We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Capital Plaza Hotel

PricelineUS$ 103*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 112*
US$ 103*
Great Deal
US$ 112*
US$ 112*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Capital Plaza Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Capital Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 176: English reviews
Madison, Indiana
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Once again this summer we are bringing guests by jet boat from Madison Indiana for an overnight stay in Frankfort. We always stay at the Capital Plaza. After each trip we ask our guests for feedback and everyone has enjoyed the hotel. Every trip we notice new improvements being made. The music and food on the patio is awesome. Thank...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank havefun668
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. We love having the "Rockin Thunder" groups! We are making improvements and even more planned. Thanks for your business and we can't wait to see you again very soon.

Bowling Green, Kentucky
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We hoped to get a room in Lexington but everything was booked. Susan from the Super 8 asked whether we would be willing to drive 20 miles to Frankfort and called the Capital Plaza to make sure that they had a room with two beds. We were thrilled that we could stay at such a superior hotel for the same...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M E
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. I am so happy to hear that my staff made your stay enjoyable and I am sharing your comments with them. We are certainly glad that you are making us your hotel of choice when visiting the area. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!!

McLean, Virginia
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

Hubby and I stayed one night and readily found the property. It was once a fine hotel, upgraded fairly recently, and very clean. I'd give it a 3.5 rating if possible. The desk clerks who checked us in (yes, it took two) were essentially overwhelmed and somewhat inattentive, though very polite. Making customers wait while you have a personal convo...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicki A
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your stay. I do apologize for the less than professional way your check in was handled. This is not acceptable behavior and it will be addressed. I do appreciate your comments about your room and the amenities. We do hope to see you again very soon!

Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

You can tell this used to be a great place. Not so now. We reserve d a "river" view then was told as we checked in that we many not be able to see it. The bed should had been thrown out. We got a different room, still needing basic repairs- phone does not work, hair dryer does not work,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nelson W
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback on your recent stay. I am so sorry that you were not happy with your accommodations. We are constantly making improvements and I am so sorry you did not feel that during your stay. I will share your comments with the team and we will strive to do a better job. We do...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 20 July 2016

My family recently held our reunion there. I think we were all pleasantly surprised. Rooms were clean, pretty quiet, and beds were comfortable. The lobby area was very nice to gather and the conference room we had was good for us. There were several parties, weddings, and ball teams there, but with being on different floors we had plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank et7351
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the feedback on your recent stay. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed having your event here. Our staff tries very hard to make sure that all everyone has a pleasant stay. We hope you will consider our hotel your home away from home anytime you visit Kentucky.

Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

Hotel is dated but comfortable. Beds were OK. Staff is friendly and professional. I ordered the hot brown (Kentucky speciality) and was surprised at how good it was. Had to order and eat in the bar area but service was good. No meat on the breakfast bar is a bummer. We asked for the courtesy van and got a ride...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ole-wd
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the feedback on your recent stay. I am glad you enjoyed the Kentucky Hotbrown. It is truly one of the best meals you can have while visiting Kentucky. I'm sorry you were not happy with our free breakfast bar. We are experimenting with different breakfast formats, but we do want to keep the breakfast as...

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Nice hotel, clean, great staff. We stayed in a very large clean room, room 301. Not a brand new place, but perfectly fine for our needs. Comfortable beds. Underground parking, which some may not care for.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mpierson
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for feedback on your recent stay. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel. I can understand your concerns with parking, but with the kind of weather we have in Kentucky, the underground parking can be a very nice amenity. Cars stay cool in the summer and you do not have to worry about ice...

Paducah, Kentucky
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

The hotel is located downtown within walking distance of a few restaurants. The free breakfast buffet has no protein. It is strictly carbs. The carpet is stained and has wrinkles throughout the lobby that trips you. The decor is outdated. The beds are lumpy and low to the ground. There is excessive street noise and the air conditioning in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank natejewel
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. I am so sorry that you were unhappy with your stay. We strive hard to provide an excellent product to all of our guests and it is obvious we did not meet your expectations. While you did raise valid issues such as the lobby, I did want to correct a couple...

Erlanger, Kentucky
Reviewed 12 July 2016

The hotel itself was very nice. It was quiet. The rooms are clean. The hotel staff was friendly.The breakfast is free although no meat of any kind (bacon, sausage, ham) and the grave was very salty. I stayed there for business in the area. I arrived on a Sunday and the restaurant is not open on Sundays. That would have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Educ8kids
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry the lounge was not open for you on Sunday when you arrived. We are not open on Sunday's due to the light traffic and low demand. We should definitely do a better job of suggesting alternative dining options for our guests. I will also check on the breakfast...

Danville, Virginia
Reviewed 1 July 2016

We stayed on the 7th floor with a view of the river. Outstanding, clean, and well maintained for its age, Would recommend this property without hesitation. Though we ate breakfast only, I did see it was advantageous to dine off property.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oldnacl416
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback on your recent stay! We are conveniently located on the bourbon trail and there are many sites and historical places to see in downtown Frankfort. We are constantly making improvements to our facility and plan to be around for many years to come. We hope to see you again whenever your travels bring...

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankfort
4.5 km away
Hampton Inn Frankfort
Hampton Inn Frankfort
#1 of 10 in Frankfort
536 reviews
6.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Frankfort
4.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Frankfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Bluegrass Inn
Bluegrass Inn
#4 of 10 in Frankfort
75 reviews
20.1 km away
Best Western Lawrenceburg Inn
Best Western Lawrenceburg Inn
#1 of 1 in Lawrenceburg
244 reviews
29.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Capital Plaza Hotel

Address: 405 Wilkinson Blvd, Frankfort, KY 40601-1849 (Formerly Holiday Inn Frankfort - Capital Plaza)
Region: United States > Kentucky > Frankfort
Price Range: ₹ 7,044 - ₹ 8,660 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Capital Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Capital Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Frankfort
Frankfort Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Capital Plaza Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Shelbyville, Kentucky
over a year ago
Sedalia, Missouri
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Capital Plaza Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had end of the hall rooms for our youthful crowd. Photos are limited because of privacy concerns for young folks.”
CoppedgeFarms, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Don't bother paying extra for the refrigerator, it may not work and can't be fixed quickly.”
kathrync678, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“River view rooms are noisier. Your choice.”
CharlotteF341, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here.”
travelpr0123, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Easy to access directly from Hwy 127”
yvonne070216, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$ 103* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$ 112
TravelocityUS$ 112
Booking.comUS$ 112
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates