We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Horsted Place

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Horsted Place
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

196 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 196: English reviews
Southwick
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Attended a wedding here recently as a guest. After the ceremony at church we approached down the drive to the main house. Once inside we had an excellent meal with very good wine pairing and staff all very welcoming and also very smartly presented. They seemed reassuringly experienced in weddings. The house was beautifully decorated for Christmas - all very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a place which you want to tell everyone about - and equally would like to keep it to yourself because it's so special. A friend and I had afternoon tea here, to celebrate a 'significant' birthday. From the welcome on arrival, to the warm, peaceful and very beautiful surroundings of the drawing room in which we were seated,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KentishMaid52
Elizabeth B, Manager at Horsted Place, responded to this review

It was such a pleasure to read your very complimentary review this morning and thank you so much for taking the time to write it. We take great pride in our afternoon teas and it is so rewarding for everyone here to know how much you enjoyed the experience. We are delightted you chose Horsted Place to celebrate a special...

Crowborough
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have visited Horsted Place a number of times - both with friends and family and have recommended it. However, our recent visit for dinner was extremely disappointing. We had booked a table for four and the service pre-dinner was impeccable. However, the dinner was far from the normal excellent ! My starter of scallops wasn't great and the main...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EastSussex80
Elizabeth B, Manager at Horsted Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I was indeed very sorry to learn earlier this week that you had not enjoyed your recent dinner at Horsted Place and that you felt the portion of fillet of beef served with the winter truffle omelette and leaf spinach was too large. I do so wish that you had mentioned this to the waiter...

London
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 1 night on a Saturday and were very impressed with the hotel. It isn't a large hotel, perhaps less than 20 rooms, but the building was beautiful, the rooms gorgeous and the staff highly attentive. The bathroom in our room was done to a high quality and the little touches like turning down the room whilst...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank londonroamer
Elizabeth B, Manager at Horsted Place, responded to this review

What a lovely review, thank you very much. I am so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your recent weekend visit to Horsted Place; your kind comments about the food and rooms and also the service you received are very much appreciated by everyone here. It is very nice to know that you would love to come back and...

UK
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

nice stay in a Victorian mansion with traditional decor, good service, staff polite and attentive, lovely dinner and breakfast, complimentary use of health club at the nearby National Hotel negatives: no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, cannot get wi-fi access in room

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sho132
Elizabeth B, Manager at Horsted Place, responded to this review

Many thanks for your complimentary review following your recent stay at Horsted Place. I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit and do appreciate your taking the time to let us know. I am sorry to hear you could not get wi-fi access in your bedroom as this should have been possible so we will investigate. I do hope we...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016

we stayed here one night for a family birthday party and it was fantastic. The rooms, facilities and grounds are beautiful . We had a lovely dinner party in the garden room with excellent food and good service. Not cheap but very worth the price - highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank diner682
Elizabeth B, Manager at Horsted Place, responded to this review

It was so nice to read your enthusiastic review today. Thank you very much for taking the time to post it and for letting us know how much you enjoyed your recent stay and dinner at Horsted Place. Your warm endorsement of the hotel and the service you received is much appreciated by everyone here. Thank you for choosing Horsted...

Reviewed 27 October 2016

My wife booked our afternoon tea as a birthday treat on the recommendation of friends. We were greeted and showed to the drawing room where tea is served. Two very pleasant polite helpers took our order. During our afternoon we were asked if everything was OK and did we need anything further, more tea etc This was a very relaxed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
Elizabeth B, Manager at Horsted Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review following your recent afternoon tea at Horsted Place. We are delighted to hear that you came for a birthday treat on the recommendation of friends and that you had a relaxing and enjoyable visit. We do hope you will come again next time you have something special to celebrate.

South Coast of England
Reviewed 22 October 2016

My partner booked us in as surprise for my Birthday. Everything was great from start to finish! Excellent, friendly, professional reception staff. Ditto for the waiting staff. A Gold Star for the chef - probably the best steak meal I've had. All of our food was delicious. Our room was spotless, well done cleaning staff! Decor of the hotel was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zumo2110
Elizabeth B, Manager at Horsted Place, responded to this review

What a treat to read your enthusiastic review this morning. Do thank your partner for choosing Horsted Place for your birthday surprise and thank you too for your generous compliments which are much appreciated by everyone here. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit so much and do hope that you will come and see us again. May we...

Crowborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Took my daughter and niece for afternoon Tea to celebrate my daughters birthday . Really lovely setting especially as it was so sunny . Afternoon Tea perfect . Lovely scones . Service excellent and unobtrusive . We all walked around the garden afterwards which was a lovely way to end a perfect afternoon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann F
Elizabeth B, Manager at Horsted Place, responded to this review

How kind of you to take the time to place this very complimentary review following your recent afternoon tea at Horsted Place. We are delighted you enjoyed it so much and that you had such a lovely autumn day for your stroll in the gardens. I do hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Wife and I visited last sunday for our anniversary treat and enjoyed every moment . From the lovely staff to the relaxed country house ambiance we loved the sandwiches ,scones ,cakes and the wonderful elderflower jelly which was really unique. We sat in the window for 2 hours enjoying everything and were never rushed unlike a London hotel at well...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SarahChappers
Elizabeth B, Manager at Horsted Place, responded to this review

Thank you for this super review of your afternoon tea at Horsted Place. We are so pleased you enjoyed it and really like your charming description of your visit as a "tonic to ease away the stress of modern life". That's exactly what we hope to achieve for all our guests - a chance to escape, relax and recharge. We...

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Horsted
4.6 km away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,336 reviews
1.0 km away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,030 reviews
14.2 km away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 km away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 7 in Lewes
661 reviews
21.1 km away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
16.4 km away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Horsted Place is situated on the A26 just south of Uckfield and within 15 minutes drive of Glyndebourne. Originally a private family house, it is now a luxury country house hotel with AA red stars set in landscaped gardens with extensive views towards the South Downs. A grade II listed Victorian gothic mansion, it has original architectural features designed by Pugin and historical links to the British Royal Family. The fine dining, AA 2-rosetted restaurant offers modern English cuisine with freshly prepared seasonal local ingredients whenever possible. Afternoon teas (served on the Terrace in summer or in front of the Drawing Room fires in winter)are extremely popular. There is a croquet lawn and hard tennis court and guests also have use of the spa and leisure facilities at the East Sussex National, 2 minutes away by car. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Horsted Place

Address: Lewes Road | Little Horsted, Little Horsted, Uckfield TN22 5TS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Uckfield > Little Horsted
Price Range: ₹ 10,871 - ₹ 12,314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Horsted Place 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Horsted Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horsted Place Lewes
Horsted Place Hotel Lewes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Horsted Place staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Norwich, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Horsted Place staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Looking west across the side 'lawn', that probably has the best view.”
 of 5 bubbles PeterM123, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seemed excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles steven_wilkinson, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The Windsor Suite is the room used by the Queen when she used to stay at the house when it was in private ownership.”
 of 5 bubbles WNJ333, 28 May 2016 | Read review
“Try another hotel in Uckfield”
 of 5 bubbles CharlesL837, 23 May 2016 | Read review
“The Windsor suite is purportedly where the Queen used to stay when it was a private home.”
 of 5 bubbles DuncanP_12, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay