Evan Williams Distillery, Welcome Center, Mohammed Ali Center, and restaurants. We did move our car to go to the Mega Cavern and to historic Louisville for a walking tour.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The Valet Stand and front door was directly below Room 205. We could hear conversations...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HIEDowtown, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Louisville Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Responded 6 Apr 2020
MAbelini, Thank you for the review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to have you come visit again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
New_friends_GR wrote a review Jan 2022
Grand Rapids, Michigan6,580 contributions184 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My spouse and I spent a few days visiting/exploring Louisville around the New Year's holiday for 2021-22 and had the opportunity to spend three nights at this Holiday Inn Express. We were using IHG Rewards points for our stay. Overall, we had an enjoyable stay.

We arrived at around 3:30 p.m. on a Thursday afternoon. Our check-in process went smoothly. Our room (#600) was clean, comfortable, and had an amazing view. It was a corner room which was awesome. I also very much appreciated the business center because I was able to use one of the computers to stay caught up on my social media. While we wished the hotel had a pool/hot tub, we knew in advance that it didn't... so not a huge deal.

Something we appreciated very much, and weren't expecting, was daily housekeeping service during our stay. A lot of hotels are not doing that, or only doing that upon request, so the fact that it was done for us without us asking was great!

One thing that was slightly disappointing (not the hotel's fault) was that a large group of young people were staying at this hotel and being very loud one of the nights (around 1 a.m. on New Year's morning after my spouse and I were trying to sleep). Fortunately, after I called the front desk to report the problem, someone came up and asked these folks to be quiet which was successful. We didn't hear a peep out of them after that.

The breakfast was probably the most disappointing aspect of our stay. On the first morning, the omelets were cold and I had to ask for a replacement. I appreciated that I promptly received two omelets that were nice and hot, but unfortunately they didn't taste very good so I just had oatmeal and yogurt and called it good. On the second morning of our stay, we opted not to eat breakfast at the hotel but went to a restaurant instead. On the third morning of our stay, we ate breakfast again at the hotel. While the omelets were nice and warm this time, again, they didn't taste very good so it wasn't appetizing. Also, they had run out of their signature cinnamon rolls, which was disappointing. After breakfast, one of the staff members kindly came up to me and asked how breakfast was, which I appreciated... but I was honest and told him it was only so-so. (I think he felt bad that he had to tell me that they had run out of cinnamon rolls.)

One last thing I'll mention about this hotel is that the business center in the lobby has a rather awkward setup. When a guest is using one of the computers there, the guest is facing the lobby and it sort of looks like the front desk. There were several times during our stay when other guests approached me while I was using a computer, thinking that the business center was the front desk, and I had to point to them where the real front desk is located. There should be a big sign at the bottom of the business center desk (facing the lobby) with an arrow point to the front desk.

All in all, we had a pleasant stay despite a few of these minor annoyances. The staff really do a nice job at trying to give their guests a good experience. While they did miss the mark on a few things, it is a very nice hotel and we were glad to stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Keith B wrote a review Jul 2021
Wayne, Michigan462 contributions115 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel is on the edge of downtown surrounded by one way streets. The small area to check in is actually just past the garage, so you have to go around a few blocks to the garage.

My room was not ready as I had arrived early, but they gave me a code which I could scan to park my car at the garage. It’s $19 a night to park in the public garage, the normal rate without a hotel stay is only a dollar more. It’s also not connected to the hotel, so you have to walk around.

Room was ready about an hour and a half later, and I was upgraded to a suite on the seventh floor. The room has a king bed, then a sitting area- most hotels with suites have the sitting area next to the door, essentially the reverse. There is a window in the sitting area with a view of a parking garage and a few buildings, and if you tilt your head, one of the bridges over the Ohio. Bed is fine, TVs seem to work, and shower has typical weak water pressure. No street noise.

I only used the sitting area the next morning, and found it was not cleaned as it should be. There was a fresh stain of tomato or pizza sauce, including an actual bit of diced tomato! There was also some other kind of food on the table and edge of couch. That knocks a point off.

Breakfast is back to normal, however there was only one kind of meat- sausage patties. Most HIEs have at least two, plus a vegetarian/vegan option. Bananas were too ripe, with many brown spots.

Check out was fine. Janet was at the desk both occasions, and she was very helpful with restaurant and bar locations around downtown.

With parking and taxes, it was around $150 for the night, which is typical for downtowns of medium and large cities.

There is a fitness center, but no pool.

I would likely return, hoping cleaning is better.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MelanieBham1230 wrote a review Jul 2021
Birmingham, Alabama70 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was a little difficult to get to from I65 but we followed Waze and it got us there without any problems. We parked in the parking deck, paying $19/night as opposed to $24/night for valet, the deck was well lit and we never felt unsafe. Pros: Blackout shades are FANTASTIC, Keurig maker, comfortable beds, large enough room. Cons: If I had to say anything, bathroom tile in our room looked a little worse for wear.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Scott D wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My in-laws stayed here for my daughter's H.S. graduation on Saturday. When they asked for dinner recommendations within walking distance, the front desk laughed and said everything is virtually shut down and referenced buildings being burned down due to the Brianna Taylor protests. They suggested to drive to St. Matthews/Bardstown Rd. area for dinner. None of that is true. I work downtown, and most restaurants are open, and there have not been troublesome protests for several months. Not a great way to promote downtown Louisville and make your guests feel safe and secure. Very disappointing and unprofessional to hear hotel bad mouth Louisville with false information.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Louisville Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Responded 21 Jun 2021
Hi scottdI345MJ, I am glad you left feedback. Thanks for choosing to stay at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites Louisville Downtown! Our goal is to make every guest feel special, valued, and respected. I'm sorry we were not able to make your stay a positively memorable experience due to the lapses of our staff. I have shared your comments with hotel management, who responded with genuine concern for the impact this had on your stay. I know they appreciate you sharing your experience and am confident they will take steps so this doesn’t happen again. We look forward to hosting you again for a chance to provide you with a much better experience. Cheers, June A. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JF C wrote a review Sept 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
They cost me $205, and wouldn’t return my calls. I booked a romantic trip with my wife going from St. Louis to Louisville to see the Michael Buble concert. I made the hotel booking directly with IHG for the Holiday Inn Express & Suites on January 29th 2020, and when the concert got cancelled due to Covid I cancelled the room on March 11. That was 17 days before the reservation night so I gave them plenty of notice.

I called looking if they could refund me, got passed around, left messages, and they didn’t bother to contact me.

The concert is rescheduled for September 11, 2021, so I called again asking if they would offer me a discount to make up for the $205 they took from me last year. Again, I got the run around. I talked to the hotel booking people, who then passed me on to the manager, who of course was not available to take the call. I left a detailed message including reservation number, cancellation number and details. Surprise – they could not be bothered calling me back.

Kiss my $205 goodbye. Kiss this customer goodbye also! Avoid them.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amy N wrote a review Jul 2021
Greensburg, Kentucky21 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Located in downtown Louisville. We are not familiar with the area and we were concerned with safety, prior to booking. No problems or issues.

Parking lot right next door $18 for 24 hours unlimited in and out or across the street for $9 each exit.

Good complete breakfast.

Easy check in.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sara S wrote a review Jun 2021
Columbia, Missouri90 contributions119 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is in a great location, it's an easy walk to many of the attractions, restaurants and bars near the riverfront. The area seemed safe. Our room was clean and generally in good condition. The bed and pillows were comfortable. Housekeeping seems to come around 2:00-3:00 every afternoon which was when we wanted to catch a nap after early mornings/late nights but this isn't their fault. There were some stains on the carpet down our hallway (floor 5) but otherwise the hotel was well maintained. My biggest complaint was the breakfast offerings. All the Covid restrictions seem to be removed judging by the restaurants and attractions we visited but they continue to offer breakfast-to-go which was only 3 types of cereal, yogurt, a muffin or nutragrain bar and a fruit (apples or oranges). I think it's time to bring back the typical breakfast you would expect at a hotel of this price.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
gil123 wrote a review Oct 2023
Philadelphia328 contributions307 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Best thing about this place was the downtown location. HIX properties tend to be near highways or malls on the outskirts but this place was more or less central, though it seemed like the less desirable part of downtown. Parking at the lot next door was very convenient though pricey, around $21. The facility itself was typical HIX, nothing to get excited about but modern and decent enough. Normally I don't comment about or expect a high level of service at this type of hotel but I have to say the front desk agent who checked me in in the evening was not very friendly and had poor customer service skills. Also kept coughing into her shirt which was weird and gross. When I checked out the next morning the day agent was fine and friendly. Housekeeping was poor in the room and there were some cleanliness issues. Breakfast was the usual HIX carbfest of low end items; only thing I will say is they had potatoes which is nice for people like me who don't eat meat or eggs, and they had actual pancakes instead of a pancake machine. So one small step above the normal basic HIX fare. Overall it's not a bad place in terms of value for money and location but they definitely could improve housekeeping and the front desk.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Louisville area.
PRICE RANGE
₹10,109 - ₹14,871 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesKentuckyLouisvilleCentral Business District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
145
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS & SUITES LOUISVILLE DOWNTOWN, AN IHG HOTEL - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Louisville Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Louisville Downtown, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory (0.2 km), 21c Museum Hotel (0.2 km), and Muhammad Ali Center (0.4 km).
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Louisville Downtown, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mussel & Burger Bar Downtown, Proof on Main, and Vincenzo's Italian Restaurant.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Louisville Downtown, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Conrad-Caldwell House Museum (Conrad's Castle) (3.0 km), Churchill Downs (5.6 km), and Louisville Water Tower Park (Call for Appointment) (6.1 km).
All Louisville HotelsLouisville Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LouisvilleHotels near Holiday Inn Express & Suites Louisville Downtown, an IHG Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire